Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
485
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2012
I didn't know what to expect when I first heard of this film and when I finally seen it I was pleasantly surprised; its a pretty average film but an enjoyable one none the less. The so called heroes of the film are nothing but vicious thugs who rule over the hillbillies with pure fear until threatened by city-folk in the form of Guy Pearce. They're not really fighting for whats right, they just don't like to pay any tax. Violent in some places but I found it to be reminiscent of the A-Team TV show (watch and you'll know). I couldn't stop laughing at the end, I think they wanted it that way because it is kinda of a comedic set up.

On the performance front Shia LeBeouf is in it so there you go. Tom Hardy is excellent as Forrest while Gary Oldman is in no way part of this film at all. If you seen the trailers in any way you might think he is but he is not; he does however make a good cameo appearance. Guy Pearce is awesome as the evil city cop but is not nearly as evil as the heroes of the film.

Worth a look but this film is average at best, it never really takes off kinda stuck between a drama and an all out action film with some comedic moments. 'I thought I walked'-brilliant and of course the ending. I would see this film again just for the ending-I could not stop laughing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Great film , worth 110 mins of your life . A bit gruesome but true to the era !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Great films which has a lot of blood and starring Shia Labouf and Tom Hardy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
This is certainly one of the best films of 2012 and a great 2013 bluray release with plenty of extra bonus features telling the true story behind the film! This is one quality gangster flick from start to finish with a great story backed up by a powerful cast, Tom hardy, Guy Pearce, Shia Labeouf and Gary Oldman are all impressively at their best and it's electric to watch them together!! There is plenty of bloody violence to sink your teeth into, overall its brutal fun and very entertaining and a must see, the bluray version picture is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2016
A good film and story. Even my wife who hates gangster films enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Well acted film, shows how the law wasn't always lawful in those times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Good value for money and would definitely shop again. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
i bought the DVD for my father who likes this type of stuff,but having a liking for the period of 1920-30s American history and that time,i watched it myself.it charts the events of a family of brothers who make and sell moonshine whiskey during the prohibition.plenty of gun play and brooding menace in the lead characters plus a perfect part for tom hardy who fills this role with his deep south drawl perfectly.recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
Fantastic movie, best performance was by Tom Hardy. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
An incredible film, Tom Hardy was outstanding and this has to be his best work to date. The story is even better because it is based on something that really happened. Mr Lebeouf was very good and supported the main role with professionalism and talent. A recommended watch, not for the young 'uns, as its very bloody, but its a true story, this sort of thing happened all the time back in that day. Worth a watch!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)