Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2013
Bought these two lights on the basis that if they malfunctioned it would only be £12 lost. So far they have been running in the garden for over 2 months and appear to be performing well without issues.

The casing appears built well enough to not be affected by moisture for some considerable amount of years which in Britain, can be tough on outdoor electricals. I would, however, suggest using some petroleum jelly (Vaseline) on the screws as they don't appear to be weather proofed and will, I suspect, rust within a year of being outside. This will ensure they have a longer life without letting the screw holes sheer from rust.

They come with halogens which was good, however, I have upgraded to 5w LED GU10s as they are far more energy efficient and last 10 times longer.

I would recommend this product to anyone looking for affordable garden spot lights.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Great outdoor lights, stronger than anythig I could see in any DIY stores. However they did need the maximum bulbs (50W) instead of 38W, and the tread was not good on one when screwing on the spike, but it was easily remedied by a longer screw.
Great lights, good value.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Well made and quick delivery "So why only three stars?"
All round these are a well constructed, and robust lights, but; don't you just hate it when there's a "but" after connecting these lights to my outside socket newly installed as well "Bang" the house RCD unit tripped.
What followed was 2 hours of checking everything; starting with the new socket then the plug, next the junction boxes, then finally the lights themselves. After disconnecting the second light the RCD stopped tripping out.
Which then left me with a dilemma, do I return the faulty light which would set the job back god knows how long, or strip the lamp to find the fault and risk invalidating any warranty.
It did not take long to find the fault; these lamps are metal cased, and therefore must be earthed, and because they are designed to work with halogen bulbs which get really hot the two wires leading away from the ceramic holder are heat resistant. Where these then connect to the external wire leading out of the back of the unit; the wires are joined by the wire casing being stripped back on both types of wire, and then twisted together over which a conical shaped holder is screwed onto, theoretically holding and isolating the wires, unfortunately on the live they had left a strand of wire protruding, and this was touching the outer case " Thank god for earth wires, and British standards" This was a potentially lethal fault.
Now I am willing to believe this is a rare incident but I would urge you to make sure that ALL earth wires are fitted before switching these units on!
Would I buy again? These are good units shame one was let down by such bad workmanship, I do need two more at the moment I am in two minds 50/50
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
these lights are very well made, and are very sturdy the electric cable could have been made a meter longer
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
very pleased with these out door lights. sturdy metal, not plastic lights , even came with bulbs. so far working well & great price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
Ordfered these after originally ordering 5 for the garden. No issues with the first lot almost 2 years on, and these are identical.
Ample cable to attach to your junction box/fitting, easy to fit LED GU10 bulbs into, and they emit a nice angle of light.
Highly Recommended, quick delivery too without paying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
I have purchased 8 of these lights know, and find them to be of great value. If you purchase 5 watt LED bulbs between £8 & £10 you will not have any problems with them, they will not overheat. I am working my way round the garden, and will purchase more when required
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Excellent solution to using 240V GU10 LED lamps in the garden. I have mounted two over my shed door and another shining across some steps. The long rubbery cables supplied can be safely connected to a lead using gel-boxes, available from CPC. Build quality is very good in all aluminium with silicone rubber seal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Excellent product does what I wanted. Up lighting a tree very good quality will purchase more in future to do another job
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Lights were received in very good time and are of good quality considering the cost. The problem is that the there
is a fault with the bulb holder as the lamp itself does not firmly click into place. After a lot of fiddling the bulb just about
stays put. In short it works ok but if knocked will loose from the holder.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)