Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Absolutely Essential 3CD Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 May 2014
I bought this for my daughter because she's always singing or listening to those awful renditions of soul classics that are put out by the many Britain's-got-stars-up-their-X-factor hopefulls. I wanted her to hear what they SHOULD sound like and Sam Cooke is one of my all-time favourites.
These are original tracks remastered to remove any hisses or clicks and to convert to stereo. As a fan naturally I loved listening both to his classic songs and also to some of his very early stuff, as contained on these disks. Unfortunately, my daughter wasn't too taken with them; though, she's only hopped and skipped through the CDs to try to find something that sounds like X-factor that she could then blast out into her ears. I should have realised, my music is about beautiful voices singing beautiful songs, whereas today it has to have a 'wicked' beat and lots of pseudo-soul-like warbling around the words.
If you are of the same X-factor generation you may not be taken by these recordings but if you love good music, especially early and classic gospel/soul then you will love this compilation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2017
Very good value, great singer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2017
Great Value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
We love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 January 2013
Sam Cooke fans will be mighty pleased with this 2012 release from the Big 3 label as it includes 60 well known songs from the legendary singer for a very low outlay. All the packaging follows a set design and so on display you can recognise the sets as from Big 3. the songs are all public domain and hence the low cost. The sound quality is very good across the 3 CDs. I think the trick with these releases is staying main stream and as a result this will probably attract those who don't have the recordings already or those that now want to put away their old albums and have a handy CD set to play. Listen out for Wonderful World; You Send Me & Summertime as these are classics from Sam Cooke.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Bought for my wife one of her favourite singer it was a great christmas present. she was well happy with it,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Sam the man was a great singer, I could sit down and listen to his music all day, this will go with the rest of his music that I have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Sam Cooke Legend
If you love old soul you will love this album ideal valentine present for her with such songs like chain gang, you send me a beautiful collection of his hits, great value three discs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here