Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
415
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

From watching the trailer, I got a slight understanding of the film; guy has no friends when he starts his first year in high school and struggles to make them also, he then finally meets some nice people who befriend him, which to one he falls in love with.

Whilst the base of the story is just as I had predicted, the film as a whole was so much more.

Charlie who is the main character is extremely socially awkward, and you get hints close to the beginning that something in his past had caused him to be this way, eventually you start finding out Charlie has a very deep story in the past which is gradually explained through as the film goes on by flash-backs, you will eventually find out why he is the person he is today, this combined with the journey through his first year with his new friends who also have different personal issues makes this film an emotional roller-coaster.

I don't want to ruin the story for those who haven't seen it, so I'm not going to go into further detail.

On a final note, I do want to point out that the cast for this film was perfect, they were all brilliant at their roles and made the film very believable. I also want to say Emma Watson did an especially good job at portraying her character 'Sam'. As she's widely recognised for playing Hermione from the Harry Potter films, it must have been hard for her to shake off that image that has been imprinted into peoples minds throughout these years, which she has done so brilliantly in this film, this shows how good she is of an actress.

I would highly recommend this film for those who enjoy drama/romantic based films and I certainly will be buying this film when it comes out on DVD/Blu-ray.
0Comment| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
I saw this at the cinema recently and it was absolutely amazing! I can't wait until it becomes available for DVD. After loving the film so much I decided to go ahead and order the book, I'm reading it now and it's just as enjoyable. Truly amazing story that touches you on so many levels, it really pulls on your heart strings. Everything about it I loved, the acting, the storyline, the music. In the book, Charlie mentions that he likes to come out of the cinema and feel like the movie changed you in some way, you feel different - this film absolutely did that for me! A MUST BUY. And Emma Watson is simply lovely, but that didn't surprise me.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
A brilliant, beautiful, inspiring movie, not just another high school movie like I thought.
a loner Charlie (Logan Lerman)looks on with trepidation of several years of high school when he starts out as a freshman , but i s taking under the wings of two seniors, the beautiful and irrepressible Sam (Emma Watson) and the gay wit Patrick (Ezra Miller) and becomes part of their crowd after he engages in some witty repoirt after eating a brownie laced with cannabis.
Soon he discovers the joys and heartache of teenage life, while struggling with the suicide of his best friend and the ghosts of his past.
All the actors are amazing, with of course Emma Watson shining as the free spirited Sam.
I came away definitely with something from this movie , basically that everyone deserves, through the moments of struggle and pain, to feel alive, and to really reach a stage where one lives life.
Great 80's music and feel.
This movie is set in 1991 and we can see this from the lack of cellphones and computers, and the use of cassette tapes
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Purchased for a family member and altough not my type of film after watching with them I have to say for its genre its very good and if you enjoy this type of movie im certain you will love every angst ridden minute.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Wow, what a film.

I wasn't sure at first if I would be able to get into it, but then everything clicked. The main character, Charlie, isn't very good at engaging with people. Being just about to start high school, this is of course an issue. There are lots of hints about things unspoken, but the very fact of his awkwardness, his frankness, causes him to try and avoid being noticed.

It's those characteristics make him endearing, and as the story progresses, and the central cast... His family and friends, who are his family as well in his vulnerability and openness, grows with him. it's touching, funny, sad and yet, ultimately uplifting. The main cast did so well, and I can't understand why I hadn't watched this film until now!

I can't recommend it enough, really. Next is the book, and probably the film again.... Maybe a couple more times...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Coming of Age films are getting lazier and lazier these days with too much focus being made on fashion, comedy and very little substance to amuse the masses, but I have to say, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" managed to escape all those traps quite successfully. An absolutely fantastic film that touches you and gives you the power to just see the beauty of life, love and friendship.

The story follows fifteen year old Charlie who is starting high school, an introverted loner who has recently lost his best friend to suicide and is coping with various inner demons that he has not been able to properly process since the age of seven. Charlie's eyes are opened to a whole new way of life when he meets extroverted outsiders Patrick and Sam, a pair of seniors, who take pity on his loneliness and bring him into their circle of friends who are due to graduate within the year.

