Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 December 2008
In hindsight this was the beginning of the end for this line up,session men,substance abuse neutering talent,arrogance over sense,granted there are some great hard rock tunes(Detroit Rock City/Shout It Out Loud/God Of Thunder plus an unheralded classic in King Of The Night Time World) but its strangled by an over produced sound,(take Flamin Youth' as an example,who needs that cantilope?,or 'Do You Love Me',with a less over produced sound it would have had that perfect sleazy rock n roll tone that would have complimented the lyrics perfectly).The adulation that pours forth for this album never fails to amaze me,and the same people usually slag the elder which was musically superior.kiss over stretched themselves and ego's were damaged for ever(weren't they peter?).However its the one the masses know thanks to the excellent 'Beth',fluke hit or not',it sent this disc flying up the charts, Thankfully they went back to basics for the next disc.

UPDATE.

Kiss destroyer resurrected ... tried to edit that review,amazon has lumped it in with this and wont allow another review!
the remix is superb,Peter Criss has never sounded better,any debate as to wether he was a good drummer or not,stops here, whatever happened later,its well documented but he's on top form here.

Only 1 bonus track 'Sweet Pain'' with Dick Wagoner's solo rather than Ace's.

Booklet is pretty good ,decent liner notes but ultimately its the the remix thats the star here brings to the fore the performance,which i've always felt was held back in the original release. 5 stars for this edition.

Wether its enough to make you spen hard earned cash buying again, well thats your decision, i did and dont regret it at all... Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2013
This remixed version does sound very modern and fresh, I notice the drums a lot more...it really sparkles and is a very mature record for Kiss. The packaging is excellent. The other remastered albums would have benefited from the same care - rare/unseen pictures, essays from those involved etc. The extra version of Sweet Pain isn't anything special, good to see the fade out 'noise' track restored so the album is nicely top and tailed how I remember from my vinyl copy. Any extra tracks possibly? Alternative remixes? There's space on the disc... if you haven't got Destroyer on cd it's worth getting, and if you haven't got this version, treat yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2012
So at last someone has gotten around to giving one of Kiss's best albums a bit of a spit and polish and who better than it's original producer, Bob Ezrin.Take note though, potential buyers, anyone expecting wildly different takes on songs this is not for you.No,what this release is,is the original album given a high definition makeover.Does it work?Well I compared this with my original, and boy,sonically this is in a whole different ballpark.The bass notes and drums on this mix thunder out of the speakers with a clarity missing from the original.Subtle things that were previously buried in the mix,like an acoustic guitar playing all the way through 'Beth',or,the piano chords doubling up the guitar on songs like 'Detroit Rock City'can be heard clearly(The alternate Sweet Pain solo is not much to write home about though).It's as if someone has taken a dirty old camera lens and given it a good wipe.I gave this four stars because as much as I enjoyed it,and my copy doesn't have a skip on 'Flaming Youth'that some other people have mentioned,it could have been more.They could have included some outtakes and demos to complete the package,like the original demo for 'Detroit Rock City'(Go to Youtube to hear what I mean).Now I'm going to buy the vinyl copy,lie back on my bed and have a drink and a smoke, and pretend it's 1976 again.Bliss.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
Another of my favourite KISS albums which I can now play anywhere in the house on any equipment. Having had the vinyl album for years, I am very happy to now have the CD. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2014
The best produced kiss album ever made. Bob Ezrin made Gene, Paul, Ace and Peter into a world class super group. The Children's choir on Doctor Love alone added depth and class to a band perceived as 4 nu-yawk street bums who were just a gimmick band.If you don't own this..why bother living?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
Arrived on time and s expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2016
This cd is great quality and the original art work cover that was suppose to be on it in the70's . Excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2015
Not everyone's fave kiss went in a different direction with this one polished production and for me some classic songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
This has some great songs on it, at the time it was my second best album after Alive 2 but I think Rock And Roll Over and The Elder are better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
A classic , one of the first albums i bought!
that was almost 15 years ago and still holds true!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)