Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
39
4.1 out of 5 stars
We Are The Night [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 May 2017
This film is great. A must have for vampire genre fans. It's very angsty and sleek.
There is a really good transformation scene for anyone who is interested and the special effects are well done and not over the top.
The story is not unique but it's done in a very good way.
It's a little like a European. Feminist 'Lost Boys'.
Give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I have to agree whole heartedly with the 5 star reviews on here. This is a terrific modern European vampire film, stylish, and well acted it briskly travels a well worn vampire story arc but is done with bags of style and panache. The score is also fantastic, where most modern vampire films usually opt for clichéd by the numbers nu-metal, we are the night combines European techno and dance by the likes of Soulwax and Covenant with a beautiful and evocative original score by Heiko Maile (who was apparently inspired by Hans Zimmer's score for The Dark Knight). If you like a good vampire yarn, I couldn't recommend this highly enough.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
It's been awhile since I've watched a film with subtitles. The last one was the brilliant Swedish horror flick Let the Right One In. Wir Sind Die Nacht (We Are the Night) is equally enjoyable, but of a much different style and tone.

The movie opens with pictures of Berlin through the ages, and haunting, operatic music, beginning with modern day Berlin and moving backwards in time, to the Fall of the Berlin War, the Second World War and further into the past. The same women appear in photos throughout these historical eras. One of them can be seen in an oil painting, giving us an idea how old this lady is. An intriguing voice-over asks: "If you knew that there is only one person in the whole world who is able to make you happy. And he is the right one for you, what would you sacrifice to find him? How many centuries would you spend searching for him? And if you finally found him, would you ever let him go again?..."

Vampire boss Louise (Nina Hoss), her second in command Charlotte (Jennifer Ulrich) and the younger, fun-loving Nora (Anne Fischer) jump from a plane over Berlin having killed the passengers and crew. The next scene introduces us to the troubled Lena (Karoline Herfurth) who immediately reminded me of Lisbeth Salander from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. She picks the wrong guy to steal from, and ends up being pursued, in a highly enjoyable and exciting chase through the city by a cop, Tom (Max Riemelt - FYI, he's lovely ladies). You have to laugh at a cop who sees the funny side of being punched in the face and kicked in the groin by the thief he's chasing.

Lena has the bad luck to show up in Louise's vampire nightclub one night. She reminds Louise of her dead maker and the woman she loved, and Louise wastes no time in making her into a vampire. Max tracks Lena down but she has already been turned and is under the scrutiny of the deranged Louise. We know this love triangle isn't going to end well.

We Are The Night is a slick and stylish, lightweight movie. In this universe, there are no male vampires. Wondering why? You'll have to watch the film to find out! Louise and co spend their time dancing, eating, having sex and driving fast cars. They live a life of luxury and decadence and feed without remorse, the latter of which Lena struggles with. The most interesting vampire for me was Charlotte who looks like she stepped out of the 1920s. We discover she was an actress in the silent film era when Louise took a shine to her and promptly removed her from her human life where she was married and had a child. Once we learn this, Charlotte's cold and seemingly detached personality makes a lot more sense.

These vampires are traditional in nature: they cast no reflection, can't come out during the day and they kill humans. The film loses its way about halfway through but the action picks up again towards the end. If you're looking for high drama and a deep and meaningful story, this film isn't going to provide that for you. On the other hand, if you're after some harmless entertainment with nice acting and a handsome human police officer who's in love with a vampire (I'll mention him again, Max Riemelt :) ), give this a watch.

I had never heard of any of these great actors before, and We Are the Night made me want to watch more European films. And of course being the sucker for paranormal romance that I am, I was hoping Lena and Tom would find a way to be together.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
Most Lesbian Vampire cinema serves the male gaze, We Are The Night is a little different. For a start, it's not as 'clothes off' as the usual sapphic bloodsucker offering, focusing instead on the twisted dynamics that exist between the characters. There's a family unit at the heart of the movie - four Vampire vixens who are not dissimilar to the women of Sex In The City, albeit with a thirst for blood. They treat eternal life with a hedonistic abandon and enjoy spreading chaos.

I can't recommend this film enough. It's from the same production house as Urban Explorers and it makes use of similar abandoned locations and unused urban squalor. Although it's tricky to make an original Vampire movie, We Are The Night brings some fresh ideas to the table.

