Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 14 March 2013
This is just a wonderful reminder of that a few nice things also emerged in the mid eighties. Say along with The Smiths and FYC', this record is a solid, beautiful proof of that. We thank you lads for the good times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
This is the best C.D. ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
A good album, upbeat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
CRAZY !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Product as described and good delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Brilliant Album!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Met High Whitaker the drummer on this album in my local the other week. Thoroughly nice chap. It reminded me how much I used to love this album (cassette tape as it was back then). Ordered it on CD and the memories came flooding back. Happy hour again!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2003
Paul Heaton and Norman Cook have certainly followed very different paths since the glory days of this album and "The People Who.." For me neither of them have ever reproduced the energy and brilliance of these two seminal LP's. Even the Fat Boy with his super-popular sing-a-long-a dance music has never come close to emulating the raw exuberance of say "Get up off our knees" and has certainly never said anything as interesting. Paul Heaton's Beautiful South produced some nice ironic pop songs but surely he was at his best when belligerently battering the apathetic majority on songs like "Sheep: and "Sitting on a Fence" Never, in my opinion, has a band so overtly political, produced so many top tunes. Recently Paul has gone solo. I haven't heard any of his stuff yet but I hope he's gone back to his roots. Even better than that. Any chance of reforming just for a few gigs? London O Hull 4 is without doubt one of the albums of the eighties. Get it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
It amazes me that in all of the End of the Century polls the music press and the like have conducted this album has never been mentioned.
It is full of catchy tunes, intelligent lyrics, humour, a splash of politics, but mainly it's the sheer excellence and beauty of these finely polished 3 minute masterpieces including the magnificent "Happy Hour", the poignant "Flag Day" and the original version of my own favourite "Think For A Minute".
Paul Heaton's mastery of the lyric shines through on this album and it's worth buying for the hilariously 80's photo of Norman "Fatboy Slim" Cook on the inlay card!
It's like a Northern drug this Housemartins lark! One listen and you're hooked!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Now That's What I Call Quite Good
£8.99
Soup
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)