Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
31
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
This is very similar to another Phelps autobiography I have read and i actually prefer Beneath The Surface as it has a lot more personal content and detail about how Phelps trained with his coach and became the Olympian he is today. However what is not to love about reading about an amazing athlete and how he trained to become what he is, so whilst only 3 stars from me others may enjoy if they are reading about Phelps for the first time. Inspiring story. My daughter is a young teen and is reading and it's fine for her to understand, Very simply written. There is a lot about swim times which could bore the average reader but of interest to those who swim. I'm also a Brit and it is a bit American patriotic in places but if he was a Brit I would expect nothing less!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another inspiring book from Micheal Phleps et al. No Limits continues from where Beneath the Surface ended and details his prepations for the 2008 games and the 2008 games and beyond. His story is not only very interesting it is very inspiring.I wonder if he will write about his London olympics?This book can inspire anyone in any endeavour or profession. It is not just about swimming but about living a purpose filled life, setting goals and working hard to achieve them. He is simply remarkable and I recommend this book heartily.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
To get the negative out of the way, the reason why I don't give the book a five star is because the language used is not all that captivating. It's written by Phelps himself, and he's not a poet.

The four star goes solely on the story being told. No limits is a fitting name to his journey.

Though Phelps' story is not all that different from other stories of extraordinary achievement - extreme dedication, extreme preparation and extreme passion for one's craft - he puts it in the context of what his body had to endure, and the mindset he has that allows him to overcome all to reach his definite goals.

I haven't read many books on sportsmen's journeys to stardom, but I would assume that most of them are not very different to what Michael Phelps describes. That takes nothing away from the value of this book: I read it and felt inspired to achieve my goals and to overcame whatever may need to be overcome. Yes, we have heard the same story before, still purposeful to read about how someone, another human being, went through the prescribed route of dedication and perseverance, and did indeed come out on top - no cinderella story, instead the story of someone who didn't give a damn about what he wasn't supposed to be able to do.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
The book continually floods the reader with anecdotes related to the performances that phelps had en route to the 2008 olympics. Every page includes an anecdote about phelps or another swimmer whom set a record, a fitting pattern which really encapsulates the drive and determination that phelps has. The backbone of the book is about goal setting, and to any person involved in playing, coaching or educating within sport; the book acts as a guide to how goal setting is imperative; not just in sport but in life too. An easy read, would recommend to anyone interested in sport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
I bought this audio CD as a gift for a partially sighted friend. She absolutely adores it and says it will be listened to over and over :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
My son of 12yrs couldn't put this book down and he was amazed and inspired by Phelps and his attitude to his sport from a young age.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
This is an excellent book about an amazing person. Recommended by my son's swimming coach and very inspirational.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
Inspirational; one of the most motivational books I have read. I really enjoyed this book; whilst he is very successful, he credits his family. I think the bond he has with his mum and sisters is refreshing. He comes across as very thoughtful with little ego, just a hard working and very focused decent human being.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)