Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
111
4.1 out of 5 stars
dead in the boot
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 July 2017
An interesting release from Elbow, as a collection B-sides, the songs do not quite stand out the way the A-side recordings do, however Elbow are not a band to record a poor record, the album is very listenable and interesting as a look at what else elbow are capable of.

The Vinyl pressing is great as always, i think every album since The Seldom Seen Kid  has been pressed on 45rpm double LPs spreading the tracks across the albums lets the sound play clearer and crisper, although it is fiddly to add in the extra record turns.
The Gate-fold sleeve is nicely designed, with photos & information.

Overall a good record to grab if you're an Elbow fan.
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
CLASS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
what's not to like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
Only liked a few tracks on this CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Dead in the Boot by Elbow is a stunning collection of beautiful, emotive tracks, good enough to have been included on any of their previous albums. This one is an essential buy to enrich your enjoyment of Elbow's outstanding song-writing skills and, if you don't already have them, buy their back catalogue. You won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Love this band, love this album of rarities
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
I never ever write reviews as I tend to keep my opinions to myself, however I could not believe that so called fans of such an amazing band could give this album a one star rating. If you have followed Elbow from their early days then you can't fail to see the similarity to songs from Asleep in the back and Cast of Thousands. This album is very much in the `early years' vein and no doubt helped lead the band along their path to the house hold name we know today.

If you only know Elbow as the band that did that catchy `One Day Like This' and wrote the Olympic anthem, then maybe you need to go back to the beginning and discover where it all began... and what a journey you will take. To sum it up Elbow are without doubt one of the best bands Britain has ever produced and this collection of songs adds to Elbow's already rich tapestry and should not be missed..... Plus the fact that an album of B-sides is far better than the majority of new music forced on our ears these days speaks volumes!

Keep building those rockets boys!!!!!
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
most B side's album offerings tend to be substandard versions of their LPs containing tracks that didn't make the cut and for good reason!! there are a few exceptions..listen to 'Pisces Iscariot" by the smashing pumpkins or 'lost sides' by doves' to name a couple of my favourites...elbows brilliantly named b-sides and rarities album 'Dead in the Boot" which must be a joke on there debut album 'Asleep in the back" is further evidence that this band don't take themselves too seriously that is until it comes to writing music..

The album has a very comforting feel to it and is more much more low -fi in its production compared to the bands other releases but this is no bad thing at all.. there are lazy groves throughout and beautiful moments of space and dynamics where the band seemed to be allowing the songs to move along at there own pace with occasional instrumental nudges and of course Guy Garveys voice glides beautifully in and around the music adding emotional depth and colour with his lyrics, this something he's become well know for and its great to see that same quality of song writing here.

For me this album is a bit of an insight into how the band create there sound and despite it being a collection of songs taken from releases over the ten years they've been releasing records it hangs together perfectly as an album in its own right and in my opinion can stand proudly stand side by side all of there other brilliant LPs..

so buy it, sit down late at night with a nice glass of wine and get lost in this beautiful music!!
33 Comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)