Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
29
4.3 out of 5 stars
Charmer
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 January 2013
I feel this is Aimee's best since Bachelor No2 but it took a few plays to get there. I've been a fan since the 1st album and seen Aimee live on several occasions so if you are having doubts take a gamble. A previous reviewer complained about not finding 3 great tracks but try the fisrt 3 !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
i have all of her albums, and always look forward to new releases. And this does not dissapoint. i am on my fourth or fifth listen and lots of excellent songs emerging. Definate echoes of Batchelor No 2 on the song Soon Enough which for me the standout track (Batchelor is one of my all time favourite albums). Living a Lie is another current favourite.........but the whole album is growing on me fast . i have to admit to have bought mine as a download from itunes to get the exclusive bonus track Brothers Keeper , which is a very good song and worth getting for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Not her best by quite a way, but enough quality moments to justify adding this album to my
Aimee Mann collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Another good album - but having said that, don't think there's been one I don't really like since 'I'm with Stupid'. Continues the high quality melancholia style that pretty much all the albums since that have followed. Personally 'lost in space' is my favourite album of hers, but this one is definitely worth getting if you liked that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
I really don't understand the glowing reviews.... and I'm an Aimee Mann fan.
This is middle of the road, housework music that is a terrible let down. Easily her worse album. Quite how a track as dire as Gumby could get on any album I do not know.
If you are fans of Lost in Space, Batchelor Number 2 or whatever then you will be very disappointed by this pap.
I think its rubbish, simple as that.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
The peerless lyricist does it again. This is a wonderful album, as expected of Aimee Mann. Her abilities to invoke mood and moment are captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
You have got to have a little sympathy with Aimee Mann's ex-partners, she certainly has made a career of tearing strips out of them, which tradition continues with her latest musical offering.
It contains the usually fascinating mix of dark & cutting lyrics, but catchy music, which always make an interesting contrast.
Her strongest albums are "Whatever" & "Bachelor No. 2", & since then, Mann has released a steady run of good 4star albums, but not outstanding, which also includes "Charmer"
If she had played the game a little more, I think Aimee could have been considerably more successful, good for her for sticking to her principles.
So, a good strong album, but not perfect.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
Aimee Mann has never been an artist to rush her work and this latest release demonstrates her skills as a premier song writer where melodies & lyrics dovetail between these peerless songs. In a day and age where song writers are seen as old fashioned Aimee Mann manages to conjure up songs that are relevant and timeless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Excellent, super lyrics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Perfect!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)