Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 January 2013
I love it, brings back so many memories. Brilliant sounds of brilliant films. I was shaken as well as stirred.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Excellent 5 Stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I really do like the idea of this CD. Not only does it have all but one of the films soudtracks,Skyfall is missing which is a real shame, but theres also a whole CD full of soundtracks from various dramatic moments and chase scenes from many memorable Bond moments. A real winner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
This magnificent CD brings together 37 years of the fantastic music that was brought to us by the James Bond series.

Beginning with the James Bond theme, first played on the first 007 flicks, Dr No (1962), and has graced as background music, in one form or another, most of the subsequent Bond films down the year.

Many of the hits featured on their respective Bond thrillers. This is music from the 1960's, 70's, 80's and 90's at it's very, very best.

My personal favorites include:

Shirley Bassey's luxurious and smooth Goldfinger (1964), with it's opening elephantine trumpets.

The rich and contemplative You Only Live Twice (1967) sung by Nancy Sinatra.

Soft Cell redid an interesting version in the early 1980's.

The closing piece from On Her Majesties Secret Service (1969), " We Have All The Time In The World" sung with great warmth and sincerity by Louis Armstrong.

Live And Let Die (1973), by Paul McCartney, an absolutely magical and enthusing piece in the very best style of that fantastic early 70's rock.

Carly Simon's melody Nobody Does It Better from The Spy Who Loved Me (1977). Marvin Hamlisch who wrote the song with Carole Bayer Sager explained: " It was time that Bond be pretentious enough and vain enough to have a song written about him."

The rich and haunting Moonraker (1979) by Shirley Bassey.

The sexy and enticing mood setter "For Your Eyes Only" (1981) by Sheena Easton, the only theme song where the singer of the theme song appears on stage. This is because Sheena Easton rivaled the Bond girls in her beauty.

The romantic "All Time High" from Octopussy (1983) by Rita Coolidge.

The energetic "The Living Daylights" (1987) by Ah Ha.

The R&B License To Kill (1989) by Gladys Knight.

And the moody Tomorrow Never Dies (1997) by Sheryl Crowe.

My one and only complaint is that the compilation did not include Three Blind Mice (Calypso), which started off Dr No.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
This is well worth £10. This is a very nice edition with every song you could ever possibly want in regards to James Bond. It has all the individual theme songs as well as a lot of backing music (that you might not realise you know). A very very good listen, but when you're driving to work with it blaring out you wish you might wish you had rockets, ejectable seats and an aston martin instead of a corsa...
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
This compilation has the version of the themes you expect in good quality and they are performed by the original artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
I like this album because it reminds me of childhood aswell as classic Bond moments. Having been brought up on a similar compilation (minus the Pierce Brosnan years), I wanted something more up to date. This has everything minus Skyfall.

I like most of the songs on the album, particularly "James Bond Theme (From Dr. No)", "Diamonds are Forever", "Live and Let Die", "The Man with the Golden Gun", "Nobody Does it Better", "License to Kill", "We Have All the Time in the World", "Goldeneye" and "You Know My Name". For me these are personal favourites and Bond theme classics.

I would recommend this to any Bond fan (that does't mind the absence of Skyfall), and also to fans top singers because these artists are the best. Shirley Bassey, Paul McCartney, Lulu, Carly Simon, Gladys Knight, Louis Armstrong, Tina Turner and Chris Cornell; making up a fab array of vocal genii!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Brilliant collection of the evocative themes to the James Bond films.
I have always thought DVD's should be produced with just the opening songs and footage, without the listings of actors, etc., I think they would sell as music videos in themselves, especially the early films, so brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I suppose the tunes are good enough, but I don't enjoy them as much as I did as a teenager going through The James Bond Collection, a wonderful double album that covered all the films from Dr No to Diamonds Are Forever. Mind you, in the late 1970s that was the closest you got to watching the movies, as video and DVDs were yet to be invented. Still, that LP did have lots of wonderful black and white photos from the films, there is nothing like that with this CD.

There is barely a second before we plunge from one song into another; no time to savour the aftertaste of a track. It's not really easy listening, more uneasy listening. After a while you put it on pause to gather your thoughts a bit. You'll know the songs, but there is a falling off around the late 1980s, starting with License to Kill they all become mock Bond tunes rather than the real deal, and you could say the same of the films themselves. I don't care for Skyfall (which isn't included here anyway) but Craig's tunes aren't too great to my ears generally.

Disc 2 sucks, why oh why start with Dr No's Fantasy, a sort of sub John Barry hipster tune by Monty Norman? I have seen the film countless times and cannot recall this rubbish jingle. Perhaps it comes from a deleted scene in which criminal mastermind No dreams about being in early 60s Soho London, mixing it with jazz boys, strippers and the foxy Christine Keeler, rather than being stuck out on Crab Key island where you can't even find a decent coffee bar. Still, perhaps invite that cool Londoner round for dinner, after all, what could go wrong?

There are plenty of better Bond soundtrack cues than the ones selected here, these fail to deliver any kind of narrative or atmosphere. Why pick Bill Conti's tacky track from FYEO when even his Runaway (from the ski chase) is better? Surely Bond 77 is a great disco song from TSWLM that should be featured? With two or three exceptions, these tracks are a hopeless compilation that put you off the whole thing, Even for a fiver, I feel a bit cheated!

Oh, and why have the track listings upside down so you have to flip the CD over - just another annoyance!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
This is the only Bond music compilation you will ever need, and the main reason is simply because it collates all of the NON-commercial tracks alongside the popular Bond movie themes, which everyone knows and already loves. Essentially, the genius of John Barry and his Orchestra is given full exposure here and this is what makes this compilation far better than any other equivalent.

Despite what some reviewers are saying due to it's release date (2012), this collection is NOT worse off for missing recent movie themes such as Adele's "Skyfall". The reason is because many of these recent themes have lost their way anyway. Anything from Tina Turner's "GoldenEye" onwards are tacky, cliché and play to a predictable commercial formula, with perhaps Madonna's Die "Another Day" at the bottom of that pile. The only exception is Chris Cornell's "You Know My Name", which at least incorporates some Bond melodies but with a heavier and original edge.

Go, instead, back in time to the original Bond themes on disc 1 of this 2-part set (23 tracks on disc 1; 27 tracks on disc 2)and you will see exactly what I mean. "From Russia With Love", "You Only Live Twice", "Goldfinger" and "Thunderball" are all classics in their own musical right, all underpinned by John Barry's superb orchestration. Focusing on Barry and his single-handed creation of "spy genre music" for a moment, pick out "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" on disc 1, then on disc 2 "007", "Switching the Body" and "Capsule in Space". For those that remember Propellerheads and David Arnold's excellent rendition of the former and the latter themes, mixed together in the 90s, these are the origin points for these great ideas. (Arnold's "Vesper" and "Time to Get Out" from Casino Royale are both included here on disc 2, as is Moby's "James Bond Theme Re-Version"). All of the motifs we associate with Bond movies today come from these great musical interludes, and it is for that reason that the emphasis on John Barry on disc 2 makes this the better of the 2 discs in the set.

Topping the list of well-known themes on disc 1, however, must be "Licence to Kill" by the spectacular Gladys Knight, closely followed by Carly Simon's "Nobody Does it Better" and Lulu's "Man with the Golden Gun". One benefit to the listener of the 50-year popularity of Bond movies is that the accompanying music tracks popular trends over time. "Live and Let Die" by Wings and "The Man with the Golden Gun" show distinct 70s undercurrents, whilst you are slammed right into the 80s with Duran Duran's "View to a Kill" and A-Ha's "The Living Daylights".

I could continue heaping on further praise for this compilation, but for approximately £5 plus postage from your pocket money, you can find this all out for yourselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)