Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2016
Good album and as usual with Lee, there are excellent musicians included. "River Man" is a beatiful and even spiritual tune with beatiful lyrics and great singer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
I was at a Lee Ritenour consert in my home town, Haugesund in Norway in the summer of 2011. The consert was great. But I miss more up-tempo song on this album. The musicans a great as always and so is the sound. I will recomand the album for everyone who loves a mix of jazz and rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
The major disappointment with this version of Lee Ritenour's Rhythm Sessions in the Compact Disc format is that it only has 12 tracks but there is Rhythm Sessions(Deluxe Edition)available that has 15 tracks.
Three tracks equivalent to 20% of the Rhythm Sessions for some reason have been removed / held back to be available on iTunes or for mp3 download on Amazon.com.

The three missing instrumental tracks are 13. TransAtlantic (Time 4:50), 14. Cycles (Time 5:47) and 15. Walk Talk Occupy (Time 5:52). Needless to say you can hear samples of these songs on iTunes if you have it or on Amazon.com's mp3 section - see the Amazon link below.
http://www.amazon.com/Rhythm-Sessions-Deluxe-Edition/dp/B0098WW3F6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1354387211&sr=8-2&keywords=lee+ritenour+rhythm+sessions.

I would have preferred that the two vocal tracks were removed and replaced with two of these instrumental tracks. After all I want to hear and enjoy Lee playing guitar not to listen to some unknown vocalists singing (Unknown to me that is).
I have also found a version of the Rhythm Sessions CD available in Japan that contains all 15 tracks and comes with a DVD of the making of Rhythm Sessions.

Although this is no fault of Amazon Europe, it is very annoying not to be offered the opportunity to buy the Deluxe Edition in the superior audio format of Compact Disc.
What have the majority of Lee Ritenour's fan base in the UK and Europe, owners of CD players and HiFi systems done to deserve this kind of treatment?
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
As always Lee Ritenour shows what a sublime guitarist he is . If you are already a fan and have his other albums then you wont be disappointed .If not then this is well worth buying , the recording is excellent especially on a good system. I'll not bore you with an in depth track by track review, just listen and enjoy! Keep up the good work Lee.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
A great album I am a guitarist and would recommend Lee Ritenour to other musicians and to listeners who
love good rhythums!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
The best thing Lee Ritenour has done in many a year - a hark back to his earlier days, but with a very modern production. Certainly can't argue with the personal brought in - Stanley Clarke, the late, great George Duke, Chick Corea, Marcus Miller, to name but a few. There is certainly a very funky slant to everything, but not in the typical 'smooth' jazz mould, the standard of playing is higher, and there is more bite to the whole affair. Lee even brings back his fuzz box for a few tracks!
The acid test is, did I enjoy listening to it - the answer is a big yes. If you like jazz-funk, you mostly likely will too.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
Probably this is the best Ritenour album,the musicians are all at the top in this business and the songs are full of soul .
We need more of this HOMO SAPIENS music ,there is too much garbage for primitive neanderthalians out there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
This is potentially the best introduction to the talent of Lee Ritenour. I have all of Lee's albums and if your appetite is whetted check out Colour Rit, Stolen Moments (pure jazz) and Crosstown Kids with Larry Carlton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Outstanding album. One of his best, not quite up there with "Larry and Lee" hence the four stars. Wonderful version of Nick Drake's "Riverman"

Worth mentioning that the quality of the recording is fabulous and has a rich and deep sound stage akin to vinyl. I still find CD very fatiguing as a listening experience. This CD I can listen to all night. Its an exception to the rule. The price you pay for having Naim Audio amps - they are unforgiving. I rue the day I sold my Linn Sondeck turntable, this CD reminds me of happy days listening hour after hour to vinyl.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Once again Mr. Ritenour speaks with his guitar.
It's a very good album, not very original to be honest, anyway it's a not to miss album ... oh, album, how vintage am I?
A good choice even if I prefear his last "GRP" period and the "ie music" period, but it's just my opinion.
Matteo
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£60.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)