Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2017
Brought this for a pressie very pleased and gladly so were they
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Prompt delivery. Love this box set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 December 2012
I could write a whole book on these 15 musicals. I could not make a precis as excellent as the product review in shorter words. What we have here are is a concise and representative top-notch selection of musical wonderland. Listing:
1) 42nd Street (worth the price alone).
2) Meet Me In St Louis.
3) Easter Parade.
4) Annie Get Your Gun.
5) On Moonlight Bay.
6) April In Paris.
7) Singing In the Rain.
8) Calamity Jane.
9) By The Light Of The Silvery Moon.
10)Love Me Or Leave Me.
11)The Band Wagon .
12)Star is Born.
13)Seven Brides For Seven Brothers.
14)High Society.
15)Gypsy.

The stars include Judy Garland, Gene Kelly, Doris Day, Howard Keel, Betty Hutton, Debbie Reynolds, Cyd Charisse, James Mason, James Cagney, Natalie Wood, Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra.

The films are all classic 5 star ratings along with the performers and production. The price is a real giveaway. I have paid as much for one of these. The sound and visuals are first class. Get in there while you can. This is a real steal for the money with hours of entertainment. A gift, maybe, but also a personal joy.
66 Comments| 125 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Excellent gift for my very elderly Mother. She plays it and sings along to the tunes she loves.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Musicals are not to everyone's taste. But there surely can be little point in denying that for several decades they formed a major chunk of the budget and production schedules for many of the big Hollywood studios. And therein lies the problem for the uninitiated: there were so many of them filmed and inevitably standards varied massively. Where to begin if you just want to dip a toe in the water and take a casual interest? Well, this box-set certainly helps to some extent.

What do you get for your money? Fifteen musicals packaged in eight standard sized two-disk DVD cases, all housed in a big stiff box. No booklets, no liner notes, no explanations of why these fifteen musicals and what they have that makes them somehow 'special'. One of the musicals here - A Star is Born - is accompanied by a second disc of featurettes and trailers, but there's nothing in the packaging to indicate anything special for the others. But it is an official Warner Bros release and some of the musicals benefit from 5.1 audio, so maybe they've all been cleaned up and revamped digitally - the failure to tell us makes me think probably not! All that said, very many people don't want anything more than being able to sit back and watch the main feature, which is perfectly understandable and very well catered for here.

I said it was a Warner Bros release, which it is, but there are musicals here from other studios too. Probably as a result of the involvement of Turner Entertainment, we benefit here from a decent selection featuring a good spread of the big name star performers from the golden years:

42nd Street;
Meet Me in St. Louis;
Easter Parade;
Annie Get Your Gun;
On Moonlight Bay;
April in Paris;
Singin' in the Rain;
Calamity Jane;
By the Light of the Silvery Moon;
The Band Wagon;
A Star is Born;
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers;
Love Me or Leave Me;
High Society;
Gypsy.

Clearly musical devotees will already have strong familiarity with most if not all of these titles, but for newcomers it's a helpful gathering together of some material that has largely stood the test of time well. You certainly shouldn't see it as attempting to be a 'best of' selection though, which would have to consider many titles not here (e.g. West Side Story; Wizard of Oz; Grease; Rocky Horror Picture Show; Evita; All That Jazz; The Sound of Music; Yankee Doodle Dandy; An American in Paris; to name just a few). So long as you don't crave all the extra trinkets that come with some box-sets, this is certainly worth having. Recommended.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Wonderful musicals with outstanding actors - real stars: Judy Garland, Doris Day, Jane Powell,Mary Wickes, Cyd Charisse, Grace Kelly, Fred Astaire, Howard Keel, Gene Kelly, just to name a few. Each different but so great, with subtitles and some with very interesting special features. I wish you would have more such specials like this for 2 region.
Only "Seven brides for seven brothers " cinema screen-small screen we didin't enjoyed as well as others.
But I highly recomennded.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Excellent value box set - no duds, all cracking films featuring some of the most talented musical performers we will ever see, Worth the price for half the films never mind the rest. Buy it and prepare to spend some afternoons doing not very much at all. :)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I have been trying to source both 'Moonlight Bay' and 'By the Light of the Silvery Moon' DVDs, which have been difficult to find and also very expensive and would have cost me well over the price I paid for this boxed set! Not only do I get the two DVDs I wanted but also got lots moe wonderful musicals too! Excellent value for the money.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Very happy with my purchase and the service I received. I have been looking for these old time favourites for a while and I am very pleased to have them all in one lovely box.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)