Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2012
One thing you get pissed off at the start is opening and user unfriendly box. Hoped not made in China though relase date delay might have resulted from it. I got first crushed contra Cream then Jack Bruce mania and Ginger Baker. I tried to investigate in the mid 90s Graham stuff with no result. First was great cd release LIVE at klooks kleek. Then I got a copy of copied LP Sound 65 and There is bond. Then bootleg with copied singles (great one). I got a chance later to acquire LP Mighty bond and Crossroads with extra compilation Bond in America. Recently on dustygroove encountered great 33 single with Bond and british jazzmen as well as their LP with Bond on sax. In between all Ginger Baker Airforce and Jack Bruce live releases from 1971 plus Pete Brown 2 heads better then 1 and Dick Heckstall-Smith story ended. Well I thought I was in it but the release of 4 cd box wade in the water is a shock therapy. Just great. Beware no way to copy in itunes as no track names so fighting with a package is a must. I bought 2 copies just in case I break one. Logical with chinease quality. Bond is great - imagine Jack and Ginger listening to it now. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
For anyone who has any liking of Graham Bond this is a "Can't miss" item. It's just a fantastic chunk of this Brilliant musicians life and work. Even if you are unsure of this package I can assure you of the solid rocking Music that this guy put together. Plus the legendary co band members who are also brilliant. If you don't know the band this is a good place to start as you get so much in one place for incredible value for Money. Buy it, sit down when you have a quiet moment and let the band entertain you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
This album showcases the imense talent of Graham Bond, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker and Dick Heckstall Smith that influenced so many artists of the 60s and 70s..
Excellent packaging and superb notes and photographs.
Highly recoommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
A superb long awaited release. Due mainly to the efforts of Pete Brown this long long overdue compilation of tracks by one of the greatest innovators of jazz/rock. What a tragedy was Graham Bond's loss.
He really was years ahead of his time, and one wonders what a musician of his quality would have been producing now. This release is a fitting epitaph to one our greatest and lamented musicians. Many many thanks to Pete Brown and the others who made this release possible.Thank You.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
a fantastic obviously lovingly put together compilation for a band that only ever had two albums released i was always aware there was other stuff out there and indeed had made up my own compilation of the decca recordings.
this set rounds up everything and presents it in great quality considering the age,i cannot recomend it too highly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
If you a serious collector or fan of British expansion,don`t avoid this important band.What`s more shelved in the archives?Something more from Hiseman`s period as a sideman or ultra rare recordings from Graham Bond Initiation`s,I don`t know.
For various reasons,it`s not totally complete-for copyright reasons,full accessibility to the recordings of the third GBO line-up. Still unsaid!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
A highly talented and under rated muscian its a pity he died so young this collection will hopefully go to someway to restore his reputation ; the fact that he had two thirds of cream in is group shows what a talent he was not to forget dick heckstallsmith another great loss
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 January 2013
98 tracks most of which is new to CD or newly remixed and to CD, this set is pretty much the complete Graham Bond Organisation with Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker (you will need `A Solid Bond' for 6 Missing GBO tracks and the Jack Bruce Box set for his missing singles both available on Amazon), and while being a fan of Cream, I think this music is much better than anything Cream ever did, Graham Bond playing Sax and Organ rather than EC's guitar.
The music is in the early Blues Jazz vein, as always very well played; if anything Ginger Bakers drumming is quite restrained. On one of the sessions at the end of disc one it sounds Jack Bruce had either a cold or a heavy night as the vocals are a bit strained, but all the more fascinating for it. As are the 7 different versions of the title song `Wade in the water' all differing version 3 would not sound out of place on a Halloween collection.
The packaging is excellent with the discs clipped into place overlapping as is the norm for this kind of set nowadays. The booklet is well written and the songs properly annotated down to sessions and musicians and dates. The book and discs are then held in a substantial cardboard slipcase.
This is pretty much how a 4 disc set should be made and for the price excellent value. Highly recommended
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Fantastic collection that will be prized by Graham Bond collectors or anyone with an interest in the 60's R&B Club scene. However on opening the impressive looking packaging I was dismayed to find that the 'figure of 8' style clip in disc holders are woefully inadequate as well as fiddly. This has resulted in discs sliding around loose inside causing multiple scuffs and scratches. A real shame to what is otherwise great release.
44 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Wonderful job by Pete Brown in putting a comprehensive collection of the GBO. Too bad some of the Jon Hiseman era stuff had to be left out. All in all, a great set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse