Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2012
I have bought this camera as soon as the new update for my TV 47LM860 had a Skype on it. I did not buy it from Amazon. Camera came in a nice box, similar design to the 3d glasses box. It is a very good quality item, matching the silver TV design. It has a magnetic holder (bottom bar) that you can stick to the back of the edge of the TV all around the perimeter and USB plug (over 1m long) in to the dedicated USB socket marked (Apps) on my TV. But the top edge is the dedicated place for you camera as you can not change orientation of the camera display in settings (yet??). camera lens is in the middle of the top bar and 2 microphones on both sides of the lens.
I am using Skype quite a lot. Quality of the picture is very good. Very wide angle, but has 4 zoom settings to magnify the picture. 2m away from the TV 3 people can comfortably fit in to the picture at widest setting.
The other side did not complain about bad sound quality nor picture quality.
When camera is transmitting the picture it ll have a red light on it.
you can only use Skype application when you have camera connected to your TV.
If you exit from the Skype by using the Home button it will not log you out from Skype and you will see people trying to call you any time when you are watching your TV. And you will not have to log in again in to the Skype.
I wish the cost of the camera was a bit less.
The camera is suitable to use on your PC (tested on windows 7) but with Skype i could not get the red light to work...
Recommended if you will use Skype on your TV. LG TV...
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Love this camera. It was so easy to set up straight out if the box and the picture is amazing and it has intelligent setting where it will adjust the picture based on different lighting (if you want it to). It also has zoom options so you can appear up to 4 times closer to the camera!! EXCELLENT AND WELL WORTH THE MONEY!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
Superb quality product - video & audio is excellent. I would have given 5*s IF the unit had a swivel facility) it can only move through up/down arc. It is relatively expensive and I did wonder if LG were 'milking' its specificity to the TV (I had assumed the TV would accept any webcam, similar to a pc/laptop etc) - but overall the quality does seem to justify the price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
great camera. does what it's supposed to do. very high quality picture and audio. recommended. nice design that blends in.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
The camera sits on the top of the tv and is secured by means of a velcro strip.
Very easy to set up and the picture quality is reasonable. Sound is reasonable too.

Skype on the LG 42LM760T. You can use the phone and the video features on Skype but not the text feature. Also, the layout of the Skype screen needs some developing as it is rather limiting and rather a fiddle to get from one area to the next.

I would like to see something like this integrated into the screen surround to save "tagging things onto the tv" with more leads coming out of the back of it.

The price is steep for what you are getting - considering other webcams of superior quality can be bought for below £20 - sadly, these cannot be used on these smart tv's.

Now that i have it I will make sure that I use it. In reality though, I'll probably use my netbook/pad/pc skype more frequently as it is easier to connect etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
If you are a skype user then this is a fantastic addition to your LG smart TV. Excellent quality images and microphone gives more opportunities for groups of family or friends to have conversations with loved ones far away. One thing to remember, you must get the camera model that matches your TV model!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I have bought this camera as soon as the new update for my TV 47LM860 had a Skype on it. I did not buy it from Amazon. Camera came in a nice box, similar design to the 3d glasses box. It is a very good quality item, matching the silver TV design. It has a magnetic holder (bottom bar) that you can stick to the back of the edge of the TV all around the perimeter and USB plug (over 1m long) in to the dedicated USB socket marked (Apps) on my TV. But the top edge is the dedicated place for you camera as you can not change orientation of the camera display in settings (yet??). camera lens is in the middle of the top bar and 2 microphones on both sides of the lens.
I am using Skype quite a lot. Quality of the picture is very good. Very wide angle, but has 4 zoom settings to magnify the picture. 2m away from the TV 3 people can comfortably fit in to the picture at widest setting.
The other side did not complain about bad sound quality nor picture quality.
When camera is transmitting the picture it ll have a red light on it.
you can only use Skype application when you have camera connected to your TV.
If you exit from the Skype by using the Home button it will not log you out from Skype and you will see people trying to call you any time when you are watching your TV. And you will not have to log in again in to the Skype.
I wish the cost of the camera was a bit less.
The camera is suitable to use on your PC (tested on windows 7) but with Skype i could not get the red light to work...
Recommended if you will use Skype on your TV. LG TV...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This product has proven to be exactly what it says on the box. Easy to set-up and operate with a quality of picture that is superb. Easy to mount and unobtrusive. Highly recommended if you want to use Skype through your Smart TV.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Amazon say this is out of stock ...... it is not !!! they are selling it under the following link

http://www.amazon.co.uk/LG-Video-Camera-Skype-Calls/dp/B007TIZ8B2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1400498719&sr=8-1&keywords=lg+vc400

But priced at £120 you can buy for half that price elsewhere, see review
--------

LG said I needed the VC400 camera, when buying Amazon advised that there was a newer model the VC500 ... Which I bought, and immediately returned, as it didn't work ....... Since advised by LG ....the VC500 is not a newer version of the VC400 ... Each camera is designed for a different range of models of TV which each run on different operating systems....... They are not inter-changeable, and each specific camera will only work on a specific range of tv's ( there is also a VC300 for even earlier ranges )

I returned the £70 VC500 camera to Amazon immediately .... But !!! ... did not order the replacement VC400 from them ..... Why ??? ........ Amazon wanted £120 for the VC400 ( £50 more than the VC500 ) Plus on various European Amazon sites the prices were £80 ...... I asked Amazon to explain why their UK price was 50% higher than their own prices in Germany, despite asking three times, they have yet to provide a reasonable explanation.

LG in the UK do not sell, however it is available on Lg.com - USA for $99 approx £60 so if you are going on holiday or have a contact in USA, or Canada you could save.... It's easy to order on LG USA and $99 worked out at £59.34 Likewise if you have Polish contacts - it is available there for £58

Whilst I would have paid the general price to amazon £70-80, their different UK price £120, left a very bad taste ....

Link to LG USA store
[...]
Link to Comparison Site for other Euro Options incl Poland
[...]

Update to my previous review.

Finally bought from Germany, total cost £92 incl fast courier ..... saving of 25% on UK Price £120 ....... Comparison site skinflint co uk / eu showed all euro options .....(make sure you add /eu or you will only get uk options) ...put in lg electronics an vc 400 and given several choices ......I bought from Amazon in Germany, via a marketplace seller, even logged in with my normal Amazon id, and one click purchasing identical, plus converted euro price to £ .... Cost me 99.90 and p&p 8.99 total 108.89 = £92.00 ..........Simple ......odd word not sure of, I used google uk homepage, app at top called translate and checked ..... virtually identical payment buttons to the uk site, very easy ....... Finally, sender brilliant, sent immediately 1st Class, received it in 2 days...... Re the camera : VC400 fantastic piece of kit ..... really, really good. Love the way you can keep it logged on in background whilst watching tv, and accept calls if they come in ..... Great for my hubby to use as he always has the tv on, whilst he may not switch on the laptop.

P.s. Amazon do sell the VC400 despite people thinking they do not ......but it is called LG Video Camera for Skype Calls and is £120 ... the VC400 bit is only mentioned in the description..... This is what I used for my price comparisons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Bit on the pricey side. it is a good camera and it works well. This camera will also work on your PC.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)