Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 December 2015
An excellent source of simple four-chord songs for the guitar. While each tune might only need three or four chords there are different chords used across the seventy-six songs in the book, so we can expand our experience of chord usage without any one song being too complex.

Each song is a well known classic, and while some might not be to all tastes there are bound to be many that will suit most people. One of the other reviewers has posted the full list, and he has had my thankful vote for being very helpful.

Small enough to go into a jacket pocket, it has a proper stitched binding in a soft-hardback with a good strong wipe-clean cover and is probably going to happily endure a lot of hard use. However the text is too small, even compared with the page size, and I would have preferred the whole book to be about 50% bigger (perhaps even A4 sized with same content per page) to aid readability, and willingly sacrificed portability.

The finger pattern diagrams and chord names at the top of each song entry are small but readable. It should have larger writing for the details such as the played chords and the general text such as the words to the songs, to make it more readable in less good light at a distance on a music stand. Also because the binding is good and strong it is stiff and the book does not lie flat and needs to be restrained to remain open at the page one has been studying; it tends to want to escape and jump off the music stand. I expect with regular use it will soften and relax, but that might take a while.

If you are just starting out with the guitar some of the more advanced chords used here could prove to be fiddly, if so then it might be better to first master these three much easier collections
Three Chord Tricks Black Book,
Three Chord Tricks Blue Book,
Three Chord Tricks Red Book.

If you find this book useful, then you might also consider a look at
The Little Black Book of Chords
The Little Black Book of Scales
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2016
I brought this along with the 3-Chord book. I really like this book but i really wish they had put the strumming pattern in for each song in its pages.
I has songs from the classics to some more modern songs, so it has quite a variety of songs and styles for you to choose from. So you are bound to find some of your favourites in this little book.
The book is really well made and the binding is sturdy and has taken quite a battering since i purchased it. The pages are also thick feeling, and printed on good quality paper. The chords and chord progressions within the songs are the simpler chords, like E major, A major, C, G, D etc.
Highly recommended book for a beginner guitarist, and well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2016
Lots of 4 chord songs to add to your repertoire.
As feedback to publisher, would suggest spiral binding to make book easier to use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2012
I had just bought this book from amazon and when I got it in my hands I was surprised at just how "little" this little black book of four chord songs was. It has a lot of great songs contained within it but it is nearly impossible to keep this book open. This is the problem. How can you play any songs from it on your guitar when the book will not stay open. As well as the size, the book has this kind of plastic sleeve that makes the book want to close. I think all music books should be ring binded. I was dissapointed with it and will be avoiding purchasing any of the other little black book series.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2011
Here's a list of songs I found for this book - and I agree, it's astonishing that the publisher can think people wil order this book with no indication of what they're getting. From what I've been able to ascertain, this book is different to other 4-chord books in that the songs all use only 4 chords, but those chords differ for each song rather than using the same four throughout the book. Hope this helps.

(You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party) [Beastie Boys]
A Girl Like You [Collins, Edwyn]
Angel Of Harlem [U2]
Apeman [Kinks, The]
Baba O'riley [Who, The]
Bankrobber [Clash, The]
Brimful Of Asha [Cornershop]
Brown Eyed Girl [Morrison, Van]
Calling Elvis [Dire Straits]
Common People [Pulp]
Crash [Primitives, The]
Cry! Cry! Cry! [Cash, Johnny]
Destiny Calling [James]
Early Morning Rain [Lightfoot, Gordon]
Every Morning [Sugar Ray]
Everywhere [Fleetwood Mac]
Fairytale Of New York [Pogues, The] [Maccoll, Kirsty]
Fisherman's Blues [Waterboys, The]
Foundations [Nash, Kate]
Get Up, Stand Up [Marley, Bob]
Girl From Mars [Ash]
Going Down [Stone Roses, The]
Hand In My Pocket [Morissette, Alanis]
Here Comes The Night [Them]
How Bizarre [Omc]
I Fought The Law [Clash, The]
I Shot The Sheriff [Marley, Bob]
I Wanna Be Adored [Stone Roses, The]
I'll Be Your Baby Tonight [Dylan, Bob]
In The Air Tonight [Collins, Phil]
In The City [Razorlight]
Jailhouse Rock [Presley, Elvis]
Jerk It Out [Caesers, The]
Johnny B. Goode [Berry, Chuck]
Jolene [Parton, Dolly]
Kinky Afro [Happy Mondays]
Knockin' On Heaven's Door [Dylan, Bob]
Laid [James]
Late In The Evening [Simon, Paul]
Love Me Do [Beatles, The]
Lullaby [Cure, The]
Magic Bus [Who, The]
Make It Wit Chu [Queens Of The Stone Age]
Massachusetts [Bee Gees, The]
More Life In A Tramp's Vest [Stereophonics]
Mr Tambourine Man [Dylan, Bob]
Mull Of Kintyre [Mccartney, Paul]
My Best Friend's Girl [Cars, The]
Not Fade Away [Rolling Stones, The]
One Love/People Get Ready [Marley, Bob]
Operator [Grateful Dead]
Paperback Writer [Beatles, The]
Praise You [Fatboy Slim]
Red, Red Wine [Ub40]
Rhiannon [Fleetwood Mac]
Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town [Rogers, Kenny]
Sit Down [James]
Somebody To Love [Jefferson Airplane]
Songbird [Oasis]
Stir It Up [Marley, Bob]
Stupid Girl [Garbage]
Suzanne [Cohen, Leonard]
Sweetest Thing [U2]
The First Cut Is The Deepest [Stevens, Cat]
The Joker [Miller, Steve]
The Kids Are Alright [Who, The]
The Tide Is High [Paragons, The]
Twist And Shout [Beatles, The]
Two Princes [Spin Doctors]
Up Around The Bend [Creedence Clearwater Revival]
Walk Of Life [Dire Straits]
Where Did You Sleep Last Night [Nirvana]
Whole Again [Atomic Kitten]
Wild Wood [Weller, Paul]
You're Still The One [Twain, Shania]
Zombie [Cranberries, The]
11 Comment| 142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2012
Excellent value and comprehensive, however the print size is quite small, that is the only negative comment. Great book to have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2013
book is very small as it's the print inside. I also seem to be missing pages 96 - 129. There is a good selection of songs but with the missing pages and small print I would not recommend
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2012
I had seen several of these books in my local music shop but found more selection on Amazon, (cheaper too), they are excellent for the guitar beginner, as the chords are easy and the songs are well known so you can get started quickly. all in all an excellent little book, I will keep a look out for more
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2013
Great value but you still need to hear or learn strumming pattern. Used with youtube is best to get feel of song.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2016
The book is disappointing in my opinion only 3 stars, at first glance the song selection seems good but in using book some of the so called easy chords are in fact lot harder and suitable for experienced guitarist, I teach the guitar and found this book difficult for my students to use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)