Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2015
*results may vary.

CONTENTS.
-----------------
The TeckNet power bank comes supplied in a simple plain brown card box accompanied by an instruction leaflet and warranty information card in a rather over engineered and elaborate envelope.

MEASUREMENTS.
--------------------------
The following measurements are taken with a digital calliper and are accurate to within 0.1%.

Length = 13.5cm
Width = 7.5cm
Depth = 1.2cm

The built in cables measure 3.18mm thick and 10.2cm long excluding connectors.

Weight = 165g

IN USE.
----------
On the front of the power bank there is a small power button surrounded with a frosted white plastic ring. This surround is an LED indicator of the power banks capacity with 8 segments, each representing a 12.5% charged capacity. When all 8 segments are lit the power bank is full and when there is just one remaining and it is flashing the power bank is empty.

The built in cables are very well designed, being both easy to install and remove as well as staying firmly in place when not in use. I like the idea in principle, of a built in output cable, as long there is also additional ports.

The reason I say this is if anything should ever happen to a built in cable there is still a port to use and so the device isn’t rendered useless in such an event. I do kind of have a slight issue with a built in input cable as there is no other means of charging the power bank should anything happen to this built in input cable.

That being said having both built in is ideal if you are looking for an all in one compact device, although the device itself is far from compact. It is also useful for those of the persuasion that can never find a cable when they need one.

The built quality is good with everything fitting together well with nothing loose including the ports and connectors which all prove to be a snug fit and no panel gaps to be found. The materials used are far from basic but equally as far from being premium. Most importantly, after over 5 hours of constant use the power bank never ever became even slightly warm to the touch.

TESTING RESULTS.
---------------------------
For those not interested in this sort of thing the last couple of paragraphs are the most important parts worth reading.

The following testing was conducted with a DROK® Mini USB Current Voltage Charger Detector Multimeter Power Capacity 0-99999mAh; 0-30.00W; DC 0.00-3.00A; DC 3.50-13.0V Ampmeter Voltmeter Multi-in-1; OLED Mobile Testing Power Monitor with Screen Rotation Function; Power-off Storage Function; Over- and Under-voltage Alarm Function. Sadly, as the 2.4A output of the power bank was via a fixed place Micro B cable I was unable to conduct testing with this port as the multimeter only has a USB A connection.

The power bank was first obviously left to charge overnight till 100% full.

Samsung S2 test.
The phone was dead to start and the power bank began charging the phone providing 0.66A and 3.366w. After 9 minutes the phone was switched on and had been charged 6%. From this point the phone was left on with the screen, data, Bluetooth and wifi off. Further timed readings are as follows

After 1 hour and 19 minutes the phone was charged 55% (3.328w, 0.65A)
After 1 hour and 37 minutes the phones was charged 68% (forgot to note readings)
After 1 hour and 50 minutes the phone was charged 76% (2.872w, 0.56A)
After 2 hours and 5 minutes the phones was charged 83% (0.364w, 0.46A)
After 2 hours and 33 minutes the phone was charged 93% (1.599w, 0.31A)
After 3 hours and 11 minutes the phone was fully charged. (The final reading was 1.032w, 0.20A)

The S2 has a battery capacity of 1650mAh, it is however rather old and according to the multimeter the power bank discharged 1642mAh while charging the phone. The phone was on for 3 hours and 2 minutes while charging, but the standby use from this time would be negligible 2-3mAh at most so the battery is in surprisingly good condition. During use the multimeter also consumed approximately 30mAh.

Current estimated drain on battery = 1672mAh

Asus Nexus 7 test.
Battery degradation isn’t a problem here as despite this being a rather vintage device by tablet standards this thing has been charged no more than 5 times in its entire life.

The Nexus 7 has a 4,325mAh battery and at the beginning of the test the battery level indicated 63% on the device. The device was switched on, the screen, wifi and Bluetooth were switched off. Timed readings are as follows

After 18 minutes the tablet was charged 4% (2.308w, 0.45A)
After 39 minutes the tablet was charged 8% (2.313w, 0.45A)
After 1 hour and 15 minutes the tablet was charged 15% ( 2.313w, 0.45A)
There was a break in the test here and the tablet drained 1% during the break in case you wonder why my sums add up to 101% and not 100%.
After 1 hour and 30 minutes the tablet was charged 18% (2.313w, 0.45A)
After 1 hour and 56 minutes the tablet was charged 24% (2.308w, 0.45A)
After 2 hours and 21 minutes the tablet was charged 28% (2.313w, 0.45A)
After 2 hours and 34 minutes the tablet was charged 30% (2.313w, 0.45A)
After 2 hours and 50 minutes the tablet was charged 33% (2.313w, 0.45A)
After 3 hours and 16 minutes the tablet was charged 37% (1.493w, 0.29A)
After 3 hours and 21 minutes the tablet has been charged 38% and was fully charged.

The total output of the power bank charging the Nexus 7 was 1708.3mAh + 32mAh consumed by the multimeter.

Total estimated power bank output at this point = 3412.3mAh

The next device up for charging was a Motorola Moto G 2nd Gen.The Moto G has a capacity of 2070mAh and was already 89% charged. The device was switched on, the screen, data, wifi and Bluetooth were switched off. Initial readings were 3.078w and 0.55A.

After 20 minutes the phone was charged 6% (1.238w, 0.35A)
After 44 minutes the phone was charged 11% and fully charged with the final reading given of 0.62w and 0.12A.

The total output of the power bank charging the Moto G was 232.2mAh + 7.3mAh consumed by the multimeter.

Total estimated power bank output at this point = 3651.8mAh

Quickly running out of devices I took the opportunity to charge a friend's phone during a brief visit. Next up was a Samsung S3 mini with a battery capacity of 1500mAh with a current charge of 69%. Initial readings indicated 2.924w, 0.57A.

After 29 minutes the phone had been charged 24% (2.107w, 0.38A)

Sadly, this was all the time I had access to the phone and in this time it consumed 361.7mAh + 5mAh from the multimeter.

Total estimated power bank output at this point = 4018.5mAh

Last up was a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1”. The Note 10.1” has a 7000mAh battery and at the beginning of the test the battery level indicated 77%% on the device. The device was switched on, the screen, wifi and Bluetooth were switched off. Initial readings were 6.918w, 1.38A which is rather interesting as the manual indicates this port is only 1A. Timed readings are as follows

After an unknown length of time (failed to note it down) the battery was charged 5% (6.173w, 1.23A)
16 Minutes later the battery was charged 10% and the power bank was dead and the final reading was 4.988w, 0.98A.

The total output of the power bank charging the Note 10.1 was 1000.7mAh + 2.5mAh consumed by the multimeter.

The total output of the Tecknet power bank from fully charged to fully dead during one somewhat slightly non scientific test that was not conducted in a controlled environment with results that should not be taken too seriously and are as such just a guide gave an output reading of 5021.7mAh.

With the power bank having a capacity of 6000mAh this indicates an efficiency of 83.69%. 80% is average, 90% is very good and few manage more than 93%, for something in this upper spectrum you will be looking at spending more than double the asking price of the Tecknet power bank which to me makes it a pretty darn good purchase. In comparison, most other power banks of this capacity and in this price range have at most managed 78%.

In reality there is probably a +/- 2% to 3% margin of error in my results.

Full disclosure I was provided with a sample product in exchange for a fair and honest review. No attempt was made to influence my opinion and what follows are my own thoughts based on the use of this item.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an excellent power bank. It is neat, light and very convenient to use.

6000mAh isn't a massive capacity but is enough to charge most phones twice (depending on the phone, of course) so it's fine for on-the-go use. It is about the size of a larger mobile phone and weighs just 160g (about 5½oz) so it's great to slip into a bag or even a pocket. The build quality seems very good and the unit is robust and solid. I will report back if I have any reliability problems, but I'm not expecting any.

In use it's very simple. I've illustrated all this in my short video: the integrated leads work very well for charging any device with a standard micro-USB socket and for charging up the power bank itself and there's a USB output to connect your own lead if you need to or if you want to charge two devices at once.

In short, this is a neat, practical and good quality power bank. It is excellent for day-to-day use, and I can recommend it very warmly.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
I've had a TeckNet power bank before. It is at least 6 years old and still works although not as well as it was when it was new. So when it was time to replace the old and tired one, I wanted another one of the same brand.

I've used it twice on my Sony Xperia Z2 and the same thing happened both times. It drained the phone battery instead of charging it and the phone became very hot. After the first time I took the phone in for repairs because I assumed the phone had a problem. The repair shop inserted a new internal battery. A few weeks later I connected the phone to this device again and the same thing happened. Battery drained from 48% down to 3% and a very hot phone. I'm not going to use it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Fantastic device. Very reliable. Has all the marks of a solid build. Get two charges of my Samsung and a little more than one charge on my Nokia. Got this as NHS workers try to destroy my phone when I charge it in the office, but have found it useful in general life aswell
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
The TeckNet iep517 since being in my possession has been put through it's paces. As explained in my review video this amazing power bank will charge any device ! from your tablet to phablet and even your game console controller's.

For a full detailed video please follow the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIoG-0ddrGQ
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Good little power bank that I keep in my bag at all times in case I ever get caught out. Charging two devices at the same time is a bonus and also being able to passively charge (Charge the power bank at the same time as the devices) is also a nice feature. I also like the LED indicators telling you how much charge is left. My only improvement on this would be the cables, they are tough but a bit too rigid so I'm always concerned that they are not flexible enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
... or the wife's handbag.
Given our reliance on phones and tablets a portable, additional, source of power is an obvious investment. Just remember to recharge it. This one is not so heavy or cumbersome to not take with you.

And it's a decent source of light in an emergency.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Ordered the power bank and it arrived in time. Have used it a few times and I must say it's a good product and must have. Charges phone quickly and the device itself doesn't takes long to charge either.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Got this for £14 some months ago, have used it at least 20-30 times so far and no faults. It's great to relax about never running out of battery. It's a bit big for a pocket, but it's perfect for keeping in a bag day-to-day.

Takes a while to charge but thats ok, have to charge overnight. Torch is useful but not as bright as the iPhone torch.
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
A friend had one and I tried it out and along with his positive experience decided to get one for long trips away from mains charging. Having the built in leads is a great feature and the bright charging light. Charges quickly.Would buy similar again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)