Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
364
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Angels' Share (Theatrical Version) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 July 2015
Words defy me! Paul Brannigan as Robbie acts out his very own gritty Glaswegian life story. Read about Paul for yourselves, he will amaze and inspire you. Funny, real, violent but social reality permeates the whole film. I was left humbled and angry that we as a nation have left so many Scottish teenagers feeling disenfranchised and socially excluded from hope, inspiration and self-worth. Please watch it you will be entertained but moved too, I hope !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
If you're not from Glasgow like me you might struggle with some of the dialogue used. However it's a great story of a group of young people who develop a scam to scam a high end whisky at an auction. I won't spoil it but if you don't know keep an eye out for the meaning of the Angels' Share.
If you're an ex-Scot or away from home - buy this and have a nostalgic return visit to your roots.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
One of our favourite films. This time bought as a gift for friends who were touring Scotland. A really good story - funny, interesting, tragic and heart warming all in one film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Funny, entertaining & with a certain real life feel. Some gratuitous violence, strong language; don't watch if easily offended. One of the funniest films I've watched! A simple plot, with good characters & a feel good ending. Could watch this movie over again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
love this film
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Hard edged at times but also quaintly Scottish - sort of Trainspotting meets Whisky Galore! As a whisky aficionado I was just waiting for the cliched errors but they had bothered to get their facts and technicalities right. Set against a grim backcloth this film manages to be a plausible fairy tale and both poignant and amusing. Paul Brannigan is superb. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Fortunately we didn't quite need subtitles for this movie, but we can understand that some viewers might! My wife and I enjoyed the story and were happily reminded of our many visits to Scottish distilleries over the years. An amusing dig at collectors (not only of whisky) with more money than sense.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
A last minute gift for my husband who is a great fan of Whiskey (Irish spelling) and he seemed to enjoy it, laughing out loud at moments and swearing at the tv at other bits.

Something different from car and hostage movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Such a refreshing change to watch a film about people in whom you can believe and which is free from all the Hollywood explosions and frenetic action or, at the other extreme, out to manipulate your feelings by being overly sentimentalised and melodramatic. Many of the actors in the film are not professionals and the star of the film (on his own admission in his interview in the DVD extras) has a very similar rough and criminal background to the character he plays in the film. The reason I give it 4 stars rather than 5 is because the second half of the film seemed to branch off at a tangent from the very moving and almost documentary style of the first half. Perhaps not the best film which Ken Loach has directed, but still very good indeed and well worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Like Trainspotting meets Ocean's 11, but so much more. This is a wonderful feel good film, with great characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)