Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
108
4.6 out of 5 stars
Elvis: Prince From Another Planet (Deluxe Version)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£43.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 September 2015
Not as good as 2014 which had more variation in styles of dance, one fast tempo, one slow (house) and the other somewhere in the middle of the two. This edition is quite samey in tempo throughout drifting from house into e.d.m and back again. Keep each disc interesting in 2016 as previously done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Zips failed after two years two months. Warranty expires after two years. Coincidence? Maybe but I’m nervous about buying another GORE product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Arrived early no problems fantastic album from the king love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Prince From Another Planet is a totally new and brilliant listening experience for these historic concerts from New York's Madison Square Gardens in 1972, which incredibly marked Elvis' first and only concerts in the City. The sound mix is absolutely fantastic giving the listener the feeling of what it would have been like being in the fourth row - for me the first afternoon show is by far the best with Elvis and the TCB band giving a much looser performance than the evening concert which was the one released at the time. From the opening adrenalin blast of Sprach Zarathustra leading into the thundering drums as Elvis takes to the stage before lunching into "That's All Right Mama" the sound is just earth shattering and Elvis' voice rarely sounded better. As live concerts these have to surely rank alongside the very best that any other acclaimed live concert recordings by any other artist could match and one is left in no doubt as to why Elvis was the greatest and most charismatic performer around then or now! The Deluxe Version is beautifully packaged with a lovely and stylish 48-page booklet putting the concerts into their historic context plus a bonus DVD with short-documentary and pre-show press conference as well as unseen 8mm footage of the afternoon show inter-cut with full audio. While the latter is great to have I would have liked a still image or slide-show when the footage stops and the audio continues until the footage reappears , however this is a minor issue. For the amazing price of the Deluxe Version it would be totally pointless not buying it in favour of the double disc. Deluxe editions normally cost an arm and a leg this is simply amazing value.
44 Comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 November 2012
The quality of the package is excellant. The informative booklet is complete with great pictures. The re-mastered sound has produced a genuine improvement in clarity that is definately noticable even to the untrained ear. The Madison Square Garden experience was an event, a peak in a carear of a solo star that has no equal.

There are those would suggest there some that could challenge The King, but in the end there was only one genuine King. The, one that that took the Rock 'n' Roll to mass market, the one that forged the path for popular music (and culture) to be what it became, and the one after all these years is still the one that the fans love and miss above any other. When considering Elvis, everyone should remember he had no "template" to follow, he had to discover the peaks and the troughs and all the difficulties associated with being the ultimate public figure.

This package captures the occaision, the understated warmth of the man and the dynamic and versatile nature of his performance. Who else, could have mix blues, rock, and "For the good times" without it seeming anything other than a natural part of the journey Elvis takes you on. It would seem odd, even bizarre, for example, someone like Meat Loaf after singing "Bat Out Hell" to sing something like "I just called to say I love you". Yet Elvis could switch the between genres of music so effortlessy it is all too easy to not to notice how poles apart some of the material actually is. Is this one of the secrets why this material still sells? As an Elvis fan since 3 years old and now being 42 myself, I know I appreciate the old ballads, much more than I did as 6 year old playing "Blue Suede Shoes" over and over because I loved the energy.

I can't envisage many people remembering the words to any of the current chart entries in 40 years time. But I bet "Heartbeak Hotel", "Suspicous Minds", and all those other familiar classics will still be widely known.

This package is great testiment to the unique achievement what was and is simply "Elvis", the genuine legend so much more powerful than today's short term "celebrities".

If there is a weakness, the gaps in the 8mm fan footage could have been better filled in, but we are really lucky to have the footage considering the concerts were not professionally filmed. A complete visual of "That's All Right" is a treasure, as is the concluding footage of "Suspicious Minds".

I have had these CD's of these concerts dating back to 1989 / 1997, so I know the material, but I think you can tell, I am so pleased I bought this package.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
This is one the best Elvis releases. The complete package. Wonderful unseen concert footage, two CDs giving us best quality recording of an Elvis concert ever. Turn it up loud, close your eyes and your there.

It so well mixed that if you were third trumpet in the orchestra you would hear yourself.

Every Elvis fan should own this package, BUY IT NOW

Mike Davis
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Perfect and I would recommend this to any serious bad weather cyclist. It does what it promises which many others don't. If you ride hard there will be some retained moisture from sweat - the laws of physics dictate it! No garment can be breathable enough to prevent that and still be waterproof. This one is the best I've ever tried though! Not a stuff able jacket, but can be rolled up about the size of a water bottle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Cd was ok but DVD disappointing as the footage of concert kept disappearing. I would not recommend this item
because of this. I will still keep this as I collect Elvis mementoes.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
This fantastic package proves once and for all who the Greatest Entertainer of All-Time is. Elvis is in top form vocally, physically and mentally - he has never sounded better. The audience reaction is amazing - I have never heard anything like it. You can feel his unparalleled charisma!! The newly found footage which accompanies this release is great and shows Elvis singing some of the tracks whilst doing only what he can including some great karate displays. Two of Elvis' 4 Sold-Out Madison Square Garden concerts are featured and they have recently been remixed by top recording engineer, Michael Brauer. They are far better than the original recordings and make you feel that you are actually sitting in the audience.

This is a MUST purchase for anyone interested in hearing what it was like to attend an Elvis Performance in 1972. There is also a great booklet incorporated in the package with photographs of Elvis and the history of how the concerts came about. There are also interviews with band members and others who winessed the concerts.

Elvis was truly a force of nature and his like will never be seen again. Truly 'sui generis'.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse