Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
A Simple Life [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 October 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2013
This film is wonderful. It manages to convey so much with very little dialogue or explaination. The cultural information is fascinating too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2015
Bit of a slow mover, but good nonetheless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2015
very very good very moving well acted
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2015
Some people might find this film too slow-moving, but I found the detailed portrayal of a relationship between a young man and his old, family servant servant, delightful, poignant, and moving. I suppose some Westerners might also find the whole concept of servants a bit uncomfortable, but I was brought up in Taiwan, where we had servants in the earlier days, so it had a lot of resonance for me. I have visited Hong Kong several times, and enjoyed the setting, too. I was interested to find that the story was based on reality, and that the director is a woman, both points which I feel explain the emotional tone of the film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2012
For some reasons, oriental movie-makers have te secret of making simple movies that are powerful and moving, just because, in their simplicity, they reach the very depths of our heart. Full of movie stars, nonetheless utterly unpretentious, it presents simple facts in the simplest, crystal clear, most touching, moving way. A deep human experience in movie form. I hope this UK edition includes the extras of the Hong-Kong edition I just watched, because the "no regrets" documentary, in which cast members reflect on old age, illness, death and the human condition is also beautiful. Don't miss is if you think that cinema is more than pop corn and car chases; if you think that art, in general, has something to say about us, human beings.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
This movie is great it has two great Hong Kong Actor/Actress, Andy Lau who stared in "House of Flying Daggers", " Infernal Affairs" and Deanie Ip who stared in the Hong Kong cult classic "Spiritual Love" and "Carry On Pickpocket". This film is not a action film so some people might be disappointed. The story is about Roger (Andy Lau) who has to put his maid Chung Chun To (Deanie Ip) into a care home. I was surprise at just how good this movie was considering a lot of the movie is just talking but with 33 Awards you cant go wrong with this movie.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2013
I like the simple non gimmicky way the film was shot and the simple way subject matter itself was covered
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2015
It's ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2016
A really beautiful film. It is everything that Hollywood is not and was so moving I was in tears in places. A simple story, told slowly without sentimentality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)