Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
The Mablethorpe Connection
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.49

on 6 September 2014
This is probably the best book I’ve ever read. Apart from the entire Flashman series, the Harry Potters and The Hungry Caterpillar. The characters leap out of every page with breath taking realism. Who hasn’t met an alcoholic detective or an arcade owner who’s into animal porn? Perry’s research is second to none; his description of the Falklands conflict is uncanny. If I didn’t know that he was too young to have been there himself I’d swear he was a veteran; that’s how realistic he is when he writes about it. This novel (and it is a novel) pisses all over Sherlock Holmes and Cadfael, and any other ‘detectives’ you can think of. This is the real deal in hard, gritty 3D. Well 2D really what with it being a book (well not really a ‘book’ in terms of paper and that) but you know what I mean. Perry knows his onions. And, quite clearly, his breakfasts, classic rock albums and he has an astounding insight into self-loathing and alcoholism. And 80s top shelf porn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2012
Fast-moving, preposterous and compelling in equal amounts, Perry's debut delivers on the reputation he has built up as a cartoonist and commentator, creating a wholly new British detective hero who doesn't just tick the crime novel boxes - he drives his Lagonda right through them. Doubtless other authors will rush to take advantage of Perry's genre-defining breakthrough, so although there's bound to be a slew of stories based in the murky world of Holiday Crime, this is the original and best. Don't wait for the movie - buy this book today. And a Kindle. Mine's now flecked with bits of laughter-spit.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2012
The creator of Detective Inspector Snake Wolfbane of the Mabelthorpe Holiday Police is the reason I am going to shortly die from a combination of cholesterol poisoning (exquisitely written descriptions of Mabelthorpe's panoply of fried breakfasts inspiring a constant diet of eggs'n'pig flaps) and lack of oxygen (laughing so much at the travails of the Lincolnshire Jack Regan at the hands of vampires, cannibals, deep-freeze kingpins and the cream of the 1980s light entertainment establishment that I clear forgot to breathe).

This book is funny, filthy, frenetic, fantastical and Finnish. It will do for Mabelthorpe what Robert Rankin did for Brentford. Also, it's not Finnish.

I've just eaten a Cadbury's Fudge.

BP Perry is a monster.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2012
Always a joy to look at, listen and read Mr. Perry's work, and a full novel from him is a wonderful treat.
There is also an added bonus that the author has neglected to mention. If you don't have a kindle, and have to download the PC version, you also get 3 free books- Aesop's Fables, Pride & Predudice and Treasure Island, and although these are obviously nowhere near the same high quality as the Mablethorpe Connection, I will still give these lesser known authors a go, even if they are trying jump on the coattails of better, more experienced writers to promote their wares.
Big Thanks.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2012
Snake Wolfbane is the best observed 1970s throwback spoof copper I've ever encountered, and I watched all of Life on Mars on the telly. The book is peppered with laugh out loud moments and brilliant references to non-list celebs of the late 70s and early 80s, the Grumbleweeds, Wee Jimmie Krankie etc. And as far as it captures life in a sleepy, decaying seaside resort brilliantly: crap social clubs, inept local papers...it's like Phoenix Nights meets Z Cars.

It's also pleasingly mental and quite surreal, and I like that sort of thing. You should buy it and things.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2014
A very strange but funny, in some parts very very funny, read that is worth the outlay. Is there a sequel in the offing??
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2013
I'd give old B P Perry a five book deal if I was a publisher. Unfortunately I'm not, I'm just a middle aged man who sits lounging about in his pants reading funny books all day.

A very very funny read though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2012
I've followed the amusing illustrations of author B P Perry for some time now, so I know he's a man capable of raising a few titters. But he's blown the roof off my titterbox with this thing... If you like laughing and reading books that aren't made of paper, then get on with it and buy the ruddy thing!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2012
I'd love to find some way to be all funny and witty and edgy about this, but the bottom line is this is an excellent and funny book and you should pick it up. For less than the price of a tuna sandwich (in my work anyway - daylight robbery) you can pick up this chronicle of copper, this parchment of police, this written wrecord of wrozzer excellence.

Mister Perry is a talented man. I just wish I had a real-life Chips Monroe to watch my back in dangerous situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2012
As a writer, B P Perry is a pretty good cartoonist.

"Voice of a generation" is a tag that is given out far too easily. He's definitely the voice of grizzled detectives from the Lincolnshire coastline.

Will that do?
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here