Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Kite
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 November 2012
Twenty years or so ago I had a copy of this on cassette and it lived in my car. It was the one album I would never tire of listening to. Her voice, the lyrics, the tunes; everything was perfect. Always fitting my mood, whatever it might be, regardless of the time of day. Kirsty made many more fine albums, but this is my favourite, closely followed by Electric Landlady and Titanic Days. She was the perfect interpreter of other artists' music, and in most cases her version would become the definitive version, most notably here with an amazing version of the Kinks' "Days".

The expanded material is mostly fine stuff, but to some extent, for me, it almosts detracts from the perfect pop album. But that seems churlish when we are able to enjoy more of a fantastic artist who is still sadly missed. If you're at all new to Kirsty MacColl, please start here. You won't be disappointed. Kite is one of those records that everyone should own.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
I have always been a fan of Kirsty's later songs but here you get to see how that talent was starting to develop and grow. Not every song works but then that is the point of experimentation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Yes, Kirsty at her very very best. A near perfect album. Great songs, great production, great voise. And ignore the one-star review of this album - the idiot is just refering to the mexican legal systema nd not to Kirsty's album!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I think that 'Kite' is perhaps my favourite Kirsty Maccoll album. It bounces across genres and includes the moving and stunning tracks 'Dancing in Limbo' and 'You and me Baby'. This album would be great as the backdrop to a fashion show as each song inspires ideas for dress and movement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
THE classic Kirsty album and sounding even better (if that's possible) with this remaster. An absolute must!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Another great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
perfect thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
works well, good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
One of the nicest records by a complete innocent in the music industry; Kirsty MacColl was one of the best singers of the eighties.

She was killed by Guillermo González Nova, in his speedboat Percalito, when he worked for Comercial Mexicana.

At the time of the collision, González, his two sons, his daughter-in-law and his baby grand-daughter were all on board. Also on board was a boathand, José Cen Yam, who was scapegoated for the crime.

Certainly someone was driving the boat which killed Kirsty MacColl - and if anyone thinks a servant would be allowed to drive the boat then please get in touch.
88 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)