Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
95
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2012
Classic Seagal movies on 5 Discs that comes in 2 standard Blu-Ray cases.

Under Siege
Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, French, Italian
Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish

Under Siege 2
Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, Italian
Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish

Hard to Kill
Languages: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish

Nico Above the Law
Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish

Executive Decision
Languages: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish

All details were taken directly from the back of the boxset itself.
22 comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
As a german customer - used to get only cut-movies in germany - i'm very pleased to get this package in BluRay and totally uncut! The quality of the films is very good, one thing is not so good: sometimes there are subtitles while watching the film in german and I didn't choose subtitles, but only a few scenes.

In germany you don't get this package - its censored...

The price inkl. postage is 22,- , so the price is also fantastic!
44 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This appears to be the only official blu-ray release of Under Siege 1 & 2 in the UK, and the set represents a bit of a bargain (at time of writing the 5 film box set is only £13.50 on Amazon)so it is a must buy for English Seagal fans like myself.

It's a great shame then, that Warner Brothers have lavished absolute zero love onto these films and as such the entire set feels like little more than a cash in.

Why? ...

When I unwrapped the set I was really surprised to discover that both Under Siege 1 and 2 have only Dolby Digital sound tracks, yep no HD soundtracks to be had here for either of the two most important films in the set. Extremely disappointing. My Yamaha HD surround amp did make a nice job of these non-HD Dolby Digital sources on the 'Siege' movies, creating a nice sound field. Particularly noticeable in the first film. Gary Chang's atmospheric and percussive score filled the room, bullets whooshed and zipped by and helicopters thudded across the sound field. Thanks Yamaha, no thanks Warner, this was good but could have been so much more with the deserved attention from the studio.

The picture quality of Under Siege is patchy,some scenes looking beautiful in HD, with lovely sharpness and nice rendering of film grain. Unfortunately many scenes (particularly the darker scenes) are noisy and soft. the picture quality of Under Siege 2 is more consistent, it's acceptable, but very soft by today's standards and only a moderate upgrade from the DVD.

Probably the best looking and sounding film in the set is Nico/Above The Law. The picture quality is consistent, with the old 80's film grain really nicely rendered. That twangy guitar soundtrack has also never sounded better than on the Dolby True HD mix found here. Hard To Kill doesn't look too bad either.

Poor old Seagal, of all the 80-90's Action Greats his career has really gone down the toilet, maybe that's why the Studio can't really be bothered with his back catalogue. However, for less than 15 quid this set still represents good value for fans of the big man's glory days, just don't expect to be blown away. Now, get ma pies out the oven!!
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Steven Seagal. Say it right. Stee-ven Say-gahl. The man who brought Martial Arts to the exotic East. Without him there would be no Bruce Lee. No Jackie Chan. Not even David Carradine or Steve McQueen. He invented "fast speed" hand movements, using them to inflict maximum injury on baddies. Chopping upward and down, his opponents were at sixes and sevens when faced with his five fingers of death! After spreading his particular kind or peace throughout Asia, he turned his attention to the world of Spycraft, becoming a secret agent for the CIA, working unavowed and undercover in Viet-Nam and other villainous red hotspots, ultimately overthrowing one contemptible government after the other with little or no press coverage - not even in the tabloids. No matter, because even though the people weren't aware of his activities, Hollywood was! Naturally they came-a-knocking. Big Steve debuted in ABOVE THE LAW (available as part of this release) and set the entertainment industry on its ear, sculpting an almighty action extravaganza out of his own real-life experiences, and as a consequence changed the genre FOREVER. Having proven himself to be HARD TO KILL (also in this set) in his pre movie life as a assassin, it was no great shock to find him dodging explosions and out-running bomb blasts without even breaking a sweat in this all-time classic. Clearly Seagal was the go-to guy for credible silver-screen heroics. MARKED FOR DEATH and OUT FOR JUSTCE are skipped in this Blu-ray box set sadly, but with the box-office baiting behemoth UNDER SIEGE next on the list, you just know it's gonna get better and better. "DIE HARD on a boat" my bumside! This is the finest action flick of the '90's. Wholly original, and utterly captivating. It is as yet unequalled, indeed it is unlikely EVER to be! UNDER SIEGE 2 is even better! So is EXECUTIVE DECISION!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
A Great Release, A Great Bargain, The Very Best Of Seagal & Executive Decision.
Above The Law Benefits The Most From The Blu-Ray Treatment, With It's Fantastic HD Transfer In Both Audio & Picture, While Still Obtaining The Grainy 80's Look Which Works Excellently. The Other Four Films However Work With 1080p Transfer But In Video Only & Sadly Not Audio. Looking Past This, What We Have Is A Great Bargain & One That Shouldn't Be Past Up On. Especially As It Contains The Only Blu-Ray Release Of Hard To Kill, Which As Of Yet Has Not Been Released Separately On Blu-Ray In The UK.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
An OK collection for Seagal fans, featuring I suppose his two best-known films, Under Siege and under Siege II and worth purchasing at the current price of a tenner just for these two movies alone. Picture quality is not great for these two films however, so if you have these on DVD already, and are not particularly interested in the other offerings, then perhaps avoid.

