Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 18 December 2012
This wAS OK as an album but failed to excite. Love his voice live but didn't feel this recording enhanced his reputation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2013
I know that all singers are not the same so no blame attached to the superb voice of Joseph Calleja but, while evoking great memories of Mario, it was a disappointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2012
A pleasant enough listen,but I feel that Joseph should concentrate on singing more straight opera.His voice is more suited to that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2013
While I admire his voice, singing in English does not suit it. Perhaps he is less comfortable speaking this but will grow in fluency.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2015
Joseph Calleja's voice is so sweet. Unfortunately, I think he doesn't quite have the purity of Lanza but some lovely songs on this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2015
Not bad ,you can,t beat the real thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 3 September 2012
Joseph Calleja has a voice in a million and he only has to start singing a song for it to take on a beauty and dignity that are extraordinary. His Maltese Tenor album was sublime and so it is here in a selection that moves more into musicals while blending them subtly with arias. He glides from one to the other seamlessly, and makes you aware of how the genres do shade into each other. What joins everything up is the emphasis on ideal, full-on love that of course is sentimental but also magnificent. He kicks off with Be My Love and immediately all resistance to the music just falls away as he goes through a variety of styles - the second has a distinctly Spanish flavour, and he sings an excerpt from Carmen, but Italian opera is probably the most represented (Pagliacci, Cavalleria Rusticana, La Gioconda), interspersed with some numbers Lanza sang in films like the Serenade from The Student Prince which I didn't know, but is fantastically beautiful as a tune, or The Loveliest Night Of The Year, which you are sure to recognise on hearing if not from the title. With the exception of Nessun Dorma, sung without a trace of excess in the vocal style, he leaves out Verdi and Puccini having included a number of arias on The Maltese Tenor; here the emphasis is on enjoyment pure and simple, and his final renditions of You'll Never Walk Alone and Because are likely to send you back through the disc all over again.
22 Comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2013
music was fine,the digital book I found useless,Cou;ld no way print a copy,I would not by a CD in this way again next time I would purchase the CD with disc,case and booklet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2013
we were not to impressed with the singer, the songs he sung where to our liking, but not to keen on the voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2012
For those lucky enough to have heard Joseph Calleja live, now is the time to say thank you to Mario Lanza. For it was the Hollywood-savvy tenor who inspired Calleja's career. Now Calleja has now put down his Lanza tribute on record, singing the American tenor's hits in a luxurious sounding release. If anything, this disc is even more glorious than the original.

Nostalgia is big business, of course. But what is the most welcome development over the last few years is the trend to recapture the original sound. John Wilson and his orchestra have been at the forefront of the movement and, now, Steven Mercurio has done the same with his reconstructions of the luxurious orchestrations that supported the great Lanza. Here, with banks of strings and pin-point horn playing, the BBC Concert Orchestra truly shines.

The one thing that is new, of course, is the singer (not the songs). For all the glories of Lanza's performances, Calleja has a richer voice by far. Stereo lends a bloom that mono cannot reach, but the inimitable flutter in Calleja's voice, a hint of unexplored darker colourings and his mesmeric top notes provide a thrilling listening experience.

And as well as the deliciously saccharine 'Be my love' and 'The loveliest night of the year' (with its outrageous harmonies and swags of harp), we are treated to Lanza's show-stopping snippets from Pagliacci, Cavalleria rusticana and Turandot. As Calleja writes in the liner note, 'it was impossible for [Lanza] to have a successful film career and a full stage career as well'. This disc not only reminds us of Lanza's achivements, but how lucky we are that Calleja has dedicated his life to the stage.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Puccini: Turandot / Act 3 - "Nessun dorma"
£0.99
Joseph Calleja - The Maltese Tenor
£8.99
Amore
£11.99
Joseph Calleja - Verdi
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)