Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 January 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
PC spec used: Win 7, i5 650 3.20GHZ processor, 6GB RAM
Video editing experience: keen amateur editing videos almost daily and familiar with most current home-user packages

As always with Magix products, I found Movie Edit Pro MX to be very stable with no crashes. It is one of the more powerful packages offering high-end features, a broad range of transitions and effects capable of producing sophisticated videos.

The effects (especially the new for 2013 'digeffects' particles - rain, fog), transitions and chroma key are excellent, reliable and usable. Magix, with its established leading position in audio editing and music production via its 'Music Maker' software, unsurprisingly offers first-rate audio editing offering a greater sophistication than other video-editing software and this is another of Move Edit Pro's greatest strengths along with the new movie trailer templates, intros and outros which add an impressive and professional touch to any home-video with a definite wow-factor.

Another very useful feature is the multi-camera editing whereby footage from two or more cameras can be synchronised to produce quick and easy cuts between the two to give different angles of the same scene. I use this a lot following filming concerts to make saleable DVDs. With other packages, the original tracks have to be manually synchronised then cut with one then deactivated. Magix makes this so much easier by showing the output from multiple cameras together and then the user simply switches to the camera track you wish to use and and a preview of the movie is shown in another screen. It's so easy and if this is a feature you require often, as I do, then it's worth buying Movie Edit Pro for this feature alone.

Movie Edit Pro 2013 Premium is undoubtedly a powerful package and the bonus 'premium extras' are excellent and, in my view, essential to get the best from the software. But, after using so many other current video editing packages such as Cyberlink PowerDirector 11 Ultra (PC),MoviePlus X6 (PC),Corel VideoStudio Pro X5 Ultimate (PC) I find the user interface hard to adjust to and many commonly used and otherwise quick-to-use commands are tucked away within menus. This won't be an issue for a first time video editing user but for someone who's used to other packages, it can make adapting to a new approach a little frustrating and takes some of the fun out of editing and movie production.

I also find Magix software involves a learning curve and, because it's far less intuitive than other packages such as Cyberlink Power Director reference needs to be made to the online user manual. Disappointingly, unlike Cyberlink, Magix have chosen not to include a printed manual with Movie Edit Pro 2013. I think this is a mistake because first-time users will almost certainly require some help in getting to grips with the software and experienced users of other editing software will be wondering where functions are hidden.

That said, once time has been invested in reading the manual, the learning curve mastered then this is probably a more sophisticated and powerful package than Cyberlink's Power Director. But if you're looking for easy to use software to use straight out of the box without consulting any manual then my personal preference is for Cyberlink because it's so much more intuitive.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This software is great for an amateur like myself. It looks quite daunting when you first see how much it can do but there is plenty of help to be found to get you started. Youtube was very helpful. I have only scratched the surface so far but it has done more than I could have hoped for. Only annoying things is having to activate the MP4 facility online, and be sure to check if your computer is up to spec as this program is very resource hungry, other than that no complaints. My computer struggles but manages, however it does take quite a while to output the finished file. Perhaps a more up to date computer is on the cards in the future in my case.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2014
I do a lot of editing and have used a lot of different software. But the Magix movie edits are my preferred software's to use, although it used to be a little buggy on my older PC, after just buying a new computer I haven't had any trouble with the software since.
At the time of this review this is half the price of the 2014 version which doesn't have too many differences or improvements to this 2013 version which also includes extra software.
Happy with my purchase :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As with many Magix products I have reviewed in the past, this 2013 edition of Movie Edit Pro is good for doing basic editing chores if you are putting together holiday videos or whatnot, but for anyone looking to edit short movies I'd suggest investing in Cyberlink PowerDirector 11 Ultra (PC), which offers much better functionality in a similar price range. There is nothing available in this package that you won't get with generic freeware easily found on the internet. It's the usual collection of fades, dissolves, timeline functions, basic color edits, and very basic sound editing. As with all products, you get what you pay for and if you are serious about movie and sound editing you will have to look elsewhere. Movie Edit Pro is good for mucking around in and learning the basics, but that's it.

This 'Premium' version comes with extra downloadable effects and tools. It took a while to install and you'll have register online to get the extra stuff. They say the extras are worth £200 but they're not worth that if it's true.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 January 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Magix has been a good name in music editing and now they released several very good video editing packages. The amazing thing about this package is the ease of use and richness of features. This is a follow up edition with an improved timeline, support for many different video standards including AVCHD now. Progressive 50 and 60p formats. Lots of new templates including movie trailers and amazing chroma key engine.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
As a total novice, i thought i would give this a try for £30 well worth every penny, have had great fun editing old movies & a lot of extra for the Photos,
100% piece of kit for a bit of fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2015
Bought this as a previous user of Magix Movie Edit - thought the price was worthwhile for a 2 year old version which still made it 10 years newer that my previous version. Magix Movie Editor is a very capable product but has a horrendous user interface requiring a very steep learning curve.
There are many online reviews of this product over the years which all generally say the same - that it is a very powerful and capable product provided you can survive having learn where commands and actions are hidden in a completely unintuitive interface. I still think it is a great product to own if you like making your own videos and even at 2 years old it is a fraction (subject to Amazon changes) of the cost of the 2015 version. Once installed you will be asked to register with Magix to allow full access to the codecs required to unlock particular media formats. Be prepared to be bombarded thereafter with email promotions telling how you can't fail to appreciate upgrading your product for a (allegedly) bargain price.; Also be aware that the full installation takes a huge chunk of your hard drive. I still like it and I still think it does a good job once you manage to get to grips with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
My previous version of Movie Edit Pro wouldn't work on Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit). Smashing. So this was one of those begrudging purchases, really - another expense I could've done without after my ancient Vista laptop finally fried itself over proper and fell into The Big Bad Wasm. But then, I've used Movie Edit Pro for that many years now, and I really couldn't be bothered to be wasting precious time learning yet another provider's software, only to then have to redo all those valued projects and other stuff all in the new provider's format. If you're in the same Windows boat with the incompatible OS, and perhaps happen to be a bit of a digital narcotic abuser on the sly, then do your damnedest to bag the "Anniversary Offer" version to make this "forced upgrade" well worth every penny and more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Some of the reviews have said about limited functionality and that many of the functions are available in freeware and in shareware, This might be true but here they come in one place and within one system. I have spent much more on more complete solutions but in the end I have ended up not having either the time or the patience to use all of the functionality. If you want something that tidies up your videos and if you are not worried about professional levels of production then this does the job. If you are looking for something high specification then you know that this is not going to be a solution and you also know that you are not going to be doing it on your laptop at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 November 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have never used a product like this....I have only every replayed videos but have had great fun editing and my family have loved the results. So easy to install and use, highly recommended product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)