Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 20 September 2013
This should have been a fascinating book, however Reg McKay spends far too much of it extolling the virtues of Paul Ferris. Ferris is/was a dangerous criminal and drug dealer who blighted the lives of many innocent people, yet he is treated in this book as some sort of highly moral Robin Hood. The fact that the author has worked with Ferris on 2 books on his life is clear.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2014
I had read most of the books regarding Ferris, Thompson, McGraw and the young Thompson (Arty) and I felt that this was just a regurgitation of all the other books. I did however, enjoy the early chapters telling you about his earlier life. If someone has not read the books mentioned earlier I feel this would be a good read and I would have given it five stars because it is a good read in parts. However, I knew some parts off by heart because I read Reg McKay's earlier books on the Glasgow schemes. If I were to recommend this book, I would advise people to read this first, instead of the Ferris conspiracy and the book about Tam the 'licensee' McGraw.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2013
Where did these prats come from ? They very rarely used there own physical abilities always used dumb animals to do their work." human version" scared of their own shadow, and produced mental retards. What made this man think he was God ? A mentally deficient mind, sniffing the wrong glue or just insane ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2017
Same old, same old not telling anyone anything that someone else has not told them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2012
I found this book very interesting and detailed in its makeup as i have read other novels like Walter Norvel who was before Arthur Thompson some of the stories match up to their claims of criminal activity with inside police activity surrounding the Thompson family and their feuds in Glasgow in the 70,s and 80,s Reg Mckay is a very detailed and good writer i havent read a book in years but found it hard to put down well Done Reg i am now onto the Paul Ferris stories of which he himself was part of the Thompson crew overall 10 out of 10 Reg Mckay .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
what a great book,,,i love true crime and this one doesn't disappoint......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
first class reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2014
A well documented account of the life and times of Arthur Thompson, the last godfather who was based in Scotland. This book is actually based on fact and is a wealth of information on his life, criminal activities and much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2013
I don't know why they make these people out as heroes,
I bought this book because I am,from glasgow and was nosy.
The only reason they got away with so much was the power of money.
Probably cowards in real life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2013
A good read,about true life crime,unbelievable someone could stay at the top for so long,how he double crossed everyone is unreal,well researched by the author,enjoyed the book from start to finish,recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse