Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
28
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
Amusingly written and lovely for grandmothers to read to their grandchildren.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 March 2014
This is a great story with great characters and a lovely text. The characters ar funny and loveable and the children iWork with love their exploits. The children were cheering on the grannies and booing at the baddies. It is a feel good story with a message that crime does not pay.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Judith Kerr has always been well loved in our house and, although this not our favourite story, it is still a lot of fun. This is the story of the fearless granny gang – the youngest of which is eighty-two. They can carry out repairs, fix cars, tame lions and baby-sit crocodiles! One day there is a robbery and the grannies spring into action!

Although I like the idea of grannies being brave and capable; somehow this story didn’t hold the attention of my listener’s in the same way as other books by her. My niece liked the pastel illustrations and the way the grannies fought the baddies, but it has not been one of her most requested stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
All Grans should have this to read to their Grandchildren !
Not perha[ps as good as Judith Kerr's other books, ie Mog.
But a good read with lots of pictures to look at.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
My 4 and 6 year old grand-kids enjoy this story and I liked the way the Grannies beat the bad guys. Makes a change form super-heroes! Good pictures and plenty of humour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
A must for all granny's and their grandchildren! Clever text, amusing situations - you'll never see your own grannie in quite the same way again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
Awful rhyming scheme, classist and a huge disappointment in terms of actual story. We love Judith Kerr and usually enjoy her books, but this is a nightmare to read and doesn't flow at all. The hoodie thing is disgraceful and should never have gotten past publishing. The grannies themselves are so numerous that there's no sense of personality in any of them, just a few short couplets on each. It was a wonderful idea for a book, but falls short at every hurdle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Lovely book full of wonderful hard working grannies who won't take any nonsense? A fun delight to read just before bedtime
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
My grandson had this in his Christmas sack and loved it thought the Granny was really funny - he 5 years old
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
While there is much humour and playfulness in Judith Kerr's new book, the dreadful classism on display should dissuade any parent from wanting to read such prejudiced drivel to their child over and over again. A quick flick through should suffice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here