Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
78
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2015
fantastic in a sad way, the way these people were treated is way beyond my understanding man's cruel nature to their own people.
I have seen the film, but to read about the suffering is more upsetting than any fiction written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
It is difficult to realise that the horrors of the killing fields occurred in our lifetime. Haing Ngor's account of his survival is both clinical and deeply human. After reading this astounding book I understood what he meant when receiving his Oscar for playing the role of Dith Prahn in THE KILLING FIELDS: "My best performances were over before I left Cambodia." Haing Ngor had to act (lie) his way to survival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
incredible insight to the atrocities of the period, but told in such a way you feel like you know Haing Ngor afterwards. If you want to understand the history, live the nightmares and open your mind up to such a fascinating personal journey - this book is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
I expected this book to be the same as the film but it isnt! It is the story of the people ruled by Pol Pot and the Khmer Rouge, how Cambodia was destroyed and the fight for freedom, linking near the end with the film. Awesome and shocking, a book well worth reading and appreciating other cultures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Brilliant and moving book. I read this as I'm going to Cambodia and someone suggested I read it. Unbelievable, the things that happened. I cried many times while reading it. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
This was purchased as background reading for a trip to Cambodia and a visit to one of the Killing Fields. Another amazing record of modern history and inhumanities. I'd recommend this as good material for a trip or as an enlightening read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
If you have seen the film, you must read this book. Written by Dr.Ngor Haing (who played Dith Pran in the movie), his story is incredible and extremly moving. Get it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2017
Reading this book you will not learn much about the Khymer Rouge. It is an autobiography and reads like a love story in many parts, with the author coming across as a cross between Alf Garnett and Sid James in some of sexist and egotistical rubbish he espouses. It is not a believable account either. The author often seems to catch sight of his friend or family members when in the midst of a mass exodus of millions of people. It is readable and enjoyable, too. But not credibile, unless you believe in fairy tales.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Bought this as a present so i cannot really give you a decent review but the person was definitely engrossed in the book so i suppose it's a good read but for a better review there will be plenty on amazon for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Currently traveling in Cambodia and wanted to learn a little about what happened. This wonderfully well written books tells it all, warts and all. How anybody can go through what this man, his family and millions of other Cambodians did is astonishing. My experience of Cambodia and the people is very different, beautiful country with even more beautiful people which again is astonishing considering.....this book puts things into perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)