Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
78
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Abbie has decisions and demands. They are not easy to resolve. She is looking forward to a new life but is hampered by her eldest son Seb. He has decided to take a gap year before committing his future. Abbie, always gregarious, leaves one job for another, shirking her emotional ties with Mr Right. Her demanding mother is a thorn in that she is wheel-chair bound and a nag having been active. Much married and difficult, her mother's 4th husband, Hugo has died. Enter Hugo's son, Mr Smooth. 20 years without seeing him, he is a dashing, debonair and engaging television weatherman, Gabriel Ash. He turns Abbie's dreams upside down as he seems to have the rights and deeds to Hugo's homes and legacy and hence potential homelessness for Abbie. An easy,enjoyable read that is undemanding. Not much to think about apart from turning the pages and absorbing the humour of the plight Abbie finds herself in and her fight for survival.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
Took me awhile to get into this book and I nearly gave up on it 40 pages in. However, I am so glad that I persisted, because it's such a well rounded read. The characters are well developed and the author very successfully draws you into the story. A nice mix of humour, depth and romance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
The main character is Abbie whose Mother was famous so she took on the role of " mother" to her little sister Pru. It is quite a lot about of story about her mother Diana who looses her husband Hugo and his children own the house where they lived and they wish to sell it. Diana's mother left her when she was 4years old so she never understood how to be a Mum..There is more to the story than this but just dip into the pages and read more...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Nearly gave up on this book . Got second breath and gave it a chance thinking that if it didn't pick I would just give up. Glad I read on as it proved to be a good read after all. Once you managed to understand the mother / daughter relationship it opened the book up.
Reflected on the role reversal of an widowed mother and daughter . The struggles they have to face when the child grows into the role of being the carer. Taking over as temporary "parent" to misplaced mother. Both grown women able people in their own rights and able to manage their lives apart from each other. But due to unseen circumstances are thrown together. Having to face challenges of adapting to new way of living when the mother moves in with the daughter and her son. This proves to be a testing time for all involved as relationships are put to the test. Put together with all the boring things that every day life brings it adds fresh pressures in the family unit. A factor that's is happening in families all over the world.
Enjoyed this book as it went on to how they restructured their places within the family unit. An every day book that reflects on life and how one thing happening has consequences on not just that one person but all those around them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
This is the first novel that I have read by this author and I was pleased to have bought it! The book was easy to read and very enjoyable, making me laugh out loud on occasions. All the characters develop well throughout the book and I felt sorry for poor Abbie having her mother coming to live with her along with all the other trials and tribulations she has gone though and is still doing. I think that perhaps the ending was a little predictable or maybe I have read to many of this type of book??!! Am going to try another book by this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
This is probably a story best suited for reading whilst on holiday - it is easy to read as it's not too taxing and it is easy to pick up if you need to put it down. It also has something about it which makes it feel real, as you can either relate to Abbie in some way or maybe you can identify with one of the situations she finds herself in. OK, you can see how it's all going to pan out at the end, but the story has a comfortable pace to it and there is nothing to dislike about it. If you're after lots of dramatic twists, then this is not that sort of story, but if you're looking for a holiday read or something that's rather light, then this story is a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
I really enjoyed this book
. It was good to be the person in it,her feelings,well just being her !
It was really about everyday life in a normal persons home,a romance but not.
Read & enjoy !u
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Not sure why or when I downloaded the book, but I found it on my kindle while on holiday and started reading it. What enjoyable read for by the side of the pool. Very interesting how the book goes and the ending did become one I had guessed. Definitely worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I couldn't help but empathise with the main character, even though I'm nothing like her (I think!) - and I guess this is the sign of a well written book, with well drawn characters. The book wasn't quite what I expected, but I enjoyed it a lot, and it gave me a lot of food for thought. Well worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
This is a real chick lit story, the mother-daughter scenario is brilliant. I couldn't put this book down. Thoroughly modern romance with every day life injected into the story. Could really sympathize with the daughter over the living g arrangements in her hectic life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse