Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars

on 7 April 2014
Fantastic book describing in detail the lives of many famous pirates, giving contemporary accounts of crew members and famous capers. The language is somewhat archaic as you may expect of a book that was published in 1724, but I never found it to be more than a minor obstacle. A must have for any pirate lover.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
FANTASTIC
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
Very good and informative. Much I didn't know about Pirates, and some I already knew.
Seems as if the job wasn't pensionable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Very good book if a little like a school exercise book, how accurate, who knows but a good read all the same
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
The format alone is truly fascinating.
The archaic language is somewhat appropriate for a book thoroughly researched in early 18th century.

Daniel DeFoe which is known for Robinson Crusoe and Moll Flanders has had a great interest on piracy, which he goes to describe in a very clear language and enjoiable lifr of pirates; ships, crews, ports life, jargon, etc, but more so and more interesting the Cap'ns' life at sea and their traits and notably 2 women captains which, in the 17th and 18th century were very tough lives - and to a degree regardless of gender.

From the legendary Captain Teach aka Blackbeard to many more ruthless and fascinating characters and in great details too.

A little mention goes to the small price as it is below £5.00!

For me is a clear winner and 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
Was gratefully revived as present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
Brilliant book well worth a read, real slice of our dark history with first hand accounts of pirates last words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
YO HO HO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
Interesting book. I bought this to research a bit into the history underpinning the Black Sails series. It is fascinating for that alone, but gives an additional contemporary insight into the period and the pirate life. Embellished it may be, but that doesn't detract from the amazing tales it tells.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse