Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2016
OK Turntable. Really, the other reviews say it all: this is not a turntable for a system that is in any way HiFi, but it will do a good job as part replacement for an old system for an old collection of vinyl. Not particularly aesthetic - that white turn turntable! - and the whole pretty plastic/ lightweight. But, the sound is reasonable enough.
Is is worth 150 pounds? Well, that is not cheap for what it is. Almost fair but you will not be balled over by this product in any way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
After 23 years of constant use (not abuse) my faithful old Sony Stereo system reached the end of the road. I bought this turntable to use with a Sony Mini System ( CD Player/Cassette/Radio ) which has an extra channel/input via the usual 2 X RCA plugs. As this turntable has a phono/pre-amp then it was the perfect choice to use with the Mini System. Item arrived very quickly from Richer Sounds. A proper instruction booklet/owners manual is included ( featuring 9 languages ) which is a bonus nowadays! Turntable was easy to unpack and set-up and connect - DO READ the INSTRUCTIONS though! The turntable worked perfectly first time and since purchase has continued to function well. Sound quality is very good with my set up - crackles and pops from well worn records are not that evident. This unit fits my requirements perfectly but I do have some reservations and these are worth listing for the benefit of prospective purchasers.
The unit is very light in weight ( like a lot of modern electrical appliances ). It does not feel substantial and it remains to be seen how long it will last.
The turntable mat is a hideous and very garish white which clashes severely with the black finish of the rest of the unit although it does a good job. When an LP is playing it hides this eyesore so this may not be a problem for some people.
There is no clip to secure the arm when it is in the resting position so be careful !
What the owners manual refers to as the 'finger lift' on the arm is hopeless. Instead of being at 90 degrees to the arm so that the arm can be lifted safely and placed on a particular track on an record, the angle is more like 15/20 degrees so it is a precarious manoeuvre to manually select a track for fear of the 'finger lift' slipping from the fingers onto the vinyl. This is the worst feature of this turntable and the reason for me deducting one star.
This turntable has clearly been manufactured with cost in mind and as such a few compromises have been made. It is still a good unit and is worthy of consideration, however. The simple push buttton facility to start play will appeal to many people as will the 'stop' button. This is a basic, budget turntable and should be judged accordingly. It is certainly a lot, lot better than many of the truly awful cheap turntables/record players for sale nowadays. Please note that the turntable comes with the RCA connection cables already attached to the unit so it is ready to connect immediately - you will not have to buy any extra cables.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
I bought this product for my wife. We have a Maratnz AV amplifier without a pre-amp for a record player. This product provides a built in pre-amp and connected straight to the AV amp without any hassle. The built in pre-amp saves connecting a separate pre-amp and the additional cables and power supply. The amplified sound is excellent. To sum up, the product does exactly what it should do and at a very reasonable price. For any one wishing to hear records again with minimum technical fuss, this product comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Thankfully I kept the majority of my vinyl from circa 1972 - 1990. However I always had a troubled relationship with vinyl in that the crackles pops and hisses were part of the phonograph format and definely not part of the recorded sound that the artist in question intended me to hear. So around 1990 I became a devotee to the relatively new digital age of the CD and later the minidisc. Saying that - some of the early transfers of vinyl to CD were simply atrocious.

However around late last year a wave of nostalgia swept over me - so I got my Dual turntable out of storage only to discover that the 33&1/3rpm and 45rpm changer was not working. Those helpful chaps @ the Electronic Centre in Belfast tried to repair it but could not get the required part.

So the search began for a new turntable.

I came across the Marantz TT5005 and tentatively purchased one from Amazon - best price etc etc.

Firstly I liked the idea of a built in pre-amp. So after putting the belt on the spindle and chose which equaliser on/off connection I was going to experiment ( firstly the phono aux <off> - this is situated under the platter ) I connected the TT5005 to an old Trio amp and Mission speakers - the sound was superb. Then with the flick of the equaliser switch ( to the aux connection this time <on> ) I tried it with my ever faithful Cambridge Audio power amp and B&W speakers - wow!! - the clarity - overwhelming.

Aesthetically - the TT5005 is a stylish little number and extremely easy to operate. There's a start/stop button which after setting the 7" or 12" option does all the work for you. It comes with a 7" spindle if your 7"'s are missing their centres. It also arrived with a cool white mat which you can reverse depending on which Marantz logo you prefer. Finally a dust cover gives the TT5005 a sleek finish.

During my search for a new turntable I checked out other cheaper turntables (£50 - £120) and the more elite (£200 - £300). The cheaper models were sub-standard - best to avoid - the higher priced models were fine except you have to change the belt drive every time you wanted to play a 7" or 12" record on some models and also let go of up to £100+. I have a lot of 7" and 12" singles ( some of which are not available on CD) so this option was ruled out.

So for the price - the Marantz TT5005 is ideal and frankly a bargain regarding it's performance and reliability. The only function I miss from the old vinyl days is an arm lever when placing the stylus on a particuliar track hence the missing star.

If you are considering revisiting your vinyl collection - treat yourself to one of these. You won't be disappointed.

Incidentally - I really must have mellowed or else CD's have secretly conditioned me - but I can now enjoy the crackles and pops as part of the listening process - mind you - only just!!

Glad tidings.
1212 Comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
I don't hate it having paid full price I now find its now on sale not amused.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Bought this for my son as I needed an idiot proof turntable. The turntable is basic, light weight and easy to function. You do not have to move the belt to change speeds as it has 45 rpm and 33 rpm speed button plus a 7" and 12" setting. All you have to do is press start and the turntable will do the rest. The tone arm also returns after the record has finished. Platter is light weight and comes with a white rubber slip mat. The turntable has in built phono amp which means this can be used without purchasing a pre amp or phono stage if your amplifier does not have a built in phono stage. Being an inexpensive turntable - it comes without anti skate and tone arm weight settings. The phono plugs are poor quality buy what you do get is a fully functioning turntable that is ready to set up and go from the off.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Does anyone know where I can get a drive belt for the Marantz TT5005 and It's dimensions.
I can get the Stylus but not the belt which needs changing every 3 years
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Nice deck, produces a great sound, very easy to set up straight out of the box, very happy with it didn't cost a fortune so for me it fits the bill.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
GREAT MATCH WITH REST OF MY SET UP FROM MARANTZ , INCLUDING MY RECENT PURCHASE OF MY MARANTZ CD PLAYER AND RECEIVER AND MY EXISTING TANNOY SPEAKERS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Before buying this you need to ask yourself a few questions.
ONE. Is this so you can get into all the new vinyl lps that are coming out? If the answer is yes then you need a much better turntable (and amplifier, speakers, cables etc.) to get any benefit - you may as well stick with cds which are much cheaper and maybe get a good cd player. If however you have a load of old lps sitting in a box somewhere then read on...
TWO: How good is the rest of your equipment? As a rule each part of your high-fi setup should be in the same price range. so if you have a £500 amp plus similar priced cd player and speakers then it would be worth spending a bit more on your lp player to get a considerable upgrade. If you are looking for something to go with a basic £200-£300 setup however then read on...
If you are looking to play old lps through a budget setup then this machine is worth getting as it give you considerably better results compare to the £50 cheapo jobbies you see on sale everywhere. Very easy to set up and no pre-phono stage required. If your stereo has a phono stage imput then fine but if not then still ok so long as you have some sort of aux in imput sockets (usually coloured red and white) - if you have say a Roberts cd/radio player then it may only have a single aux in socket in which case you will need to buy a two-imput in/one output converter which costs just a few quid from amazon or maplin. Anyway I set mine up to the deskstop stereo in my office in just a minute and it was ready to go. Instructions are included and it is all quite simple - all the cables, plugs are included and, of course, the turntable has a cartridge and needle already set up... you can buy replacements on Amazon fairly easily. The one thing missing is a turntable mat which you can get hold of fairly cheaply and will improve performance. Not a hi-fi player but pretty reliable and much better than the sub £100 alternatives.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here