Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 September 2012
For anyone that has seen the show this will be a fantastic reminder of what I'm sure was a great night out. The Irvin Berlin score is great with great performances by the leads - ok Tom Chambers hasn't got the best singing voice in the world but what he does have is charm and charisma. Scarlet Strallen sounds devine in my opinion.

My only disappointment is that the tapping in act 1 appears to be tapped by one person as opposed to the big ensemble routines that you have on stage. Not sure why the producers thought that this method would translate well on to the cd. Other big tap shows like the new broadway cast recording of 42nd street managed to get the mass tapping onto cd very well. That's the only trick they have missed with this otherwise superb recording.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2015
This CD Album is World Class Musical West End Show it is a wonderful Gift to give to your MUM or for your very Speical friend will love this and for your self to do not miss out on this and it is really worth buying My mum love's it and i got this Item safely though the post and i will use your serivce agian
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2013
Bought this after seeing the show in London. Both the show and CD are fantastic!! You can't help but sing along from start to finish and before you know it, your feet are attempting to tap dance under the table, even though they don't know how!!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2018
great cd of the hit show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2018
My daughter loved this present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2013
One of the best cast albums of 2012. The show is amazing and the cast is sensational. Just to have this production recorded is brilliant. Just to hear this music recorded in the quality that can be recorded today (as opposed to technology in 1935 when the movie was made). Wonderful orchestrations, that stay true and faithful to the flavour and sound of 1935. A wonderfully constructed musical and does take liberities to try and modernise it, but keeps it stylish.
The only downside is that due to rights issues, they could not include a wonderful ensemble number called "A Hotel In Belgravia" and some of the wonderful incidiental music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
This soundtrack to the new production of Top Hat sounds great. I brough the soundtrack as I was unable to go see the original cast down in the West End, and just by listerning to the soundtrack I feel like I've seen the show. The cast sound great and its wonderful to hear such classics as 'Top Hat, White Tie and Tails', 'Dancing Cheek to Cheek' and 'Puttin' on the Ritz' to name a few.

If you a musical fan, whether it from the Golden Age of Musicals or now, this is a great musical recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2015
One of the :London shows I wished I had seen but never go around to doing so. Based on this CD I wished I had. Excellent work which lightens the mood whenever I play it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2014
Irving Berlin's romantic music given a lush treatment by a great cast and orchestra,; a delightful CD to remember the show by if you saw it. If you didn't, a lovely CD of songs associated with Fred and Ginger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2013
I love music from the Great American Songbook, so this stage version of the mid-1930s film starring Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers with music by Irving Berlin was just up my street. My wife and I saw the show in London and the music, dancing, costumes and all were terrific. The CD is a first-class memento of a superb show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Thoroughly Modern Millie (Original Broadway Cast Recording)
£7.99
Anything Goes (2003 London Cast Recording)
£6.99
Chicago The Musical (New London Cast Recording (1997))
£7.99
Legally Blonde the Musical (Original London Cast Recording)
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)