Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
16
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Although this didn't contain the mix of Madame Butterfly that I thought I was going to listen to, I forgive it as it has some really interesting and well-chosen mixes of some terrific tracks: a hit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a partner to the Electrospective (black cover) album, this is a pretty impressive collection of classic electronica (as well as some fairly recent pop hits) and some tracks that tick both boxes; Depeche Mode's Personal Jesus and The Human League's Sound of the Crowd to name but two. The first album incorporated oddities such as the original Doctor Who TV theme music, but this follow-up treads more familiar territory, with only a handful of remixes that aren't of chart hits from the Eighties and Nineties; William Orbit's hypnotic Water from a Vineleaf, and Moskow Diskow from Telex sit fairly comfortably alongside more familiar numbers like Soul II Soul's number one hit Back to Life, and Erasure's lilting lullaby Always. Disc II is completed by the grating Milkshake from Kelis, and Tinie Tempah's Pass Out; perhaps a nod to current music fans and an attempt to ensure the album is not just restricted to electronic aficionados and Eighties synthesizer devotees.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I must admit that I was a bit puzzled why Goldfrapp, Kelis and Tinie Tempah are on an 'Electrospective' album which has artist such as Malcolm McClaren and Grace Jones also present. The remixes did have an 80's feel about them as many of them were extended by limited repartition. That being said, I did enjoy most of the mixes mainly because I have a love for such (sometimes pointless) 80's mixes. However, I urge you before you buy read some of the reviewers reviews who did not like this collection of mixes because they have some very good and worthwhile points to say about this album. I think I could be in the minority here by thinking this is good in its way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Take the first review with a pinch of salt - it's not ALL bad. Yes, there are certainly plenty of 'empty disco' mixes. Difficult to define but instantly recognisable, with lots of twiddley bits but zero soul, rhythm or emotion. Heaven 17 kicks off with a 'natural' extended version, i.e. once heard it's the 7" mix that sounds odd and strangely truncated. Talk Talk's 'remix' is the widely know extended mix. Beyond the new rhythm track, Vicious Pink's mix doesn't add anything notable, so you're better off checking out the original 12" mixes. Grace's LL mix is another widely played club version at the time. Audibly, Inner City's mix actually sounds retrograde as if recorded around '81-'82, compared to the original (Saunderson) Chicago sound that came a few years later. Despite big names the final 4 tracks on disc one are pretty superfluous.
Disc 2 is less noticeable overall, with nearly all the mixes being of the type that enable beat-synced mixes in long sets, so only copping a minute or two of vaguely recognisable pop hit in a club environment. Not pleasurable or really intended for 7 minutes of continuous listening. An odd collection, but usefully available as individual downloads.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
This is a brilliant selection of electronic music featuring some well known tracks with some lesser known material & is thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Okay, have to agree, why Kelis etc.? Clearly NOT even born when some of these remixes were constructed! But park that - if you want to know the origins of so much of today's sounds, you will be a smart one if you luxuriate in Soul II Soul's Back to Life and the Good Life of Inner City! Of course, the League's Crowd's Sound is where so much electrochic/beep began, and Martin Rushent's extended mixes were...not perfect enough - way back then, we all wanted so much MORE of the Sound of 'This' Crowd!! All such effortless cool, Jay-Z owes it all to those guys, as he contemplates the Pavement from his Penthouse! This is a record of youth for many, miss it at your peril!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
this is what I need.well done.more! more!! more!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
GREAT SONGS WITH SOME GREAT REMIXES VERY HAPPY INDEED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
I was surprised to read the other review, I don't think this album is bad at all! It's just a collection of rare mixes from back in the day: Larry Levan, Kevin Saunderson, Carl Craig, Derrick May, MAW for less than a fiver - bring it on I say!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
a most intelligent selection of music!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse