Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2012
i was a bit unsure what to expect from this new album considering how i really like what frank brought to the band, what i must say is this is not the gallows of grey britain but a completely different beast. Still a very angry album with some balls out riffs but with some new twists and turns. i first heard last june and just loved the aggression of it. the rest of the album follows suit and does not tire in pace or anything. I have enjoyed listening to this album over and over and still have not got board. i would suggest anyone to check this record out as it's still the gallows we know and love but with a different twist. good work boys
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
I was a bit concerned when Frank Carter left Gallows, I had followed the band for many years and seen them live more times then I can remember. They released an ep last year, I bought the ep straight away but wasn't blown away by what I listened to, yes it was good but it was no longer Gallows to me. This wasn't because Frank had left the band, but due to the fact that the unique lyrics and sound had gone. Mid 2012 Gallows announced that they would be releasing their first full length album since Frank left, I pre-ordered the album in hope that this would be another Gallows masterpiece. I wasn't disappointed this album is awesome!! I have seen Gallows live twice since Wade joined the band and his on stage presence is incredible they are two of the best live shows I have been too and would recommend to all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
This is every bit as good as i hoped it would be! Firstly, it doesnt sound like Gallows of old, which is to be expected. it sounds like a heavier harder Alexisonfire, which is also not entirely unexpected with Wade on vocals. This album is heavy, its brutal, but its not grim, not depressing and utterly great!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Absolutely love this album, not a single dud track! Favourites would be - Everybody Loves You, Last June, Austere, Depraves, Odessa + Cross of Lorraine!

If you're not sure because of the new vocalist Wade, stop hesitating and just check it out! Honest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
underrated ?? just a bit !! awesome new release from an immensily talented punk band. new snger has fitted in well and every song is a stand alone track. who needs mainstream when quality like this this is under the surface waiting to be found
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Seemly put just not as good as the first two albums with Frank at the helm. It's not just because Frank and this lyrics are absent, I just don't believe it is as well written. Average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Jagged and spiky hardcore punk, which is not only quite extreme but is also quite accessible. It is a furious album but it doesn't crush you, there is space for you to breath, it's got personality and a lot of variety.

Gallows music resembles that of the Bronx or the Drips high energy, high impact with an ingenious use of melody and sheer brute force. The Gallows however do appear to add more of a metallic edge around there occasional almost pop punk choruses and I think that they do it really well. Its almost like being washed over a cliff by a flash flood each song is majestically exhilarating but at the same time it hurts like hell, just like the fall it is all over rather quickly and the tracks here don't stick around, short sharp and to the point with no messing about and all the fat trimmed, lean and mean.

This is an album that you shouldn't dismiss offhand after a couple of listens because, while the songs seem to bleed into each other the songs seem to open up and become much more distinct.

The ominous spoken word intro gives way to the brutal `Victim Culture' musically speaking it is punch in the face type stuff with hints of some more gentle ingredients to be found on songs later in the album.

`Cult of Mary' is a real standout track which towards the end resembles something that the Meads of Asphodel would have come out with. `Outsider Art' is another storming track that builds over the first minute before exploding in an almost mid life AFI style, before breaking down in a more metallic feel, a good track to try out if you are not sure of the band.

The Gallows provides a nice mix of light and dark, heavy and soft catering well for fans of hardcore, punk and metal. With the centre of the album being a good place for those who like songs almost relentlessly brutal; `Vapid Adolescent Blues', `Anstere', `Depravers' and `Odessa' come on like some all consuming black hole, surrounded by more dynamic songs before and after.

I highly recommend this album and I will be looking at getting their back catalogue.

Track List:
Victim Culture
Everybody Loves You (When You're Dead)
Last June
Outsider Art
Vapid Adolescent Blues
Austere
Depravers
Odessa
Nations never enough
Cult of Mary
Cross of Lorraine
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
really enjoyed this, gallows are fabulous as ever, with and without frank, wade brings a different feel to gallows and I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I thought this album would suck, the EP with their new vocalist seemed to lack the magic the Gallows had created on previous efforts, but was I surprised, the Vocals are fantastic, just as snarling as Frank Carter's and the songs are fun. They are catchy, but not commercial a hard trick to pull off. Finally an album I hear that isn't to up it-self just good rockin' punk revitalises the genre that's full of over-produced bands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
I dont think Gallows fans who have been there from the start will like this album. I didnt like it at all, for me it was a waste of money.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)