Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
The music cd is great but the main selling point here is the fantastic dvd of 35 music vids. Two of the videos are 12 inch versions of "Venus" and "I can't help it". I had forgot that the trio became a duo in their later years, still its great to see the original line up back together in 2017. Hope their reunion goes on for years.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
THIS CD + DVD COLLECTION IS EXCELLENT .
THE DVD IS GREAT BUT THE DVD IS EVEN BETTER .
THESE LADIES WERE VERY SEXY IN THE 1980s + 1990s .
NOW THERE IS JUST THE TWO OF THEM ~ KAZ + SARAH WHO ARE TRUELY LIKE A FINE WINE AND HAVE GOT BETTER OVERTIME . THEY ARE EXTREMELY ATRACTIVE FOR A COUPLE OF 50 PLUS BIRDS . THE MUSIC IS MORE UPTEMPO BUT STILL SOUNDS VERY STOCK AIKIN + WATERMAN .
A GREAT AD TO ANY CD / DVD COLLECTION .
DVD NTSC 480P / LINEAR PCM 2 CHANNEL STEREO / 96 KH ~ 16 BIT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
A great collection. Only bought it for the bonus DVD which was superbly mastered. A great package and executed brilliantly. Already have the Greatest Hits collection but this is more satisfying. I love the fact that everything is in chronological order as well. Great price as well. Recommended. 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Great value cd and dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
it's great to re-visit all the classic songs from Bananarama. the DVD is amazing with so many video.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
Disc: 1
1. Aie A Mwana
2. Really Saying Something
3. Shy Boy
4. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
5. Cruel Summer
6. Robert De Niro'S Waiting
7. Venus
8. I Heard A Rumour
9. Love In The First Degree
10. I Can'T Help It
11. I Want You Back
12. Love, Truth & Honesty
13. Nathan Jones
14. Help
15. Only Your Love
16. Preacher Man [7" Mix]
17. Movin' On [7" Mix]
18. Every Shade Of Blue
19. Move In My Direction
20. Look On The Floor
21. Love Comes
22. Love Don'T Live Here
Disc: 2
1. Really Saying Something
2. Shy Boy (Video)
3. Cheers Then
4. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
5. Cruel Summer
6. Robert De Niro'S Waiting
7. Rough Justice
8. Hotline To Heaven
9. The Wild Life
10. Do Not Disturb
11. Venus
12. More Than Physical
13. A Trick Of The Night (Colour Version)
14. I Heard A Rumour
15. Love In The First Degree
16. I Can'T Help It
17. I Want You Back
18. Love Truth & Honesty
19. Nathan Jones
20. Help
21. Only Your Love
22. Preacher Man
23. Long Train Running
24. Tripping On Your Love
25. Movin' On
26. Last Thing On My Mind
27. More, More, More
28. Every Shade Of Blue
29. Take Me To Your Heart
30. Move In My Direction
31. Look On The Floor (Hypnotic Tango)
32. Love Comes
33. Love Don'T Live Here
34. Venus (12")
35. I Can'T Help It (12")

What a stonking set! You get a massive array of hits, vidoes and remixes. The value for money is fantastic. Disc 1 and you get hits with a couple of tracks I'd never heard before, always nice. The second disc gives you bags of videos with some of the best hits they released. Venus - iconic and sadly a good background to a few feminine hygiene product adverts. Nathan Jones - just good solid tunes you can get behind drunk or sober. Robert De Niros waiting - I never understood why they sang about Robert De Niro but I know it is a great tune.

You are getting great value here for retro tunes and videos. The singing into your hairbrush is optional.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
As for the compact disc quality I cannot complain. Regrettably the quality of all the videos has been deliberately deteriorated into blatant NTSC system instead of PAL. If they did their best to keep the highest possible quality, we would enjoy 720×576 pixels (PAL) and not the shoddy 720×480 (NTSC). But there is even worse. Bearing in mind the black vertical bars the effective resolution is 600×480 pixels. Shame! Apparently Rhino (and unfortunately not only they) turned out to be sycophants once again. Why the hell they disdain the European customers by spoiling the quality?! If Americans really insist on the worse quality for them, let they do it on their account. Hands off the PAL quality! Their DVD equipment cannot play PAL whereas European can manage both PAL and NTSC. And that ought to be their issue only! I am very disappointed because of such attitude and it is next to impossible to believe that we will ever see the unspoiled videos (in PAL) by NTSC application. Lost forever, I am afraid! There is proof though that not every record company disregards the quality matters. Even in the year 2015 PWL Records released first four albums by Kylie Minogue supplemented with digital versatile discs of PAL resolution. Well done! Keep it up! There is no excuse. Take the example form them! It is not an insurmountable task.30 Years of Bananarama
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
The mighty Bananarama are the best girl band of all time, no doubt about it. And here are a couple of dozen reasons why in this fabulous collection of their most well-known hit singles.

It's great to hear the rich harmonies right from the very beginning with Siobhan, thru Jackie, and to the hugely talented duo Sarah and Keren have continued to be since 1992. The quality of songwriting and performance never dips for a moment, and in fact it could be argued that in their most recent recordings - the brilliant massive hits that never were, 'Love Comes', and 'Love Don't Live Here' - they have produced the best material of their entire career. No mean feat when you consider the strength of the string of famous hit singles from the 80s and 90s. It's also refreshing to hear the two remaining members sing solo parts on the more recent material and demonstrate their strong and characteristic vocals.

It's often forgotten that all three original members and the two remaining members co-penned almost all of the tracks they recorded, and classics like 'Cruel Summer', 'Robert De Niro's Waiting', 'Look on the Floor', and 'Love in the First Degree' will never lose their sparkle or pop gem status. Even the handful of covers like 'Venus', 'Na Na Hey Hey' and 'Really Saying Something' are given new invigorating life and lifted to superior heights compared to the originals.

What's probably the top pull here though is the addition of a DVD of 2 hours plus of nearly every video the band ever made. This is what all the fans have wanted for many years, and it's no disappointment. The early videos show three girls very much in charge of their image and expression, often tongue in cheek with lots of nudging and giggling, and ultimately so charming. They mature as sex sirens as the 80s progress, but never lose their sense of humour or allow anyone to sell them as mere pretty packaging. But what's also fantastic about the DVD is that across 35 tracks you get to see and hear all the singles not included on the CD and realise that even when a song didn't make the top 20 it was still a bloody great track. "Cheers Then' and 'Trick of the Night' are stunning ballads, one naive, one bursting with power and confidence, while "Hotline to Heaven' and 'Rough Justice' show just how good their writing talents for more serious pop fare were even in their early days.

These women deserve so much more credit than they've ever been given, and could give any current girl group more than a run for their money in the melody and catchy hooks stakes. Let's hope this 30 year celebration is the big success it should be and reminds everyone just how brilliant it is to have Bananarama as part of the British music scene we are all so justly proud of.
44 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
This is a perfect album! If only "Now or Never" or/and "La La Love" had been put on this, as it was out a few months later after this! Never mind, nothing is really lost here, apart from "If" from Exotica (as that's the only album release not represent here, partially because of half of those sessions being re-recordings of the big hit singles on here! Get this, you will no way regret such a purchase! What a fantastic cd album, well worth owning (if not for you but for people you know who are Bananarama lovers!!!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
This is quite a comprehensive collection but be warned - The DVD is NOT multi region and will not play on my Region 2 player so I have to settle for playing it on the laptop instead which is a shame because:
a) The DVD is the main reason I bought this.
b) If I can only watch it on my computer I can just watch them on youtube.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)