Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
128
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2017
Inbred

Directed by Alex Chandon

Year 2011

Country Germany UK

Four juvenile delinquents and two counselors drive out into the country to a town that doesn't appear on their GPS. One of the counselors, the socially awkward one one, offers the theory the GPS simply hasn't been updated yet. But it is on his old fashioned map. A small plot hole that's a foreshadowing of many plot holes to come both big and small.
When they arrive at the rundown cottage they get to work. When the kids get rewarded with a trip to the local pup the locals turn out to be very peculiar.

If your a fan of gore this movie won't leave you wanting. There's a mix of practical effects and CGI leaning just a little too much towards the CGI. But the kills are definitely well executed and entertaining except for maybe the main course. The gore is aimed to disgust but are infused with a good dose of humor too.

The delinquents and their counselors have some cliché characteristics but in general manage to endear themselves to the audience. The same can't be said for the villains who were able to get on my nerves rather quickly. The theatrics surrounding the murders take too long taking the sting out of some of the gore.

But it's with a hole riddled plot that the movie really starts to unravel. The blurbs on the cover compare the movie to Texas Chainsaw massacre but it's clear this is a British version of 2001 Maniacs. I guess that description would have been a bit too accurate. Unlike 2001 Maniacs which was basically a continuation of the civil war this movie doesn't have a clear plot to it. And whatever plot there is just doesn't make much sense if any.

Inbred is definitely worth a watch but just how much you'll like it will depend on whether or not you're able to appreciate the villains of the movie. If your requirement is that every movie should have an intriguing plot, Inbred is probably not for you.

--Steven--
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
happy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Far better than I envisaged. Cartoonist Gore, lots of shouty shouty acting and paddy from emmerdale. What's not to like?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
Very funny and gory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Inbred" is a black comedy indie film from the UK (hurray!). I thought it was good fun, with its tongue firmly in its cheek.
Two youth workers take four delinquent teens to stay in a farmhouse near the the village of Mortlake (actually filmed in and around Thirsk, North Yorkshire) to do community service.
After a mild altercation, the "colourful" locals take their revenge.....

This is a sort of "The League of Gentlemen", turned up to 11, with grotesques, lots of visceral gore and, while a comedy, played fairly straight.

It is fun. I enjoyed it for the unflinching gore and for sending up the usual "we don't like strangers" films.

4 indie stars out of 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Katie (Jo Hartley) and Jeff (James Doherty) are two social workers who take four troubled teens to a remote cottage in a remote village for...I am not sure what, but they are there. The townsfolk all seem to have the same bad teeth and large ears. After a run in, our heroes become the main attraction in a theater one might see in "Blood Sucking Freaks" complete with a bare bottomed organ player right out of Monty Python.

The theater aspect, which was by far the highlight of the film, needed a third act. There was significant internal conflict within the teen group which served more as a distraction. Instead they should have used this as an opportunity to develop dark humor. The film is also sold as a comedy, but the humor was more in their outfits. The production certainly has the potential to achieve cult status as it has all the qualifications, but for me it fell short. Personally I prefer "House of a 1,000 Corpses" or "10,000 Maniacs" or "Blood Sucking Freaks" for this type of cult genre.

Recommend as a strong cult rental.

Parental Guide: Frequent F-bombs, attempted rape, sex play, male rear nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
I just watched this film thinking from the start it was gonna be rubbish but it was quite surprisingly good. Done on a budget and British the acting is fairly decent. The props and make up aren't too bad. OK it's no blockbuster but it isn't rubbish and it's quite comical too.
All in all an entertaining film not to be taken seriously and if you don't like body parts being severed or if you're of a squeamish nature then you won't appreciate this slice of hokum...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
very , very gory but the comedy gets lost in a river of blood , which is a shame as this is well acted and well made.
the special effects [which are mostly digital] are outstanding , as good as the effects in Piranha [the remake] but it makes it hard to laugh when your trying to hold down your lunch. I was hoping after a saw cradle of fear that Alex Chandon would be the future for british horror , but if this is the future then I think I need more Jess Franco movies in my life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
I saw this at a private viewing a couple of weeks ago and it caught me immediately. First film in years I haven't dozed off in - quite the opposite, I wanted it to go on and on! I've pre-ordered it now and am recommending it to all my friends as it truly is a classic. Very tongue in cheek but extremely powerful cinematography - the locations are well-chosen, the filming superb and the storyline full of enough detail that you'll immediately want to watch it again to catch all the bits you laughed or hid through. Superbly entertaining. You'll be thankful you're local; that's all I'll say.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
This movie is brutal the way it chops its characters down, because I really liked some of them. Its a great movie with brilliant gore effects. Its also really tense and sadistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)