Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Sinister [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 November 2017
I enjoyed ‘Sinister 2’ so made the move to watch its prequel – to find I’d actually seen it before and had forgotten. I’m not sure what that says about me or the film. It doesn’t avoid what the sequel managed to avoid – the curse of the bratty kid. In fact, both children belonging to Ethan Hawke’s Ellison Oswalt are pretty obnoxious at times. As Bad Things happen, the children become more precocious. This is a difficult problem, and one that can actually ruin a film for me. Troubled children don’t have to be petulant, do they? Luckily, they don’t go on to play a huge part in the story.

Earning him the chagrin of the local constabulary, Oswalt moves into the house where previously, gruesome murders have taken place. Unfortunately, his wife and offspring are not told about this history. He has moved himself and the family here so he can research the horrific incidents for a book he is writing. He also finds an ally in Deputy ‘So & So’ (James Ransone), who is the one cast member to appear in the sequel.

‘Sinister’ is a fairly routine haunted house horror a couple of notches above the usual ‘family in peril’ fare, lifted by the performances of Hawke and Juliet Rylance as his English-but-American-speaking wife Tracy. It is somewhat overlong and slow-moving, but I don’t really have a problem with that. Oswalt trips down the familiar path of encroaching obsession and insanity, a descent sprinkled with the occasional ghost-faced child. The main villain, the gothic and spectral Bughuul, makes a fleeting appearance and is pretty menacing, making me wonder why the character isn’t used more.

I actually prefer the sequel. The production seems tighter and less traditional, as recompense for a lack of a ‘name’ lead. Both films have notable musical soundtracks; this deliciously dark OST is by Christopher Young.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2017
The soundtrack and cinematography make for quite scary atmosphere most of the time. The story has been seen a illion times, but it's unfolded in a decent way. The actors are incredibly good, although the wife is so obvious a British theater actress it was distracting a few times (sometimes it is possible to put too much emotion into a scene).
It made me jump a few times and even scream in anothers. And I am very used to horror movies, so overall I'd recommend it for some popcorn night of spookiness.
Again, the soundtrack is just sublime... it gave me the creeps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2016
A word of warning don't watch this late at night and on your own other wise your nerves will be torn to shreds .
Many modern horror films have relied on blood and guts with very little story and usually unknown bad actors who go round screaming and going upstairs or in cellars when common sense says don't ,not so Sinister the acting is superb Ethan Hawke is on screen most of the time and holds the film together and you do not get bored as you follow him unravelling the movie clips he finds, that's all I will say about the story needless to say it has moments of sheer terror
If you have surround sound be prepared for sounds coming from every speaker and don't hold any hot drinks as when you jump and I say ''When not If ''you could quite easily scold your self .
To sum up a rare genuinely scary film with excellent acting from all taking part not to be missed and at around three pounds why should you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2015
Finally a great new horror movie and the creation of a true horror character! It's been a long time since there was any original horror movie but this is up there, is it a little bit slow at times? Yes to somer. But I felt the tone of the movie is fantastic, a family with issues, a character with his problems and all this works to make you think.

The acting throughout is good, Ethan hawke does well at showing the character progress deeper and darker as the movie goes. It provided us with a few jumps and unexpected moments which we thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2014
I watched this alone, in the dark on my laptop with my ear phones and there are some jumpy bits that freaked me out at times in this dark supernatural chiller. This follows the story of Ethan Hawkes character as the lead who writes about Murders and he moves into a house that has been the subject of some bizarre murders, but unbeknownst to his wife and kids he begins to unravel some bad news for him and his family. The ending is a shocker, but I expected it in a way.

All in all, if you love these types of horror movies then this is for you, but if you are planning to watch this alone and you are afraid of horror movies then make sure you watch this with someone, because there are some moments when you may need to change your pants.

5 stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2015
I have seen a LOT of "horror" films, from the much regurgitated slashers from Halloween/Friday 13th onwards, to old classic Hammer stuff that I loved as a kid, to more modern "torture porn" a la Hostel and so on. Enjoy all sorts of different things but am rarely spooked. Sinister is genuinely spooky, the concept heavily involving children which is a good start and the whole plot takes you on an interesting ride as it unfolds, and the last few minutes wonderfully wrap the whole thing up. No spoilers from me, just take it from me it's original and beautifully made. Not scary as such if you're an experienced horror fan but an excellent suspenseful tale! Go get it and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
A very well-written movie with some good acting, particularly from Ethan Hawke who delivers his character's selfishness, arrogance and increasing fear and horror brilliantly. The plot is pretty basic with an easily guessed twist but that's not the real surprise - the surprise (and the movie's strong point, imo) is the way it delivers that plot with an almost old-fashioned found-footage element and a POV that works really, really well. It has a few jump scares but it doesn't rely on them...instead, the real terror is hidden in some truly disturbing imagery with surprisingly minimal gore. I can't say I was ever truly terrified - although the film leaves you with a faint anxious feeling in your stomach - but it was a refreshing look at a pretty tired genre and a step beyond the 'same old, same old'. All in all, I really enjoyed this and would definitely recommend watching it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
A very disturbing movie that is quite chilling to watch, the home movies in the film sent shivers down my spine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2015
I hadn't heard about this film and came across it by accident, what a find, it is brilliant. Slow at the start but that only serves to build the tension. I love films when there is something just in the background, or it catches you off guard and this film does that. An excellent film and I didn't see the ending coming at all, just brilliant. Hope Sinister 2 lives up to this film. One to watch again even when you know the twist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2014
This film was pretty scary and films don't scare me but the films that are viewed are so horrific and disturbing it gets to you, i wont go into to much detail and give to much away but this film is a must see if you want a good scare. It has a scary atmosphere and music as well which was bang on, this is a chilling and at times very disturbing movie. Ethan Hawke done a great job in this movie, i highly recommend this, i sure hope Sinister 2 is as good as this the trailer looks promising though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)