Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2012
This album has the Neal Morse trademark plastered all over it, so if you like what has gone before you will love this. I'm not one who dwells too much on production but what strikes me is the clarity of performance throughout the album with each musician in top form. Has Mike Portnoy played better? A flick through the special edition DVD highlights just how much each contributed to the whole process and all squeezed into a limited time for recording.Perhaps that, more than anything explains the freshness and vitality. As for individual tracks, five relatively short tracks by Neal's standards culminates in one mega long piece stretching out over 33 minutes. Each track takes the listener on a prog journey showcasing power ballads, softer moments and intricate instrumental sections. The songs compliment each other and they all stand out with nothing that can be construed as a filler. If, like me, you enjoy the whole experience of listening to music that inspires and moves in equal measure then check this album out and next time you want an uplift on a cold dreary Monday morning put the title track on and suddenly things will feel a whole lot better!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
This was the first Neal Morse studio cd I bought. I liked track 2 Thoughts Part 5 and track 6 World Without End (at a whopping 33.39). Having said that, his live DVDs on the other hand are truly amazing. I suppose I was slightly disappointed by this CD. I found the DVD that went with it (the making of Momentum) was also disappointing but only because I was expecting it to a concert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
After rising to fame with prog-supergroup Transatlantic Neal Morse had put out a string of Christian-influenced solo-albums. Both epic progworks and specific worship records.

On this 2012 offering it seems as if everything has come together for the enigmatic and charismatic artist. Combining shorter more melodic songs with the odd metres and virtuosity connected with the prog genre. A real stand out is "Freak" with its unconventional lyrics - could the freak u look down at be Jesus Christ? - and "Eleanor Rigby" influenced strings. Rounding out the album with a 33 min. suite that might be Neal's best effort in the genre.

More melodic than his previous albums and a lot less focused on 'guilt' and 'sin' this is no doubt his strongest record ever. And ofc the musicianship is stellar with long time partners Mike Portnoy and Randy George being a sublime rhythm section and with Paul Gilbert - with whom Neal plays in the magnificent Beatles-tribute Yellow Matter CustardOne Night In New York City - laying down some 6-string magic.

With another "Cover To Cover" album and the magnificent Flying Colors this has been a most rewarding year for Neal Morse and his fans!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
This is a really good album, no wonder SB wanted him back to co-write.

Highlights include

Thoughts Part V
Freak
World Without end

Fantastic album, the DVD that came with it was a weclome edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I got the bonus edition of this album with the DVD which is a very worthwhile pick up if you can get it.

This is simply fantastic Prog Music. Why i have not discovered Spock's Beard, Portnoy and Morse before the last 3 years I will never know, a must own for fans of modern Prog.

Portnoy, George & Morse, if you are reading this - you are complete legends, thanks for the music!

Tom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Neal Morse, what more do you really need to say.
Everything that this man touches turns into something that is entirely listenable and extremeley enjoyable. This latest opus is no exception.
My first dealings with the chap were with Spocks Beard and Transatlantic, as an aside if you have not explored their material do not delay invest immediately.
This is my first sojourn into the N. Morse solo output, if you can call it that as his main cohort and apparent side kick, the wonderful Mike Portnoy is again in tow.
I am sure these two must have a finger in the output of almost every thing that appears under the umbrella and I hate to use the description "Prog Rawk". Please do not let that label put you off into a flat spin. This is probably as good as it gets with all the left turn, two steps up, 23 back, 15 to the side changes in tempo and melody. The machine gun fire of Monsewer Portnoy is as you would expect, faultless and a great punctuation within the music, always crisp and precise.
Having attempted to become a passable guitarist over the past 40 years and still trying hard, it would make you want to spit, (in the nicest possible sense) when you hear the complete virtuosity of the Morse ability whether it be keyboard or string based. Genius.
I refuse to single out any tracks above others, just have a listen and enjoy.
77 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
After listening to this new masterpiece, I'm quite sure: Neal Morse is the greatest living (musical) artist on planet Earth! I may not agree with his religious philosophy, but that doesn't matter. As a composer, a singer, guitarplayer and keyboardplayer he is unequalled. His epics (in this case World without End) are phenomenal, to be compared with the best of the classical masters. I can only hope he'll continue to enjoy us with these rare pearls of sheer beauty!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Neal Morse's Christian beliefs are well known and his live performances border on the evangelical. What cant be denied is the man's musical talent or ability or his genuine love of the music he creates. Together with ex Theater drummer, Mike Portnoy, Morse continues to forge a prog pathway juggling any number of projects at one time. This latest cd sees him take a proven formula and make it work again. There are shorter more concise songs with enough widdly bits to keep fans happy, combined with a sense of melody and possibly for the first time an awareness of what might be acceptable on FM radio America. Go no further than the title track to hear all these elements as Morse hits you right in the face! At the other end of the prog spectrum, is the huge sprawling epic World Without End where not only is the kitchen sink included, but also the freezer, the washing machine and dish washer, figurativley speaking, of course! Enjoy!
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I first heard of Neal Morse a few years back when I bought an album of Spocks Beard from Amazon. I was very impressed with this band and bought a few more of their albums. Amazon then do that clever sales trick of ' well, if you liked that cd then you're gonna love these other 23 we recommend.' And I went for it. Next time buying Transatlantic ( Neal Morse ) , which I think is great, then Flying Colors which is excellent . To me this was just a steady progression to this new album from NM ( perhaps that what prog rock means ). I love it. And the DVD that comes with it. Another reason for buying it was that Paul Gilbert plays on the first track. So, yes I recommend it to all who enjoy this genre of music but listen to samples for yourself, never just buy a cd because of a review. I've bought stuff because of great reviews and been very disappointed. That's because we are all different, thank god.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
You know what you are getting with neal Morse. It's all reallyt great, fantastic playing by all concerned but it all sounds exectly the same as any of his other releases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.52

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)