Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2017
I've been a fan of Neal Morse since first discovering Spock's Beard in the nineties. Hearing the Beard for he first time was a revelation: here was a band unafraid to write, produce and perform progressive music at a time when the genre was still very much in the doldrums with rock's critics and writers. Morse's vocals reminded me so much of a throatier John Lennon and the idea of a singer sounding like one of my (late) idols fronting a prog rock outfit tickled me no end. Over the years I drifted away from both the Beard and Morse but still retained a fondness for both. Then, a while ago, I came across this album while browsing Amazon, as you do. To be honest, I bought this simply because it was cheaper than some of his other stuff and the reviews were, well, glowing. At around a fiver it was a no brainier. When it came I was blown away. Here was a CD that grabbed you by the throat from the start: a towering, stunning, monumental piece of work that is in equal parts hard, soft, electric, acoustic, choral, beautiful, melodious, inspiring and nigh on perfect. Everything just works: the chord sequences, the arrangements, the production, the creativity, the playing - my God, the playing is sublime - and, to top it off, Morse's voice. Apologies for the hyperbole but this CD really is that good. To think that a trio of Morse, drummer Mike Portnoy (of course) and bass player Randy George - plus various others - could produce such incredible music is amazing. Indeed, I would say that Momentum is one of the fines examples of prog rock I have ever heard. And that's saying something.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I got the bonus edition of this album with the DVD which is a very worthwhile pick up if you can get it. The DVD gives you insight into how the album was made.

This is simply fantastic Prog Music. Why i have not discovered Spock's Beard, Portnoy and Morse before the last 3 years I will never know, a must own for fans of modern Prog.

Portnoy, George & Morse, if you are reading this - you are complete legends, thanks for the music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
After listening to this new masterpiece, I'm quite sure: Neal Morse is the greatest living (musical) artist on planet Earth! I may not agree with his religious philosophy, but that doesn't matter. As a composer, a singer, guitarplayer and keyboardplayer he is unequalled. His epics (in this case World without End) are phenomenal, to be compared with the best of the classical masters. I can only hope he'll continue to enjoy us with these rare pearls of sheer beauty!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
This album has the Neal Morse trademark plastered all over it, so if you like what has gone before you will love this. I'm not one who dwells too much on production but what strikes me is the clarity of performance throughout the album with each musician in top form. Has Mike Portnoy played better? A flick through the special edition DVD highlights just how much each contributed to the whole process and all squeezed into a limited time for recording.Perhaps that, more than anything explains the freshness and vitality. As for individual tracks, five relatively short tracks by Neal's standards culminates in one mega long piece stretching out over 33 minutes. Each track takes the listener on a prog journey showcasing power ballads, softer moments and intricate instrumental sections. The songs compliment each other and they all stand out with nothing that can be construed as a filler. If, like me, you enjoy the whole experience of listening to music that inspires and moves in equal measure then check this album out and next time you want an uplift on a cold dreary Monday morning put the title track on and suddenly things will feel a whole lot better!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Neal Morse, what more do you really need to say.
Everything that this man touches turns into something that is entirely listenable and extremeley enjoyable. This latest opus is no exception.
My first dealings with the chap were with Spocks Beard and Transatlantic, as an aside if you have not explored their material do not delay invest immediately.
This is my first sojourn into the N. Morse solo output, if you can call it that as his main cohort and apparent side kick, the wonderful Mike Portnoy is again in tow.
I am sure these two must have a finger in the output of almost every thing that appears under the umbrella and I hate to use the description "Prog Rawk". Please do not let that label put you off into a flat spin. This is probably as good as it gets with all the left turn, two steps up, 23 back, 15 to the side changes in tempo and melody. The machine gun fire of Monsewer Portnoy is as you would expect, faultless and a great punctuation within the music, always crisp and precise.
Having attempted to become a passable guitarist over the past 40 years and still trying hard, it would make you want to spit, (in the nicest possible sense) when you hear the complete virtuosity of the Morse ability whether it be keyboard or string based. Genius.
I refuse to single out any tracks above others, just have a listen and enjoy.
77 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
This is a really good album, no wonder SB wanted him back to co-write.

Highlights include

Thoughts Part V
Freak
World Without end

Fantastic album, the DVD that came with it was a weclome edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
You know what you are getting with neal Morse. It's all reallyt great, fantastic playing by all concerned but it all sounds exectly the same as any of his other releases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Neil shows why he is one of the greates rock musicians of the present time...Transatlantic need to reform so that his skills can be appreciated by many more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Fantastic album as you would expect from Neil Morse. One of the finest progressive albums this year. Highly recommended purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Neal Morse's Christian beliefs are well known and his live performances border on the evangelical. What cant be denied is the man's musical talent or ability or his genuine love of the music he creates. Together with ex Theater drummer, Mike Portnoy, Morse continues to forge a prog pathway juggling any number of projects at one time. This latest cd sees him take a proven formula and make it work again. There are shorter more concise songs with enough widdly bits to keep fans happy, combined with a sense of melody and possibly for the first time an awareness of what might be acceptable on FM radio America. Go no further than the title track to hear all these elements as Morse hits you right in the face! At the other end of the prog spectrum, is the huge sprawling epic World Without End where not only is the kitchen sink included, but also the freezer, the washing machine and dish washer, figurativley speaking, of course! Enjoy!
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.63

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)