Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
Very interesting book. well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Excellent book follows brand new recruits through their training & introduction to the infantry. They are sent to Vietnam full of confidence at their superior firepower only to find the enemy is often wily enough to get too close for the heavy support weapons to be used. Real eye opener to what the troops on the ground went through. As good a read as CHICKENHAWK !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
terribly formatted to the point i found it unreadable utterly dissapointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
A great read.
Up there with "Dispatches" by Michael Herr & "Nam" by Mark Baker in my opinion.
You can't fail to be moved by the experiences of Charlie Company.
On occasions made me laugh, but mostly brought tears to my eyes.
In response to another review on here, I'd say this publication isn't about the wider issues of the conflict. It concerns C company's
experiences and is not intended to be an historical account of the Vietnam war.
Also, as to what the troops motivations were for being there etc, I believe it states that only one member of the company was a volunteer and the rest conscripts so it would seem to me that they had little choice in the matter i.e. they were drafted into the army then sent to Vietnam on the orders of the U.S. government.
In my opinion you don't need to be concerned with any of the above issues, just take this book for what it is and enjoy it.

Maximum respect to all the Charlie Company veterans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Most books on Vietnam are written from a single person perspective. This is unusual in that it follows a unit rather than an individual. Books on a single Company are are mostly due to the American policy of rotating individual men in and out of formations.
This is a great book to read particularly because it follows up the particpant's after the war.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
This book captured me straight away, it places you amongst the men of Charlie company, puts you in the rice paddies of the Mekong delta. highly recommended for anyone, a very emotive true story of the Bond between men in combat. Excellent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
book came up on my recommended,
usually i pay no interest but really glad i downloaded it!
what a great insight into day to day life of draftee's in what is an overly "hollywooded" genre....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
A very emotional story of conscripts dealing with the hardships of warfare. I shed a few tears reading this book and I am grateful to how the stories were written. Loyalty, compassion and a sense of comedy during training blended the men to a cohesive fighting unit. Great sadness at the losses make you think how futile war his especially to men so young and the family's at home.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
I read and have read very many books on warfare, mainly the two world wars and Vietnam both fiction and non fiction and found this book to be so rewarding as the reader gets to know about the individuals before during and after the conflict whereas many of the non fiction autobiographies are based only on the wartime experience. Very moving, I may be UK but the story of those in Charlie Company won't be forgotten in a long while.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
I enjoy military detail books, and this counts among them. It is a fast paced book, but with perhaps a little excess of biographical detail of the combatants, but that was probably the intention of the author. It takes Company C from the days before their draft papers into their war. I am still reading it, so cannot spoil the ending for you. I am reading the basic kindle edition on a basic kindle, and the pictures loose a lot, so may work better on an ipad or similar.
I note the book was published in 2012, as far as I can ascertain, and it seems that a lot of what is in the book is deja vu of the Vietnam section of the film Forest Gump. Some of the names are similar, and some of the phrases, but it may just be that this was the words and names of the time. I even thought at one moment before I checked the publication date that the film might have been based around this book.

One of the most distressing things is reading the accounts of the demise of some of the young men, and how pointless it all was. Many of them seemed to know that going into war was potentially lethal, and compared to readings about, say, the battle of Britain, none of the immortality of youth existed.

If you like military reads, then you will probably enjoy this. I found the book on a 99p day, and consider it was money well spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)