Charlie is left open to many new experiences, mostly sitting on the sidelines as he watches his new friends live out their final year of high school. For Charlie, his new friends open up a whole new world of complications, impossible romances, and planning for a life of infinite possibilities, which may lead to unlocking key memories about his past which have previously been blacked out from his mind, may help him understand things that still haunt him about his childhood.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Perhaps slightly over praised on release this coming of age film set presumably in the 1980s, still packs an emotional wallop.

The acting from the three main leads is spot on, though Ezra Miller is the stand out. Similarly the supporting cast are just as appealing.

Nina Dobrev, who was trying to transition into movies does what she can with her limited screen time, there is a whole story involving her character which is cut out due to politics which would have added a layer of depth to both her character and Logan Lerman's character's relationship.

In th end a slightly odd coming of age film which is highly enjoyable and one you can genuinely watch on repeat without cringing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
We know the heroine of Harry Potter, miss Granger.
Known for her very strong loyal attachment unwilling to betray someone.
Good Character played . Recommended to lovers of Emma Watson
Emma Charlotte D Watson, she is here and draws attention by her exquisite
and delightful face (watch that episode in here) where she might be the wall flower or is it her boyfriend?
Better than the USA LOL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This has got one of the best movies of the year. PoBaW (let's just call it Perks) is simply a masterpiece. The acting is beyond great (Lerman had a scene that defined his whole career basically, and Miller proves once more to be a fresh young talent, playing a both funny and touching character)

Perks might not be everyone's cup of tea, but I must admit I saw myself on a lot of Charlie's life, and some of the self-reflections throughout the movie (specially the last one) were nothing but sublime.

I do have a perk with Perks, it's the fact that we hold have gotten more of Emma Watson and Ezra Miller, and also the fact that the Rocky Horror scenes should've been explained better. I saw it with a friend and the minute it popped on screen, she literally yelled something in the likes of WTF. Another scene that should've been made better were the tunnel scenes. They had so much but lacked a lot too.

All of the themes, so controversial, were very well dealt with. From drugs to sex, to mental disturbia, I just know this is what makes Perks get its 12 rating.

The timely contextualization and the multiple stories are well intertwined, and the soundtrack couldn't have been chosen better. Heroes by David Bowie was the perfect choice for the movie's core.

This movie might appeal more to teenagers because of actors like Watson, Lerman and Dobrev (without even talking about the movie's theme) but believe me when I say older ones should see it too. If you're a fan of the book, no worries. From what I have witnessed Perks is very faithful to the original source.

Although not perfect, Perks is a wonderful movie that I cannot recommend more. Now to see Silver Linings Playbook!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 January 2016
Sometimes a film comes along which has the power to move you so much, one which can charm you and make you laugh, one that effortlessly ensures that you really become involved in the lives of the characters, all of whom you'd seriously love to be friends with in real life, and leaves you feeing warm and uplifted after watching it. 2012's coming-of-age adventure 'The Perks of Being A Wallflower' is one such film which does all of this, and is unquestionably the best I've seen in a very long time.

As someone who has suffered with social anxiety for the past four years, and only now am I starting to feel on the road to recovery, how I can relate to the main character, the 'wallflower' Charlie (Logan Freeman) who moves into his first year of high school, and has difficulty in communicating with people. He's an intelligent individual, as hiss English teacher soon realises, but because he struggles to 'connect' with others, he has no friends, until he meets two seniors, Sam (Emma Watson), and her stepbrother Patrick (Ezra Miller), at a football game. These colourful characters kindly take the shy young man under their wing, introduce him to their other buddies, and take him to his first ever party.

It isn't long before Charlie begins, for the first ever, to fit in with a group of people who care for him. He makes his new found buddies laugh, and in a truly moving scene, receives his first kiss from Sam, a girl of whom he shares a lot of common ground with. Suddenly, a world different world has been opened up to him, and lots of new experiences await Charlie.

'The Perks of Being a Wallflower' makes a mockery of all the samey trash that the coming-of-age genre has spawned, and is a film to be enjoyed by people of both sexes, of all ages. I have to say, this is a pretty faultless movie all around, with fantastic performances from all three leads, and a cool indie soundtrack which includes hits by Sonic Youth, David Bowie, New Order and Morrissey.

The DVD contains a wealth of bonus features, including audio commentaries with the writer/director Stephen Chbosky and the cast, and deleted scenes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)