Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 April 2015
You cannot be anything but in awe of the directing in this film. The story is complex yet straight forward. You follow the lives of two couples renting rooms in apartments next door to each other. Angles obscure faces. Posts, windows and corners reveal little of the scene nor the speaker. I watch this film regularly as I never tire of the style, the ambiance, the emotion. Its not the only film I've been of Tony Chiu Wai Leung, "Lust., Caution", The Infernal Affairs trilogy. However, Maggie Cheung steals the show with beauty and grace.

The sequel 2046 is worth of being a story in its own right, but for the references to In The Mood...

If you're looking for a story which makes you sit up and pay attention, as you will miss the sometimes cryptic clues they give the other as to their suspicions..

Check out Windstruck if you want a bit of comedy thrown in with romance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2010
This film fills your aural and visual senses and then puts sledgehammer to your heart. A masterpiece of betrayal, longing and unrequited love, the film is also nostalgic, taking place in the Hong Kong of the early sixties and which might as well have been the middle ages given how fast that city changes. The love story is true and hits anyone who has loved and lost in the gut.

The cinematography is breathtaking and is Christopher Doyle's crowning achievement, enhancing the relationship between the two leads with colour and imagery that adds to the story. The performance by the two leads is excellent and all of the other departments such as set design, costumes and music only add to the cocktail.

I urge one and all to see this timeless film and to give oneself to it unreservedly. You will not regret it. I watch this film once every year and it feels just right that I do.

As a companion to this film also try 'Monsoon Wedding' which, in my opinion, is a counterpart and a joyous slice of life in modern India despite one element within that is anything but. In fact, watch both in one long evening of cinema at home with your closest this summer!

If you like this film, get a copy of both the 2 disc UK edition as well as the Criterion Region 1 edition from the USA as both have different extras which all make the experience even more satisfying. The Criterion is more expensive but ultimately worth it as the extras are substantial, and the UK edition is inexpensive and great value for money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2014
I have come to this film late but what a find. A haunting classic that is up there with La Dolce Vita. Taking a snapshot into the lives of 2 lonely people living lives of quiet despair. Anyone who has known loss, lonliness or despair will be able to relate to this. It doesn't shout it whispers and the whispers make it all the more powerful in setting its mood. Haunting in its melancholy the soundtrack perfectly fits the film which is set in the early sixties and so evocative of the time where the old societal rigidities where just beginning ot loosen but still strong enough to bind, haunt and dictate the life lived regardless of the cost.

I would recommend this film to anyone interested in the human condition, it is an absorbing, wonderlful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2017
Beautiful cinematic will stay with you for many many many years - and those comments who said there were NO ENGLISH subtitles there clearly are!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
A movie with stunning and concise photography, hauntingly beautiful music and a wonderful story. I loved every minute of the this film. The manner in which it is filmed draws the viewer into the action - it is magical. Found myself entangled in the emotions, self doubt, the passion, the longing - what a rollercoaster ride!!!! Tony L as always is wonderful. Maggie Cheung is mesmerizing. The movie is so sensual without needing to be lewd. I can't recommend this enough. I intend to watch this movie once every year...love it! Love it! Love it !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2016
It's taken me 16yrs to watch this film, and it was a treat. Reminds me of Lean's 'Brief Encounter', and is a masterpiece of cinema history. I urge you to see this and in my top 10.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2017
This is about the version of In the Mood for Love that is titled "(NTSC, All Region, Import)," with a dark red cover. This is my favourite film, but this DVD is lousy--the picture quality and audio are poor, the menus look homemade, even the boxart is amateurish (including spelling errors--"Aword", for instance) and looks like it was printed on a ten-year-old home inkjet. Returned it and will save up for the Criterion's BluRay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2017
didn't realise it was in German having checked it was UK stock :-( However I made a German friend happy at Christmas instead of the friend it was bought for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2012
I first saw this at the cinema and thoroughly enjoyed it, so having the DVD is a treat. The story, the acting and cinematography are summarised elsewhere. I think that this and Chunking Express are the best things Wong Kar Wai has done; and if I were forced to choose again then In the Mood For Love would come out on top due to its completeness of vision and storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2017
Enjoyable movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)