Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
132
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£18.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
Really good quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
AWESOME I LOVE IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
yes it was bether than exp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This beautiful, moving show is supremely wonderful. The ethos and emotion of Swan Lake is re-imagined into a fantastic explosion of grace, vulnerability, humour and longing. :aving seen the live show a few years ago, I was worried the DVD wouldn't live up to the memory... Needless to say it did.
Wonderful.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
Without doubt, the most amazing ballet I have ever seen. Matthew Bourne's interpretation is quite frankly mesmeric. The corps de ballet move like swans and they are both menacing and compelling. The lead..taken by Richard Winsor is absolutely right for the part. He is both sensual, strong, and compassionate. I would urge anyone who has been put off by the fact that it is not the 'traditional' choreography , to watch this performance, and then go and see a live performance...you will not be disappointed
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Having the previous filmed version I did not think I would want this DVD. But I was wrong, quite wrong. This version is vastly superior. Since the first performances of this ballet in 1995, Mr Bourne has cleverly tweaked his choreography to enhance the production. The performance is now much sharper, flows better and the drama comes across much stronger. Having watched both versions several times now I much prefer the three leads in this version. Richard Winsor as the Swan/Stranger, Dominic North as the Prince and Nina Goldman as the Queen Mother excel.

Classical ballet this is not. But then so say it is a contemporary dance piece would not be entirely true either as all the dancers have had some classical training. In the end it does not matter. What matters is this is a well-crafted, superbly danced performance of a different version of Swan Lake, the twist being the corps de ballet of swans are all male, all powerful and quite mesmerising.

The production remains true to the structure of the original classical ballet so the two famous ‘white acts’ are there and quite magical they are too.

One important reason this is a must have DVD for anyone interested in dance is it is filmed in high definition. I believe it is has been filmed on a slightly larger stage than the original version was filmed. The camera work in this version is much better too.

Another reason this version is well worth it is the full orchestration of Tchaikovsky’s music. I’d buy the DVD just for the music alone! The New London Orchestra give a brilliant account of the score and it sounds as I am sure Tchaikovsky wrote it. Indeed it is refreshing to hear again some of the music at the tempo first written and this whole production gives full and glorious justice to Mr Tchaikovsky. Bravo to Mr Bourne for not taking the easy option of a reduced score or smaller orchestra.

The dancers, the choreography, the clever set design, the atmospheric lighting, the full, lush orchestration sound combined with the high definition camera work make this DVD worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
This production is even more fantastic than the original performances. Dominic North and Winsor seem to add a kinetic and dynamic to the male company that seems to make the production more energetic and emotional than ever. Also I love the pyjamas - I've got similar ones from Brooks Brothers. To be honest, the first time I saw this production on the arts channel, I cried towards the end - for me that is a sign of a true and fabulous connection with an audience - and without words or song! This is the only classical music production that has moved me to tears - so well done! Also the "Pas d'action" using the tables was fantastic! A true masterpiece of interpretation, choreography and acting. We will watch this production again on Christmas Day 2012.

Peter
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I'm not a ballet fan, generally finding ballet and opera boring. However, I see Matthew Bourne's productions as being something totally different and his interpretation of such ballets as Swan Lake and Nutcracker brings them to life in a modern way. Whilst his Swan Lake may be classed as a ballet, it is much more than that with dance(?) numbers and acting, combined with humour and poignancy and you feel an affinity with the characters.

I got the original 1995 version on DVD as soon as it became available and I never tire of it. I recently got the 2012 version and am just as pleased with that. For those of you that already have the 1995 version, I'd say get the 2012 version as well. Apart from different performers, there are various minor differences and some differences in the way things are portrayed (the mobile phone going off whilst at the opera is a nice touch). The later is, of course in widescreen format and has surround sound.
Likewise, if you only have the 2012 version, buy the original version as well.

The Blu-ray version is excellent quality. The only regret I have is that there were no extras. There is plenty of material available that could have been added, such as interviews with Matthew or behind the scenes etc. Youtube has a lot, but it is of varying quality.

I would like to see more of Matthew Bourne's work available on DVD. At present, there are only Swan Lake, Nutcraker, Car Man and Sleeping Beauty available. Matthew Bourne's Christmas, which was on TV last year, was a teaser with extracts of some of the work that he's done and I'd never heard of a lot of the earlier work, such as Spitfire, Town and Country, Inferal galop, Edward Scissorhands, and other work where there are some poor quality clips on Youtube. Matthew is very talented and has produced some amazing work. It would be nice to see more of it in its entirety.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
This ballet has been a favourite of mine for some time. I have the original Adam Cooper version. This new version with Richard Winsor and Dominic North is crisper, the camera and lighting work more advantageous to the performance. The choreoraphy has evolved quite a bit, the swan is more aggressive at first, which makes the following scenes more poignant. Richard Winsor's dancing is mesmeric. If you enjoy dance, buy this recording.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Don't expect a traditional, graceful ballet . . . that it ain't. This is an engrossing, original take on the Swan Lake story (the (male) swans do not feature all the way through). There are very funny moments; very serious moments; and when I saw it live, the audience response to it was immediate -- laughing, clapping, gasping.
The swans were brilliant and the lead swan was, at one point, very menacing. An eye-opener.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)