Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.19


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
I have read this again and again. Each time anew.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Truly great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
most boring book I have ever had. I really tried to read it but it was so boring I had to give up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Still think it was the best thing he wrote-unlike some of his other works, no fireworks just a gentle build up in a turn of the century |Dublin dinner party to act as the play out of some of the most powerful truths of the human condition. Brill
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
This is an interesting short story, fantastically well written and with amazing depth in the characters. This books is a lesson in writing for aspiring authors. This is a master class in character writing, but it is also an enjoyable read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
A masterpiece, and amazing how close to Joyce's written words John Huston operates in his equally masterful film with the same titel, " the Dead" (said to be his last film project).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Marvellous, haunting, evocative writing. It made me go to Dublin to find the places which Joyce describes.
Most marvellous ending of any short story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
An exquisite piece of writing.creating a world inner and outer and the characterisation is sharp and clear.you really know these people and their lives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
A visitor to a convivial Irish family party is shaken from complacent views on life and love by a revelation relating to his wife's past; A universal story of the fragility of the human spirit and our relationship with the souls and memories of the Dead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
I love this story. It's one of my favourites. But this edition ...? In the original text the dialogue is marked with dashes. In this, the dashes have been removed and replaced with speech marks. Why? It reduces the text somewhat. Leave it alone!
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)