Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
Swing Patrol
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£11.49


on 3 November 2012
Tape Five do it again, blending new and old without sounding twee or contrived. Crisp production highlights the talent of brass and woodwind musicians and well matched vocals. The album flows well from start to finish with references to Glen Miller in Slow Serenade, Louis Prima in Bunga Book and hints of the Bond theme in the baseline of I Spy You. For me the vocals in Tintarella di Luna make this the standout track on an album that really is a worthy follow up to Tonight Josephine.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2013
After being hooked on "Tonight Josephine", I ordered this one with a mix of expectation and trepidation: I have to say that this album carries on with the great mix of quality and inventiveness. Fusing the best of modern technology and old-fashioned song/music craft, it is another delight. Really can't understand a previous reviewer's comment on "City Of Lights" - it is a completely different song to the Pink Martini one of the same name? Overall excellent and highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2013
if you like swinfg music you might love this. I've only played the whole thing once but already have a couple of favourites, but the whole cd bounces along at a good pace, however sometimes it all feels a little like the tracks are running into each other as the beat doesn't change much
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2018
Excellent album, speedy delivery, would recommend album and seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2013
Thanks to Amazon recommendations - I listened to samples and loved this music straight away. The quality of the arrangements and musicianship is terrific. Combines the best of swing and modern studio techniques in one album. Should appeal to fans of the Andrews Sisters / Glen Miller etc as well as more modern music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2013
If you like swing music and boogie you will probably like this. A fine collection of songs, nice music, good vocals. Great to have on in the car.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2017
Fab.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2013
Such a fresh new sound for nowadays. Instead of hearin the same old rubbish this comes along and makes me smile everytime. If you like something a little upbeat. 40's with a dash of tabasco go for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2012
Great in the car & also for dinner parties.
A must for Christmas.
My god-daughter is in a 40s band. I've sent her a copy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2013
Very enjoyable swing music. I had not heard of this band and came across it purely by chance. I am looking forward to checking out more of their CDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)