I found it a strange decision to include "Executive Decision" in the collection, as Seagal is only on screen for a few minutes of the film before being killed (mind you he still manages to take out a few baddies before his untimely demise). This is more a Kurt Russell film, and while a decent enough action movie in its own right it's odd (to me) that its included here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Fantastic assortment, great price, nice picture.
Just found a new appreciation for 'Under Siege 2'.
A thank you to the people who have said this
collection is uncut, it makes ALL the difference.
And yes, 'Executive Decision' deserves to be included.
1804 1804
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
This is a mixed bag of Seagel movies - it has the excellent Nick/Above the Law, for many THE introduction to Seagel, also included Under Siege 1&2, Hard to Kill and Executive Decision (which Kurt Russell is the lead).
For a brief period Seagel appeared to be a major contender as box office king, then around the time he made that awful movie with Michael Caine, thankfully the name of that movie and its plot(such as it was evade me).
Now to the blu-rays, these aren't lord of the Rings type conversions. (Ex De looks best of the five and has suffered some subtle editing, removing many references to the Koran) this has been covered on many be forums already, so I won't bore anyone with it, and the effect on the movie is none existent.
I certainly think Nick holds up well, even with its 80s mullets/sexism and casual racism.
And as two are directed by Andrew Davis (The Fugitive), in his beloved Chicago.
If you can find on BD for under a Tenner well worth seeking out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I seriously feel there should be some minimum standard of up-gradation for any film before it is allowed to be sold as Blu ray. What companies are doing to jump on to the Blu ray bandwagon, is to simple use old source material, copy it on Blu ray media and sell it, in an effort to make money - more money.

The moment this pack arrived, I immediately loaded Under Seige, since I had hoped to see a "noticeable" improvement over the DVD print that I still own and had bought many years ago, when even DVDs were in their infancy. To my utter amazement there is NO noticeable improvement. I have a Onkyo setup and a Sony 46 inch Bravia LED TV. Then I played both the Blu ray and DVD simultaneously - one in my DVD player and the other in the Blu ray player, switching back and forth from the Onkyo AV receiver/amplifier. Maybe an expert might be able to tell the difference - improvement in picture quality, but I certainly could not. This is also true for Nico, for I have its DVD as well!! I am also not sure where these Blu ray discs are manufactured, maybe even that has a role in the shabby conversion to Blu ray.

One usually purchases Blu ray discs with the hope that there will be a "noticeable" improvement in picture and sound quality. If film companies prefer not to spend money in getting movies released after having them digitally cleaned prior to selling them as Blu rays, then I feel there is no point in spending money buying them - DVDs are still cheaper!!

And, yes, Steven Seagal still continues to be my favourite actor even at his advancing age !!

As far as the packing is concerned, there is no reason to complain, although I somehow am NOT a fan of the bookcase style of packing because it is difficult to try and close the case in a hurry. To cut a long (disappointing) story short, if you have these movies on DVD, DO NOT even think of up-grading to Blu ray since there is no improvement and therefore don't waste money.
55 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
Two amarays packed in one paper cover. Just one would be better but even like this it looks better than 5x thick case wrapped in paper :). So... OK. Not superb but OK. The same it is with discs inside. They are not designed as collection. "Above the law" has significantly different design and it looks simply disturbing. Else is fine. All discs with English subtitles (what I like) so not regretting at all :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)