Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
108
4.6 out of 5 stars
Elvis: Prince From Another Planet (Deluxe Version)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£45.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 November 2012
I bought the LP in 1972 and many years later the cd's. Back in 72 I certainly had no complaint with the performance as Elvis looked great and sang with much gusto. The only reservation I had 40 years ago and still have today is the evening show does seem a bit rushed. Indeed it is only on side 2 of the LP (ie from the Impossible Dream onwards) that the quality in the Presley vocals become manifest. Trilogy here is far better than the Aloha version in 73 and overall Elvis' vocals show little sign of the tremelo that became very evident on the Aloha concert. The Press Conference is priceless and just look at the expression on Elvis' face after hearing the Colonel's attempt to explain why the New York City shows weren't included in the On Tour filming. Despite what I have just written "That's All Right" is probably the best post 1950's live version I have heard. For £14 you can hardly go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
Nice to have this Elvis release in a great presentation and at a very, very reasonable price for the product. This material is from 40 years ago and the remastered music (released before) does sound better than the original releases. The DVD is very good, with an interesting newly-made documentary on the New York concerts of June 1972, but the press conference is not complete as stated. It cuts up quite often and there are more complete versions out there on unofficial releases - a great pity this, as it would have been great to have the complete thing once and for all, and on an official release. The concert footage is most interesting, in reasonable quality, but spoiled to some extent by the frequency of a black screen where there was obviously no footage. Why not use still images at these points and/or textual information on the events surrounding the historic concerts performed by Elvis that weekend at Madison Square Garden? He was the first artist to sell out 4 concerts there over three days, performing to a staggering 80,000 people - very important information. One other small gripe, sorry, but accessing the 3 discs is very difficult the way the packaging has been made. Overall though, an excellent release and please bring out more like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2013
First I had a little concern about the new mixing of both concert sounds but after listening to this new upgrade for the first time, it was nothing but just goosebumps!!! Absolutely WOW and you feel like you are at the concert and the God had exposed himself on stage you can feel it.
Especially the evening performance (The previous release was not that fresh because it had been released so quickly and the mixing had not been treated very well) is very enjoyable to listen to.
DVD? To me it's a treasure. Yes some of the songs and some parts of some songs; Mostly are missing but who cares... The parts available to us show a magnificent performer and you can even feel that charisma and energy from the TV screen. I loved it; LOVED IT.

The booklet? GREAT PICTURES na dinformation is really well done. I saw may unseen photos of Elvis from those concerts and I loved it.
BUY IT! Because it's a proof that Elvis is really again in the building. Long Live The King!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2013
Ok so the DVD doesn't contain the whole show,but if that's all there is then that's all there is.This release is fantastic the concert itself sounds 100 times better than the original vinyl and that's because the songs are at the correct speed.On the original 1972 release col parker had them sped up a notch so they would fit on one LP.Elvis is in good voice and he interacts with the crowd especially before a bluesy Hound Dog.I personally prefer the afternoon show where he sings I'll Remember You and a rare Reconsider Baby.As another reviewer has said buy the deluxe version they won't be around for ever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2013
A quality Elvis release without a hefty price tag. 2 top quality concerts from 1972 with improved sound Quality. excellent book with some new/rare photos. The main selling point though was the DVD including footage from one of the concerts. initial claims of the amount of footage were over exaggerated, even the box set claims nearly 20 minutes of footage, however I would say it was closer to 10 minutes with some of the footage being external shots of MSG. The sound quality on the DVD synced to the footage is amazing. be warned though don't watch documentary first or you will see all the footage! the most disappointing thing is that there is loads of other footage out there, much of which available in better quality ironically some was used in documentary. all in all though, this is the best presentation of those June 1972 concerts & still worth buying if you already own them already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2015
Ive seen pretty much all the live 70s(my favourite) shows that Elvis did both on Youtube and other dvds and videos over the years but when he walks out on stage in New York in this dvd it stopped me dead. This guy was just remarkable and he looked and sounded fantastic. Its not a full show on dvd however what you do see is worth getting it for. The cds and booklet are also stunning and everyone - Elvis and the band and backing groups where all on top form like never before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2015
Fantastic box set of one of Elvis iconic performances. Beautifully presented a real must have for all Elvis fans. After all these years Elvis is still making other people rich on the back of his astounding talent. I'm certainly not complaining just making an observation!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2016
Perfect and I would recommend this to any serious bad weather cyclist. It does what it promises which many others don't. If you ride hard there will be some retained moisture from sweat - the laws of physics dictate it! No garment can be breathable enough to prevent that and still be waterproof. This one is the best I've ever tried though! Not a stuff able jacket, but can be rolled up about the size of a water bottle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2013
Disc one is the Madison Garden concert which I bouhgt originaly on LP.so a great concert.The other disc is a concert from the afternoon show and disc three is a DVD with some footage by a fan from the show plus the New York press conferance. The set is completed with a booklet.. This is amust for all Elvis fans and collectors.Excellant product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2014
What a fantastic cd this is. I'd advise anybody who buys this to take it home and play it real loud ( or equally with a good set of headphones ) immediately you are there in the audience and the feeling you get is incredible as the songs come at you in rapid succession, what a triumph for Elvis. As good as Aloha from Hawaii was vocally, this feels more like how a rock show should be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)