Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Banks
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
Banks
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 March 2015
This album really seemed to go under the radar. I had never heard anything from it on the alternative radio station here in Ireland. I think it's a good album with some great tracks. Definitely more Interpol-ish than Julian Plenti is...Skyscraper, but still something a bit different too. The Base is best song on the album, and then Summertime, I reckon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2017
Brilliant piece of work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
Very pleased,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2016
Great album with a great sound on vinyl,well pleased with this order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2014
I really enjoy this album, eventhough I bought it a little late, but it is ok, I like the songs and Banks could explore other ways with style as ever! Nice album!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2014
Paul Banks surpassed himself with this record. I am a big Interpol fan and this album sits highly along side their them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
Paul Banks shows his genius.

this album will just grow & grow on you. dont expect to listen to anthing interpol on this LP

Quirky, beautiful ,catchy, Stylish, and that makes for a very different cocktail indeed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2012
After Paul's alter-ego album, Julian Plenti Is...Skyscraper, we don't have a radical change of musical direction from Paul, which is a good thing. His style and voice are what makes him unique and a true creative individual. Comments by another reviewer suggesting Carlos D was the reluctant bassist, most talented member and implied musical genius behind Interpol are glib and totally unnecessary. Interpol didn't break when Dengler left.

We are here to review 'Banks'.

These ten tracks have surpassed my expectations and will fill the void very nicely while Interpol are on their hiatus. Paul seems to be in a good place at the moment and I'm sure these energetic and uplifting songs reflect that state of mind. 'The Base' is an excellent upbeat opener and paves the way for more superb tracks. Standouts are 'I'll Sue You', the spooky 'Paid For That', 'No Mistakes' and the closing 'Summertime Is Coming'. Every track on 'Banks' has something special to offer the listener (if you want it) and shows the scope of Paul's musical creativity and influences.

Well done Paul, you've made a brilliant album that I'm sure I'll still be listening to and enjoying for years to come.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2012
Pretty good and it does grow on you,but for me it is let down by the two instrumentals.
Two more quality tracks instead and I would have given it 5 stars.
Quite similar to Interpol although I cant help feeling that as with other artists solo efforts, it would have been better with the rest of the band on board sharing and suggesting ideas.That said, there is no doubt Paul Banks is a quality song writer.
The sound quality is not that bad, although as usual mastered way too loud, but some attempt at preserving dynamic range has been made which does reduce ear fatigue a bit...Some other recent and not so recent cd`s have far worse sound,like the Killers and Coldplay for example.
Banks will do for now until Interpol get back in the studio.(if they ever do of course!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2013
This is an absolutely great record. Paul is a gifted musician big time! There's also one more cd released by him under his moniker, kind of an alter ego, Julian Plenti and I consider that to be less dynamic, still worth listening, though. Whereas this one has its own special power, plenty of 'layers' etc. I am fully satisfied so far. Listen and you'll see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)