Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2014
Reasonably well written but with some repetition in places and odd facts seemingly just put in at random. It does however, give a good background into why Beeching was necessary and how it was received by both public and the Government of the day. Worth a read.
However, there are spelling errors, typos, punctuation errors and layout errors which, presumably, can be attributed to whoever typed it out for Amazon, as it certainly isn't a photocopy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
A reasonably well review of the great railway upheavals that took place in the 1960's. With hindsight, change that occurred is seen to be a bad thing and one man, Richard Beeching, takes the rap. As the book explains, the changes would have happened anyway, and Beeching was simply doing his job. He was given a huge salary, probably to become the scapegoat, by those who were responsible, yet shied away from telling the real truth. That is senior politicians in both parties. A sobering and thoughtful reflection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Struggled a bit with this book. It is sometime since I started to read this book and I must admit I can't remember what I was expecting but whatever it was it stopped me finishing this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This book details the history of British Railways in the 1950 and 60s. How come the railways lost so much money? The book explains the situation at the time of Dr Beeching's appointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
I found the book easy to read and very informative from an era long since gone and helps to understand why so many railway routes were closed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Very good book giving the other side of the story. Was Beeching such a monster, or was he just doing an honest job. Judge yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Excellent book,it shows that the government of the day was to blame for the rail closures,Beeching only recommened the closure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Very well researched book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
A well researched book which benefits from the author`s being able to draw on railway history as well as his willingness to discuss consequences and possible consequences of decisions taken in relation to "Beeching" and those which were not. I should have liked to see maps of specific localities which the book discusses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)