Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 22 April 2015
I really like this cateye over any lights I have had as a bicycle rider over the years. Main pluses for this light are the wide very even spread of white light on the area it shines on, it seem to cover the area highlighted without a focused small area in the center unlike a lot of other lights I've had. No problems being seen on the road because of the brightness which is ample for riding off or on road, the battery lasts and gives you plenty of notice when it needs charging by a red led. This cateye comes with a cable really short to charge up with, I use an xbox360 to charge up whilst gaming, it does take time to charge so allow time if going on a ride the next day,(usually 6 or so hours depending how depleted the battery is). HIghly recommended and was very suprised how smooth/even the light is, I now dont get any pokes in the eye whilst riding through off road tracks.Chuffed to bits with it!!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2013
Literally! Compact and reasonably lightweight. Low power is sufficient for most conditions, certainly for lit roads. Cycled with it on low power on unlit country lanes at reasonable speed. On high power it's great for high speed. Almost a 180- degree arc with a centre bright spot. Range is great too and even got flashed by a couple of cars! Strobe light is great for being seen and will be sufficent to ride on dark roads if necessary as the pulses are quite cose together, Don't be fooled if you get this delivered showing a green light for battery power though. Charge it fully as it will quickly slip to amber and then red as it doesn't ship with a full charge.
Unsure what cost of replacing the battery will be yet. I doubt it will be cheap but I have at least 300 charges to go before that happens.
All in all a great value for money light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2014
It's rare that I think an item is this good, but I really like this light. I've had a few bike lights before, including a couple of LED cateye lights - none of which have performed. However, this one is in a league of its own. There are cheaper Chinese unbranded lights around which are just as good (and cheaper), but with this you know what you're getting. The light is rechargeable, and apart from the first couple of charge cycles, it now regularly does two days commuting (total of 2 hours) on the bright setting. The only downside is the bracket which is the typical cateye one - the weight of the light can cause it to move on bumpy roads, so occasionally needs adjusting.

Pros: Very bright, good battery life, excellent build quality.
Cons: Uses the standard cateye mount which could be better designed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2013
I am a big Cateye fan anyway. With the nights drawing in, my Cateye Hybrid light was just not providing the light spread to confidently see with on a rainy ride home in the dark. I read several other reviews about this light and made a comparison with Cateye's Sumo range too. The Sumo range was more for hardcore off-road trails and not leisure/ commuting and FAR more expensive. I would say that this light performs the same as an HID/ Xenon bulb on a car and provides confidence when riding. The low/high option is good to switch between depending on ambient light off-road and the hyper-constant mode using a simple double click on the button is great for in and out of traffic. Do not rely on cheap lights alone and remember that seeing is equally as important as being seen. You get what you pay for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
This is a meaty beast, and pretty heavy. However, the USB charging (at my desk during the day) and it's ability to light up an unlit towpath really well are amazing. It has high beam and low beam, like a car or motorbike headlight. The flashing (strobe) effect is very good, with the outside staying on, while the inside pulses, so you don't get any 'off' phases.

The bracket to fix to the handlebars is thankfully very robust (I have had previous, albeit much lighter, Cateye lights which had useless flappy brackets and the light moved about). It would need to be for the weight and bulk of this particular light though.

For battery life and in town, leave it on strobe.

You will need to charge for a full 8 hours before use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
Needed a new front light for both evening rides/training and the daily commute. This was the best option I could find that fitted both requirements. Training is on quite unlit country roads and when on the max level this clearly lights up the road allowing you to see all potholes etc. Bit too bright if you meet an oncoming car as it will blind the driver.
For commuting the dimmed option is perfect or alternatively the flashing option if that takes your fancy.It leaves one light on all of the time with the second light flashing so you are always lit up.
Bracket is simple but effective and allows you to remove it from the bike quickly and simply.
Charging times and battery life seem pretty much as manufactures statements. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2013
A perfect example of getting what you pay for. Yes. It's more expensive than the others, but it's solidly built, very easy to fit, and looks well. Switch it on and you get a very bright beam, steady or flashing. Press the button again and the power doubles! Car drivers can't fail to see you; just tilt it down and to the left a little so that you don't dazzle them. It's that powerful. The internal battery lasts for around 3 hours on full beam, longer on the lower brightness, there's a small pilot light that indicates when a recharge is advisable, and the recharge is via a USB connection so you can give it a boost from your MacBook if you're away from a socket!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
I'm a city cycle rider, so the main need for my bike lights to to be seen, so I used to think a moderate power front light was fine.

Now I've upgraded to this I wouldn't go back to a smaller light. It's great for more poorly lit roads and really increases visibility, not just for cars but for wandering pedestrians. Be careful how you fit it, it's actually blinding to oncoming cyclists if you don't tip the beam right.

The Cateye bracket is a really good design, very easy to fit and adjust. The only slight gripe is the light is a very tight fit in the bracket, you almost have to wrestle it out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2013
Having looked at many reviews, I have to agree with all the positive reports on this light. It is brilliant! I travel on an off road cycle track through farm land that has no lighting and many bridleway gates to tackle. This Cateye can't help with the gate's however lights up the the surrounding area enabling me to dodge the rabbits! Well made, excellent spread of light on high and low,good battery life and functions. My wife uses it instead of a heavy torch to check the horses at night, and now wants one! Value for money and confidence in a quality product makes this an easy decision to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2013
Very capable light. Just set it up on my wife's bike for optimal beam distance. Nice to see a car waiting at a junction for her... while she was 2 streets away!!
Buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here