Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
26
4.9 out of 5 stars
Affric
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 28 October 2017
Beautiful album. Bought as a gift for my mother and she loves it too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Fine playing and lovely moving music making
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
Exquisite. A pure tonic for the troubled soul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 November 2012
Affric, Duncan Chisholm's fifth solo album, is the third and final part of a musical journey that started six years ago with the recording of Farrar (Album of the Year at the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards in 2008) and continued with Canaich in 2010.

Those three albums "form the Strathglass trilogy," Duncan Chisholm's musical homage to the Chisholm lands in Inverness where the musician grew up.
The Chisholm lands are also part of the family's ancestral history.

The tunes on Affric, like its two predecessors, form musical pictures and create mini-soundtracks to some of the most beautiful areas and places in Scotland.
Each piece features Duncan Chisholm's fiddle as the narrator, with accompaniment or complimentary colour added by way of percussion, guitars and other traditional instrumentation (courtesy of a number of excellent musicians including Phil Cunningham, Tony Byrne and Jarlath Henderson).

Duncan Chisholm is one of the best slow air fiddle players in the business - many believe THE best - so it's of no surprise he positively shines on such material, including the emotive and evocative 'An Ribhinn Donn' and `Night in That Land.'
But Duncan Chisholm has more than one string to his fiddle bow, as perfectly exemplified by the up-tempo, rhythmic number 'Running the Cross,' a modern take on the traditional sound.

Each album in the Strathglass series has something to offer, but Affric has the feel of presenting shorter stories as opposed to bigger pictures.
It's as if the credits are rolling on the final instalment of the trilogy while images of `The House in Rose Valley' and `The Flooded Meadow' flash into the listener's mind.

Affric is a fitting culmination to the six years work that went into creating the Strathglass trilogy, but it's not quite the end of the story...

In January 2013 Duncan Chisholm, complete with full band and twenty-piece orchestral ensemble, will present the Strathglass Suite, a special show that will form part of the Celtic Connections festival in Glasgow.

It's a much deserved accolade for the musician, his music and the event.
Because not only will the festival be celebrating its 20th Anniversary, Duncan Chisholm will be celebrating some of the finest traditional based music you'll ever hear.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
I'm not always a big fan of music with no vocals as it can struggle to keep my attention. This an album of instrumental music but I've listened to it many times in the first week and never tired of it. Its varied and with enough hooks to get you humming or whistling along. Seriously tempted to get the first 2 albums in the trilogy if they are anywhere as good as this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Duncan doesn't disappoint on this, his final album in the Strathglass trilogy. It's up there with the very best Scottish fiddle playing but what sets the album apart is the use of modern rhythm and atmospherics. Both Cainach and Farrar were groundbreaking CDs and this continues in the tradition. Make no mistake, it is traditional music but the links to the landscape and the weather make it a true Folk classic. If you love Scottish music then this is a must buy. If you love Scotland's scenery, then treat yourself to this beautiful record of an awe inspiring place.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
One of Duncan Chisholm's finest albums. I definately recommend that everyone should get The Strathglass Trilogy (Farrar, Canaich and Affric).

Scottish music at its best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Very delightful from beginning to end . The mix of slow thoughtful and faster tunes works very well . At times I just wanted the last tune to carry on longer as it is so beautiful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
One of the best fiddle players I've heard.
He can play the fast foot tapping jigs and make you weep with his slow traditional tunes. I drove from Scotland to Norfolk and played it in the car all that way and never got bored. I'm learning the fiddle and will I know never get to play this well (started too old) but I can dream
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
So good we actually went for a long weekend to Glen Affric - there isn't any other album I've bought that's made me do that.

A great piece of work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Canaich
£6.99
Farrar
£7.49
The Lewis Blue
£7.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)