Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
90
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2013
A quick review of Flying Swords Of Dragon Gate - Blu Ray 3D version.

I was looking around for some decent 3D live action films at Xmas and did some research on the subject matter, i found most ( not all ) live action films are converted and not actually shot in 3D, this particular film was shot using the same camera system as Prometheus and was shot in 3D, unlike Prometheus which was all about using the 3D for depth, Flying Swords has great depth to the image and some decent pop out moments, some people consider pop out a gimmick, perhaps so, but it's an entertaining gimmick and i like 3D films to have pop out.

The movie itself is okay, it's entertaining and passes a couple of hours easily, you get a choice of a 2D edition on another disc or the 3D edition, you also get the choice of a dubbed 2 channel soundtrack or a 5.1 original Mandarin language version, i chose the latter, it's a pity the subtitles are in the picture area as this sometimes causes minor issues with watching in 3D, when i say issues i mean it can be distracting reading the subtitles while trying to enjoy a 3D film, not a problem if you are viewing in 2D and anyways as already mentioned you can select the 2 channel dubbed option, for a dub it's not too bad, light years ahead of all those badly dubbed seventies films which came from Hong Kong.

Jet Li has made better movies than this, as has director Hark Tsui, try watching Once Upon A Time In China as just one example, i also enjoyed Detective Dee: Mystery Of The Phantom Flame too, Tsui made that one the year before making Flying Swords.

I absolutely love the use of 3D on this film, better than almost all Hollywood productions, the film itself is not perfect but i liked it, i knock a star off merely because the film is good but not great, the packaging that house the disc is good and the disc transfer is very good, no annoying edge enhancement, no compression issues, no contrast boosting or trying to change the original look of the film, a very good transfer to blu ray, sure the CGI effects are not always the best but they are good enough for me, if you like this type of film, like the actors and directors work and enjoy 3D depth AND 3D popout then i recommend this film.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Amazing 3D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
bad points, blurry 3d in second half of the film ( first 1/2 amazing maybe my equipment though or my eyes ) ultimately got very confusing who's who and what faction is actually fighting in the action scenes.

sub titles flick all over the screen so your forever looking at the top the bottom etc which gets annoying also the english soundtrack is only in stereo.

good points

some of the best 3d i have ever seen second only to avatar
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Firstly this is mainly a review about the 3D Quality of this Blu Ray.
Avatar is widely regarded as the best example of Blu Ray 3D, but 'Flying Swords' is in many ways it's equal and in several scenes a better example of how great 3D technology can be used.
With live action 3D you do not always see a lot of 'pop out' 'in the room' type visual effects, (see 'Rise Of The Guardians' or 'Madagascar 3' if you really like that sort of 3D, however this film does sometimes like to show that live action can do that also with the actual 'Flying Swords',spears and arrows etc flying towards you at various points in the film.
The 3D is used in great effect by giving you the feeling of depth in all manner of scenes and locations using height, distance and the layering/positioning of actors in each scene, and also the flying scenes are excellent.
In fact in a nutshell the film just looks beautiful all the way through.
The clarity of the 3D is absolutely astounding and totally natural, I do not have a bad thing to say about it at all.
The whole film is an absolute joy to watch even the dark underground scenes were very good as they got the lighting just right to make it work.
The actual film is just as good as '13 Assassins' and also has one of the most amazing scenes in Cinematic history which is a fight between two men inside a huge Tornado up in the air (you have to see it: amazing)
You have the ability to watch in English language with no subtitles.
Of course people's opinions will vary as some people have better quality equipment than others and some may not have it set up for optimum output but what I saw showed me exactly how good 'live action film' 3D can get.
I have to see it again = #1 with Avatar 3D !
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
First off i must say i'm a big fan of the 3D and hope that it continues to improve,also i'm a long time fan of Asian martial arts film and appreciate that they are not everyone's cup of tea.All that said i think that this is probably the best 3D move i have yet watched,not only is the 3D simply awesome but the film as a whole stand head above many of the films from the same genre over the last few years.Jet Li has a knack for picking this type of film ad he is the best in the world at bringing these stories to life.I do not speak Chinese and i hate dubbed films so i watch with subtitles which in a 3D film can make it a little confusing to keep up i agree,so watch once in 3D and then again on normal blu ray.Then again and agian and again,great fun a must have for all fans of the genre
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
A re-imaging of the film Dragon Gate in which rebels battle it out with evil ennuchs and various parties looking for the wealth of a vanished civilisation in the desert buried near the inn of the titular name. Whilst not possessing a 3D player and accessories the scope of the special effects etc are plain to see even if the story is a bit convoluted in places. Those liking action chinese martial arts style and aren't too worried about wire work as opposed to old fashioned martial arts fighting style will like it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
I watched this film recently at a preview screening and I thought it was pretty outstanding. The 3D is ingenious and is the first time I have seen a film with such inventive action sequences. In a number of scenes it feels as if you are fighting side by side the heroes. I definitely recommend seeing if you are an action movies fan.
44 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Tsui Hark has gone wide of the mark here. Poor acting, awful sword work and a massive reliance on passable CG makes this film just better than average. The budget might be there but the integrity and skill of past films such as 'The Blade' are very much missing.

Martial artists this is not for you. It's somewhat of a joke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)