We Are The Night [DVD]
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
I would agree with the previous commentators who extolled this film. The reason for adding to their comments is to emphasise that not only is the film itself interesting because of the strong female leads, but also because the plot of the story deals with the most basic of human emotions — love. There is a tangle of interweaving love strands, not all to be expected from a vampire film, nor from the ‘lesbian’ epithet given to the film. Indeed the natures of these loves is quite well dramatised and therefore questioning. The vampire nature of the film allows obsession to be seen as being heightened over time alongside love lost, and also the vampire element brings out the self-satisfying and self-destructiveness of obsession. The opening sequence is reminiscent of telling a story as a backdrop to the titles seen as in Watchmen. And this brings me on to the excellent music that accompanies the film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
You can watch it without them speaking in German and subs. Go to set up on the DVD menu then they will be 2 options in German at the top and down from it is English then choose yes or no for subs. It does work i am watching it in English right now. Hope this helps
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Modern day Berlin.Centuries old Vampire Queen Bee Louise(the always excellent Nina Hoss)together with acolytes the moody Charlotte(Jennifer Ulrich)and mod tramp Nora(Anna Fischer)are cutting a dash through the underbelly of Berlin society feeding at will and having a high old time of it.However Louise has been seeking,for a long time it transpires,for the right replacement for her own mentor burned years before and thinks she's found her in the guise of petty street criminal Lena(Karoline Herfurth)who as convention dictates finds the transformation into a vampire somewhat problematic and things are not helped by an attraction to hotshot cop Tom(Max Riemelt)

Don't be put off by the trashy cover art,this is no bottom of the barrel straight to dvd fodder.Admittedly there is nothing particularly original here and the bravura opening 30 minutes is a little too fast paced if anything but all the women are ace(and I mean acting),the innate eroticism of the vampire lore is well conveyed and there are some clever touches(each characters backgrounds are stylishly sketched in in the opening credits sequence and Charlotte has two very well nuanced scenes -one when she is watching herself on film and another at a hospice which is strikingly touching and the action is well done throughout.

A pulsating soundtrack nicely underscores their decadent lifestyle and although it goes pretty much where you expect it to go,We Are The Night is superior fare.

The extras showcase two alternative endings and being a sucker for endgame clarity I wished they had used number 2 and the film is revealed to have been a long standing pet project between Christian Becker(producer)and Dennis Gansel(director)that took them over 10 years to get onto the big screen.
It was worth the wait.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
For me, the best vampire films of the 2000's are Let the Right One In, Stake Land, 30 Days of Night, Frostbite and this film. This is the best out all of them and is a well acted, kinetic, actionpacked meditation of love and immortality.

There is a little something for any one here; great acting (always preferred), good action (too rare), great music and cinematography (this film is a feast for the senses), attractive ladies (for us guys), strong and well written female characters and a hunky cop (for you ladies out there), taking lesbian-romance seriously and not for explotation purposes (for all LGBT-people and anyone hating the stereotype of lesbian vampires), a deep but subtle conveyed message about love, immortality, gender roles and sexism.

The acting is amazing, escpecially Jennifer Ulrich who should have got a freaking award for her acting in this film. The script and directing is top notch, there are no 2D villians in this film. Just some very tragic victims. The cinematography is wonderful, Berlin is captured suggestivly on 35mm. Don't waste time thinking about the bad cover. Buy it now!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
High quality film about a trio of German female vampires who, unlike the Dracula types, are affected by real human emotions [not just demons possessing dead human shells] and burn up in sunlight [a surefire way of committing suicide]. Apparently ruthless blood drinkers, these glamorous girls soon show their tender and jealous side after a new girl joins them, when the going gets tough and one of them dies. There are problems of love, grief and loneliness regarding immortality with a particularly poignant scene where one of them goes to see a dying old lady in hospital - her own daughter.

It is well acted and well thought through. with great colour photography, good music and a decent plot. I saw this first at the Bram Stoker Horror Film Festival at Whitby and liked it so much I had to get the DVD. If you like vampire films then this is for you too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
I personally enjoy vampire films, although they do vary and rightly so. I personally viewed this film on Netflix not really knowing what to expect and was really surprised to find it was a great film, it has polished gloss and a good story line in the all female line up, each character bringing in their own personalities through in a powerful way and also sad and tragic way too. Personally I think it's a quality film. Also I believe if Hollywood had made this film we would have had a poorly made film with a poorly matched soundtrack. The soundtrack I believe is really good too, nicely tailored. The film centers on 3 (soon to be 4) care free vampires all from different times in our history living dangerously and carefree and neglecting descretion which becomes their downfall.

P.s If you like this you may like Kiss Of The Damned.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Alyce [DVD]
£4.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)